$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 764 4th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11232-1413

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dmarco
Business
De Witt, NY, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Great Value in a New York City Hotel

As most frequent visitors to NYC know, prices on hotel rooms fall by 50 to 70% once you leave the island of Manhattan. I've stayed at many hotels in Brooklyn, Queens, Hoboken, and Jersey City, but this is one of the best values I've found. First of all, it's convenient. The hotel is located less than a block from the subway, a 15-mnute ride to Lower Manhattan, and it is one of the few NYC hotels that does not charge for parking.There are 24-hour food markets a short walk away. Clean, friendly, and modest breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

While in Brooklyn, you might want to check out Prospect Park, the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens (see the Bonzai tree collection), Brooklyn Museum (Egyptology is its strong point), and the architectural delights of Park Slope, Carroll Gardens, and Brooklyn Heights. Don't forget to eat at Junior's.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lady J
Business
Beltsville, MD, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Stay Away From Room Numbers Ending With 5

Specifically requested a quiet room on a high floor away from the elevator. Was given room 1005 on the 10th floor right beside the elevator shaft, electrical room and the mechanical room. All room numbers ending with 5 are in a corner by the elevator, utility room, ice/drinks machine. Clearly the noisiest area on the floor. The level of noise one experiences in this room can become very annoying if there is a lot of guest traffic late at night or early in the morning. Spoke to the manager who offered another room in an area of the hotel that should have been quieter, but when we checked out the room, it was right beside rooms occupied by a bunch of foreign students who had their doors open to talk across the hallway to each other. It should also be noted that we had booked and paid for a king bed and was being offered a queen as a replacement with no discussion of a rebate. When the difference in room rate was mentioned, the manager brushed it aside because it was only a few dollars difference since we had booked online. The room with the queen bed seemed much smaller when compared to the king we had just left, add this fact to the noisy students on the floor and we decided room 1005 was the better of two evils. The room was small but comfortable and clean, with economy of space being the driving force in its design. Very little counter space in the bathroom, no room for toiletry/make up bags. No separate closet for coats. There is only one closet in the room for your coats and clothes. There is a large gap between the hallway door and the floor which means that you hear all the conversations and other noises going on in the hallway.Without doubt though, the most annoying noise came from the elevator shaft which constantly makes this clunking sound as it goes from floor to floor. This noise was heard the whole time we were in the room and we stayed for two nights. Be aware that they charge a fee to park on the property, a point that was not made clear at the time of booking. The area surrounding the hotel is not scenic it is just your typical street in Brooklyn. The free breakfast was adequate, but the dinning room was always crowded with no where to sit. The staff was courteous and friendly, from the night manager who checked us in, to the lady in charge of the breakfast area. The New York area experienced an early and unexpected snow storm during our stay and neither the side walk or parking lot was cleared. Esthetically, the hotel is pleasant in its interior, but Best Western needs to understand the importance of insulating its rooms from noise. A point they have totally overlooked in this hotel. Date of stay - weekend of October 29th, 2011.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RC Cali
Business
Bay Area, California
Sep 18, 2011

Great Value

Overall: Nothing fancy. Great place to stay if you value cleanliness and don't mind having to take the subway to all attractions. Pros: Located on the same block of R line subway stop Room was extremely clean/new and fairly spacious Free Breakfast available Grocery store on the corner Reasonably priced rooms Free wifi Non-smoking building Although I didn't use it, there's a gym in the hotel Cons: No attractions or good places to eat within walking distance / immediate neighborhood, although fairly quiet, is not too appealing Not all front desk staff were helpful or friendly - Upon check-in I was not told about breakfast or the gym

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Howe
Business
baltimore
Sep 18, 2011

perfect stay

stayed here for 2 days. It's perfect hotel. Everything is clean and new. Subway R train is just 1 minute walking distance. Breakfast was alright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cwaw
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Brooklyn home base

A clean and friendly hotel with breakfast (expect a crowded breakfast room) at a subway stop and next to grocery store. We couldn't regulate our toom temp at all, and the room was cramped but had a frig and comfy beds, nice shower. Seemed rather new in all aspects. The subway stop is a long ride to Manhattan, but it's just a few steps from the door. Good to know that there is not an elevator at this subway stop so be prepared to carry your luggage up the steps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mercury
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Aug 22, 2011

NY Vacation

Nice hotel - although I had reserved a King Size Bed once I arrived there, they stated that they only had a Queen. Room was extremely small. No area to put suitcases. Bathroom was very clean. Walls extremely thin because we heard talking/TV/children well into the night. Continental breakfast was very minimal and the small room could not accommodate all the people. Once we checked out, we had to walk a block to find a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ctag
Business
boston, ma
Aug 1, 2011

Great Stay at a great price

I really liked this hotel. The room was small but was perfect for us and had everything you could need(refrigerator, coffee, comfy bed, etc..). I felt completely safe in the neighborhood, went out looking for food at 11pm one night and came home after 2am another and it was fine. The staff was really nice and answered all my questions. The breakfast is fine but nothing too filling(we went out to breakfast) and the breakfast room is kind of cramped. They also have a gym but I never checked it out. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great little breakfast place up on 5th ave called coffee express, we really enjoyed it there.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central NY
Jul 15, 2011

Surprisingly Good

Check-in starts at 3pm but we arrived at 9am. We asked if our room was available and it sure was. Check-in was fast and the gentleman at the front desk was friendly. Breakfast includes cereals, juices, coffee, bagels, pastries and waffles that you can make yourself. I'm obsessed with tub cleanliness as some pricier hotels have been disappointing and I now always bring disinfectant wipes with me. The tub in my room sparkled. I used the wipes, anyway, but there was no need. My biggest problem with the hotel was the privacy. You hear what goes on outside because the doors don't close flush with the door frame; there was a gap that allowed noise and a bit of light in. The walls could be better insulated. Some one in the next room was very gassy (above and beyond what you would expect in duration and tone) and you could hear everything, if you know what I mean. I know Brooklyn very well, so I knew the location and while the R train stops almost below the hotel (and 15 mins away from lower Manhattan) I wouldn't call this location Park Slope. The park is close, but the hotel is not in Park Slope, the Gowanus is a block behind the hotel and the Greenwood Cemetary is a block in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking. If you are driving while in Brooklyn, you'll find this amenity priceless!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Upstate friend
Business
Syracuse new York
Jun 17, 2011

Pleasantly surprised!

Location excellent for our purposes visiting friends in Brooklyn and going to Botantical Gardens. Off-street parking a major plus. This is primary reason we picked this hotel. The RR subway 25 Street station is on the corner and we used it to go to Manhattan and Central Park. We went in the late afternoon and returned around 10:30PM. Train service was good, trains clean, and full with riders. No apprehension using subway. The room was clean and more than adequate. The staff was courteous and helpful. A minor complaint: The "so-called" continental breakfast was pedestrian at best. One morning they did not have regular coffee and the pastries, etc. were made from cardboard or so it seemed. Our Brooklyn friends were unaware of the hotel but know about it now and will recommend it to their out of town guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TAIWAN
Jun 15, 2011

easy to subway station

good price with good location with good stuff, easy to go subway station

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top