$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 764 4th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11232-1413

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
39 reviews
40th Birthday trip

Fantastic hotel, fantastic staff, fantastic breakfast, great location, I would highly recommend... See full review

  • David G.
  • Apr 13, 2015
NYC ROMP

FROM THE MINUTE WE CHECKED IN THE SERVICE WAS GREAT, THE ROOM WAS CLEAN, THE BEDS COMFY, AND THE... See full review

  • FATHERMOTHER
  • Apr 27, 2014
With Brooklyn Prospect Park just around the corner, staying at this Brooklyn hotel is a real treat and treasure in a city where finding a competitively priced hotel can be a challenge. Enjoy easy access to transportation and a subway stop that's just steps from the hotel door, so that the best of New York City is only a short ride away. Whether it's Barclays Center or great shopping and dining, there are endless things to do in this borough. Brooklyn hotels are known for being close to it all, but this Best Western property raises the bar high by mixing in great customer service and affordable rates even during peak season. Start your morning with a free, full breakfast filled with favorites such as a hot waffle bar, fresh seasonal fruit, cereal bar and bottomless Arabica coffee. Skip the overpriced breakfast spots and indulge in a wide selection of breakfast goodies in the comfort of your Brooklyn hotel. A location close to major attractions makes every day a new adventure, whether guests prefer classic NYC attractions like the Statue of Liberty or just strolling around the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens or Museum. Business client friendly, the proximity to corporate locations makes this property a favorite for business travelers. Close to JFK, LaGuardia and Newark Airports, it's easy to get to this Brooklyn hotel for a meeting at Metrotech Office Complex or a visit to the Veterans Administration (VA) Hospital. The Brooklyn Navy Yard is nearby, too, and a number of New York Marathon runners and supporters prefer this property since it's a hotel right on the route. With a friendly and accommodating staff and a luxurious sauna, this eco-friendly certified hotel is a Silver Level GreenLeader property on TripAdvisor. Enjoy the best of this Brooklyn hotel, whether you're here for business or leisure. Book your next stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel and enjoy all the city has to offer!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel Rooms

1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,NSMK,32IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,ONSITE PARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,32IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,ONSITE PARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,32IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,ONSITE PARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,32IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,ONSITE PARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,ACCESSIBLE,32IN LCDTV,ONSITEPARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

The River Cafe
3.00 mile(s) from The River Cafe
Grimaldi's Restaurant
3.60 mile(s) from Grimaldi's Restaurant, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner, If you’re searching for THE best coal-fired brick oven, New York-style thin crust pizza in the world, look no further. Grimaldi’s offers over 100 years of
Milan Restaurant
.20 mile(s) from Milan Restaurant, full service, International, open for: lunch, dinner, Czech cuisine
El Cozumel
Across the street from El Cozumel, full service, International, open for: lunch, Economy Peruvian restaurant.
Tasty Deli
Across the street from Tasty Deli, deli, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Taste of China
Across the street from Taste of China, full service, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner,
Luigi's Pizza
.30 mile(s) from Luigi's Pizza, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner,
Peter Luger's
7.00 mile(s) from Peter Luger's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, Peter Luger Steak House has been serving the finest steaks since 1887. We choose from only the finest USDA PRIME meat available. The selection process is crucial and
Campagna Joseph & Sons
.10 mile(s) from Campagna Joseph & Sons, full service, Italian, open for: dinner, Pizza place
Taqueria DF
.30 mile(s) from Taqueria DF, full service, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner, Traditional Mexican Food.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 39
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David G.
Business
N/A
Apr 13, 2015

40th Birthday trip

Fantastic hotel, fantastic staff, fantastic breakfast, great location, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt Payne
Business
Albany, NY
Jun 18, 2014

Decent value for the price

The staff was friendly and attentive. The rooms were small (typical for a NYC hotel) and street noise was an issue at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zhou
Business
Shanghai
Apr 23, 2014

Location is good

The location is good, just near the subway. The room is clean. The staff is nice. I will pick up this hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabby basketball
Business
Maple Valley,WA
Feb 19, 2014

Anniversary getaway

Was very clean and convenient really close to the R train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

In the train canal st very good shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Borough
Business
Bear, Delaware
Oct 28, 2013

Total disappointment

During check- in my wife and I was told we would have to pay 20 dollars a day for parking privileges which should be a courtesy to ensure the safety of the guests. The room was very small and became uncomfortable to move about. A queen- size bed crammed into a 10x8 room with no refrigerator or microwave. Our luggage had to stay in the trunk of our car for the entire stay due to the lack of space. My wife and I was extremely disappointed turning a special 2 night stay into a exhausted 1 night stay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tatjr70
Business
Winnemucca, Nv.
May 24, 2012

Best Hotel experience we've had to date!

