BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 764 4th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11232-1413

Hotel Overview

3.9/5

Overall score

86%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9
With Brooklyn Prospect Park just around the corner, staying at this Brooklyn hotel is a real treat and treasure in a city where finding a competitively priced hotel can be a challenge. Enjoy easy access to transportation and a subway stop that's just steps from the hotel door, so that the best of New York City is only a short ride away. Whether it's Barclays Center or great shopping and dining, there are endless things to do in this borough. Brooklyn hotels are known for being close to it all, but this Best Western property raises the bar high by mixing in great customer service and affordable rates even during peak season. Start your morning with a free, full breakfast filled with favorites such as a hot waffle bar, fresh seasonal fruit, cereal bar and bottomless Arabica coffee. Skip the overpriced breakfast spots and indulge in a wide selection of breakfast goodies in the comfort of your Brooklyn hotel. A location close to major attractions makes every day a new adventure, whether guests prefer classic NYC attractions like the Statue of Liberty or just strolling around the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens or Museum. Business client friendly, the proximity to corporate locations makes this property a favorite for business travelers. Close to JFK, LaGuardia and Newark Airports, it's easy to get to this Brooklyn hotel for a meeting at Metrotech Office Complex or a visit to the Veterans Administration (VA) Hospital. The Brooklyn Navy Yard is nearby, too, and a number of New York Marathon runners and supporters prefer this property since it's a hotel right on the route. With a friendly and accommodating staff and a luxurious sauna, this eco-friendly certified hotel is a Silver Level GreenLeader property on TripAdvisor. Enjoy the best of this Brooklyn hotel, whether you're here for business or leisure. Book your next stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel and enjoy all the city has to offer!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel Rooms

1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,NSMK,32IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,ONSITE PARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,32IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,ONSITE PARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,32IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,ONSITE PARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,32IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,ONSITE PARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,ACCESSIBLE,32IN LCDTV,ONSITEPARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Hotel Map

40.6603 -73.9987
Area served
Boston,, Washington D.C., Philadelphia,, Secaucus,
Nearby airports
(JFK), 10.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown

Dining

Luigi's Pizza
.30 mile(s) from Luigi's Pizza, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner,
The River Cafe
3.00 mile(s) from The River Cafe
El Cozumel
Across the street from El Cozumel, full service, International, open for: lunch, Economy Peruvian restaurant.
Campagna Joseph & Sons
.10 mile(s) from Campagna Joseph & Sons, full service, Italian, open for: dinner, Pizza place
Grimaldi's Restaurant
3.60 mile(s) from Grimaldi's Restaurant, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner, If you’re searching for THE best coal-fired brick oven, New York-style thin crust pizza in the world, look no further. Grimaldi’s offers over 100 years of
White Castle
.20 mile(s) from White Castle, fast food, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Peter Luger's
7.00 mile(s) from Peter Luger's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, Peter Luger Steak House has been serving the finest steaks since 1887. We choose from only the finest USDA PRIME meat available. The selection process is crucial and
Milan Restaurant
.20 mile(s) from Milan Restaurant, full service, International, open for: lunch, dinner, Czech cuisine
China Delight
Across the street from China Delight, full service, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner,
Taste of China
Across the street from Taste of China, full service, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner,
Taqueria DF
.30 mile(s) from Taqueria DF, full service, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner, Traditional Mexican Food.
KFC
Across the street from KFC, fast food, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Tasty Deli
Across the street from Tasty Deli, deli, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Video
Business
W. Htfd, CT
Dec 26, 2011

Brooklyn central, excellent location

Easy parking!! Sweet beds and clean, new bathroom. Excellent breakfast room with plenty of fresh eggs, waffles, juice, coffee etc. Excellent choice of you're visiting the lower park slope area of Brooklyn. PK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Novice63
Business
St. Augustine, Florida
Dec 8, 2011

Just right!

Great stay! Just steps away from the subway and supermarket. The room was mostly very quiet at night except for the ice-marker near the elevator. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows soft. The furniture filled the room so there was lots of walking space for more than two people. The bathroom was very clean with soft towels. The breakfast area was too small to accommodate the large breakfast crowd but the choices were excellent. The staff answered all our questions and were very accommodating to our needs. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dpbill
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Excellent value for NY Hotel

Although not a great location for strolling, the value is outstanding for a hotel near Manhattan. We drove in to visit our son who lives nearby. There is free parking in a lot next to the hotel with additional parking available under the hotel.The hotel is new, our room was large, clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were especially comfortable, great shower. The people at the desk were very friendly and welcoming. On the negative side, our heat was not working when we returned to our room at 11PM. The staff couldn't get the room thermostat to work and quickly arranged to put us in another near by room, not something you want to be doing at the end of a long day but we appreciated their effort to solve the problem. We asked for a quiet room close to the ground and were given a room on the ground floor which is actually slightly below ground, good for isolating street noise but you can feel and hear a low rumble of the subway passing next to the hotel, Not a deal breaker for us but could bother some people. The comp breakfast was just OK in a room that is too small for the size of the hotel. They opened another bare room for the overflow. Not too impressive but I cut them lots of slack since it's not the Ritz. We found this to be a great value since the parking was free and we were able to drive to our son's apartment and the best Brooklyn neighborhoods in a few minutes. A great value if you're driving. We'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask the desk clerk for a subway map and tips on the fastest way in to Manhattan. I was told to take the subway outside the hotel (the R) to the Atlantic station and change to the N to get to midtown faster, with fewer stops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dmarco
Business
De Witt, NY, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Great Value in a New York City Hotel