We stayed her for 10 days and really only had one complaint. The housekeeping staff did not replace the coffee packets twice in 10 days. Rooms were small, but you would expect that for most hotels in New York but they were in great shape and kept pretty clean. Front desk was awesome from getting us extra pillows to scheduling our car to the airport on checkout day. I would definitely say staying here in Brooklyn was way better than Manhattan. The R line subway was on the same block, R line can get you to or close to almost everything in New York. We never felt uncomfortable in the neighborhood, it was pretty clean. Laundrymat was close, important unless you plan on just buying new clothes every day! Eating was a little hike but that was probably a good thing. Some of the best food is over on 5th, 6th, 7th avenues. We took the subway for 2 minutes to Union station and spent a delightful 10 minute walk through brownstones to get to the best Italian (Tutta's Pasta) I've ever had. Everyone should take the R train to 34th, swap to the 3 train and go to 59th ave. and central park and eat at the waffles & dinges stand in front of the Time Warner building, not sure what they put on there but it is addictive and the best waffle I've ever had! Everyone we spoke with in the area was friendly and always helpful, we will stay here again if we come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

While you generally have to initiate the conversation definitely talk to the locals. They were always friendly and extremely helpful. Whether it was the best train to take, good food in the area or even places to avoid. Did not run into a single rude person in 10 days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Video
Business
W. Htfd, CT
Dec 26, 2011

Brooklyn central, excellent location

Easy parking!! Sweet beds and clean, new bathroom. Excellent breakfast room with plenty of fresh eggs, waffles, juice, coffee etc. Excellent choice of you're visiting the lower park slope area of Brooklyn. PK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dpbill
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Excellent value for NY Hotel

Although not a great location for strolling, the value is outstanding for a hotel near Manhattan. We drove in to visit our son who lives nearby. There is free parking in a lot next to the hotel with additional parking available under the hotel.The hotel is new, our room was large, clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were especially comfortable, great shower. The people at the desk were very friendly and welcoming. On the negative side, our heat was not working when we returned to our room at 11PM. The staff couldn't get the room thermostat to work and quickly arranged to put us in another near by room, not something you want to be doing at the end of a long day but we appreciated their effort to solve the problem. We asked for a quiet room close to the ground and were given a room on the ground floor which is actually slightly below ground, good for isolating street noise but you can feel and hear a low rumble of the subway passing next to the hotel, Not a deal breaker for us but could bother some people. The comp breakfast was just OK in a room that is too small for the size of the hotel. They opened another bare room for the overflow. Not too impressive but I cut them lots of slack since it's not the Ritz. We found this to be a great value since the parking was free and we were able to drive to our son's apartment and the best Brooklyn neighborhoods in a few minutes. A great value if you're driving. We'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask the desk clerk for a subway map and tips on the fastest way in to Manhattan. I was told to take the subway outside the hotel (the R) to the Atlantic station and change to the N to get to midtown faster, with fewer stops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lady J
Business
Beltsville, MD, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Stay Away From Room Numbers Ending With 5

Specifically requested a quiet room on a high floor away from the elevator. Was given room 1005 on the 10th floor right beside the elevator shaft, electrical room and the mechanical room. All room numbers ending with 5 are in a corner by the elevator, utility room, ice/drinks machine. Clearly the noisiest area on the floor. The level of noise one experiences in this room can become very annoying if there is a lot of guest traffic late at night or early in the morning. Spoke to the manager who offered another room in an area of the hotel that should have been quieter, but when we checked out the room, it was right beside rooms occupied by a bunch of foreign students who had their doors open to talk across the hallway to each other. It should also be noted that we had booked and paid for a king bed and was being offered a queen as a replacement with no discussion of a rebate. When the difference in room rate was mentioned, the manager brushed it aside because it was only a few dollars difference since we had booked online. The room with the queen bed seemed much smaller when compared to the king we had just left, add this fact to the noisy students on the floor and we decided room 1005 was the better of two evils. The room was small but comfortable and clean, with economy of space being the driving force in its design. Very little counter space in the bathroom, no room for toiletry/make up bags. No separate closet for coats. There is only one closet in the room for your coats and clothes. There is a large gap between the hallway door and the floor which means that you hear all the conversations and other noises going on in the hallway.Without doubt though, the most annoying noise came from the elevator shaft which constantly makes this clunking sound as it goes from floor to floor. This noise was heard the whole time we were in the room and we stayed for two nights. Be aware that they charge a fee to park on the property, a point that was not made clear at the time of booking. The area surrounding the hotel is not scenic it is just your typical street in Brooklyn. The free breakfast was adequate, but the dinning room was always crowded with no where to sit. The staff was courteous and friendly, from the night manager who checked us in, to the lady in charge of the breakfast area. The New York area experienced an early and unexpected snow storm during our stay and neither the side walk or parking lot was cleared. Esthetically, the hotel is pleasant in its interior, but Best Western needs to understand the importance of insulating its rooms from noise. A point they have totally overlooked in this hotel. Date of stay - weekend of October 29th, 2011.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ctag
Business
boston, ma
Aug 1, 2011

Great Stay at a great price

I really liked this hotel. The room was small but was perfect for us and had everything you could need(refrigerator, coffee, comfy bed, etc..). I felt completely safe in the neighborhood, went out looking for food at 11pm one night and came home after 2am another and it was fine. The staff was really nice and answered all my questions. The breakfast is fine but nothing too filling(we went out to breakfast) and the breakfast room is kind of cramped. They also have a gym but I never checked it out. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great little breakfast place up on 5th ave called coffee express, we really enjoyed it there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top