As most frequent visitors to NYC know, prices on hotel rooms fall by 50 to 70% once you leave the island of Manhattan. I've stayed at many hotels in Brooklyn, Queens, Hoboken, and Jersey City, but this is one of the best values I've found. First of all, it's convenient. The hotel is located less than a block from the subway, a 15-mnute ride to Lower Manhattan, and it is one of the few NYC hotels that does not charge for parking.There are 24-hour food markets a short walk away. Clean, friendly, and modest breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

While in Brooklyn, you might want to check out Prospect Park, the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens (see the Bonzai tree collection), Brooklyn Museum (Egyptology is its strong point), and the architectural delights of Park Slope, Carroll Gardens, and Brooklyn Heights. Don't forget to eat at Junior's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lady J
Business
Beltsville, MD, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Stay Away From Room Numbers Ending With 5

Specifically requested a quiet room on a high floor away from the elevator. Was given room 1005 on the 10th floor right beside the elevator shaft, electrical room and the mechanical room. All room numbers ending with 5 are in a corner by the elevator, utility room, ice/drinks machine. Clearly the noisiest area on the floor. The level of noise one experiences in this room can become very annoying if there is a lot of guest traffic late at night or early in the morning. Spoke to the manager who offered another room in an area of the hotel that should have been quieter, but when we checked out the room, it was right beside rooms occupied by a bunch of foreign students who had their doors open to talk across the hallway to each other. It should also be noted that we had booked and paid for a king bed and was being offered a queen as a replacement with no discussion of a rebate. When the difference in room rate was mentioned, the manager brushed it aside because it was only a few dollars difference since we had booked online. The room with the queen bed seemed much smaller when compared to the king we had just left, add this fact to the noisy students on the floor and we decided room 1005 was the better of two evils. The room was small but comfortable and clean, with economy of space being the driving force in its design. Very little counter space in the bathroom, no room for toiletry/make up bags. No separate closet for coats. There is only one closet in the room for your coats and clothes. There is a large gap between the hallway door and the floor which means that you hear all the conversations and other noises going on in the hallway.Without doubt though, the most annoying noise came from the elevator shaft which constantly makes this clunking sound as it goes from floor to floor. This noise was heard the whole time we were in the room and we stayed for two nights. Be aware that they charge a fee to park on the property, a point that was not made clear at the time of booking. The area surrounding the hotel is not scenic it is just your typical street in Brooklyn. The free breakfast was adequate, but the dinning room was always crowded with no where to sit. The staff was courteous and friendly, from the night manager who checked us in, to the lady in charge of the breakfast area. The New York area experienced an early and unexpected snow storm during our stay and neither the side walk or parking lot was cleared. Esthetically, the hotel is pleasant in its interior, but Best Western needs to understand the importance of insulating its rooms from noise. A point they have totally overlooked in this hotel. Date of stay - weekend of October 29th, 2011.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RC Cali
Business
Bay Area, California
Sep 18, 2011

Great Value

Overall: Nothing fancy. Great place to stay if you value cleanliness and don't mind having to take the subway to all attractions. Pros: Located on the same block of R line subway stop Room was extremely clean/new and fairly spacious Free Breakfast available Grocery store on the corner Reasonably priced rooms Free wifi Non-smoking building Although I didn't use it, there's a gym in the hotel Cons: No attractions or good places to eat within walking distance / immediate neighborhood, although fairly quiet, is not too appealing Not all front desk staff were helpful or friendly - Upon check-in I was not told about breakfast or the gym

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Howe
Business
baltimore
Sep 18, 2011

perfect stay

stayed here for 2 days. It's perfect hotel. Everything is clean and new. Subway R train is just 1 minute walking distance. Breakfast was alright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MARTI
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Great place to stay...

Here is what I found about this hotel: 1. close to the subway 2. rooms nice and clean 3. good breakfast 4. friendly people working there 5. internet access 6. parking The stay was very enjoyable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cwaw
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Brooklyn home base

A clean and friendly hotel with breakfast (expect a crowded breakfast room) at a subway stop and next to grocery store. We couldn't regulate our toom temp at all, and the room was cramped but had a frig and comfy beds, nice shower. Seemed rather new in all aspects. The subway stop is a long ride to Manhattan, but it's just a few steps from the door. Good to know that there is not an elevator at this subway stop so be prepared to carry your luggage up the steps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mercury
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Aug 22, 2011

NY Vacation

Nice hotel - although I had reserved a King Size Bed once I arrived there, they stated that they only had a Queen. Room was extremely small. No area to put suitcases. Bathroom was very clean. Walls extremely thin because we heard talking/TV/children well into the night. Continental breakfast was very minimal and the small room could not accommodate all the people. Once we checked out, we had to walk a block to find a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top