$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 10, 2014 Check-out: Nov 13, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

3 stars
764 4th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11232-1413
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
34 reviews
NYC ROMP

FROM THE MINUTE WE CHECKED IN THE SERVICE WAS GREAT, THE ROOM WAS CLEAN, THE BEDS COMFY, AND THE... See full review

  • FATHERMOTHER
  • Apr 27, 2014
Taking son to college

Took son to college but spent 3 days in New York City with family to enjoy the many tourist spots.... See full review

  • Jones cps
  • Sep 1, 2014
With Brooklyn Prospect Park just around the corner, staying at this Brooklyn hotel is a real treat and treasure in a city where finding a competitively priced hotel can be a challenge. Enjoy easy access to transportation and a subway stop thats just steps from the hotel door, so that the best of New York City is only a short ride away. Whether its Barclays Center or great shopping and dining, there are endless things to do in this borough. Brooklyn hotels are known for being close to it all, but this Best Western property raises the bar high by mixing in great customer service and affordable rates even during peak season. Start your morning with a free, full breakfast filled with favorites such as a hot waffle bar, fresh seasonal fruit, cereal bar and bottomless Arabica coffee. Skip the overpriced breakfast spots and indulge in a wide selection of breakfast goodies in the comfort of your Brooklyn hotel. A location close to major attractions makes every day a new adventure, whether guests prefer classic NYC attractions like the Statue of Liberty or just strolling around the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens or Museum. Business client friendly, the proximity to corporate locations makes this property a favorite for business travelers. Close to JFK, LaGuardia and Newark Airports, its easy to get to this Brooklyn hotel for a meeting at Metrotech Office Complex or a visit to the Veterans Administration (VA) Hospital. The Brooklyn Navy Yard is nearby, too, and a number of New York Marathon runners and supporters prefer this property since its a hotel right on the route. With a friendly and accommodating staff and a luxurious sauna, this eco-friendly certified hotel is a Silver Level GreenLeader property on TripAdvisor. Enjoy the best of this Brooklyn hotel, whether youre here for business or leisure. Book your next stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel and enjoy all the city has to offer!

Hotel Map

40.6603 -73.9987
Area served
Philadelphia,, Secaucus,, Boston,, Washington D.C.
Nearby airports
(JFK), 10.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel Rooms

1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,NSMK,32IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,ONSITE PARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,32IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,ONSITE PARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,32IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,ONSITE PARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,32IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,ONSITE PARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,ACCESSIBLE,32IN LCDTV,ONSITEPARKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Tasty Deli
Across the street from Tasty Deli, deli, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Grimaldi's Restaurant
3.60 mile(s) from Grimaldi's Restaurant, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner, If you’re searching for THE best coal-fired brick oven, New York-style thin crust pizza in the world, look no further. Grimaldi’s offers over 100 years of
Milan Restaurant
.20 mile(s) from Milan Restaurant, full service, International, open for: lunch, dinner, Czech cuisine
Campagna Joseph & Sons
.10 mile(s) from Campagna Joseph & Sons, full service, Italian, open for: dinner, Pizza place
Taqueria DF
.30 mile(s) from Taqueria DF, full service, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner, Traditional Mexican Food.
KFC
Across the street from KFC, fast food, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
The River Cafe
3.00 mile(s) from The River Cafe
White Castle
.20 mile(s) from White Castle, fast food, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Taste of China
Across the street from Taste of China, full service, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner,
Luigi's Pizza
.30 mile(s) from Luigi's Pizza, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dmarco
Business
De Witt, NY, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Great Value in a New York City Hotel

As most frequent visitors to NYC know, prices on hotel rooms fall by 50 to 70% once you leave the island of Manhattan. I've stayed at many hotels in Brooklyn, Queens, Hoboken, and Jersey City, but this is one of the best values I've found. First of all, it's convenient. The hotel is located less than a block from the subway, a 15-mnute ride to Lower Manhattan, and it is one of the few NYC hotels that does not charge for parking.There are 24-hour food markets a short walk away. Clean, friendly, and modest breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

While in Brooklyn, you might want to check out Prospect Park, the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens (see the Bonzai tree collection), Brooklyn Museum (Egyptology is its strong point), and the architectural delights of Park Slope, Carroll Gardens, and Brooklyn Heights. Don't forget to eat at Junior's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lady J
Business
Beltsville, MD, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Stay Away From Room Numbers Ending With 5

Specifically requested a quiet room on a high floor away from the elevator. Was given room 1005 on the 10th floor right beside the elevator shaft, electrical room and the mechanical room. All room numbers ending with 5 are in a corner by the elevator, utility room, ice/drinks machine. Clearly the noisiest area on the floor. The level of noise one experiences in this room can become very annoying if there is a lot of guest traffic late at night or early in the morning. Spoke to the manager who offered another room in an area of the hotel that should have been quieter, but when we checked out the room, it was right beside rooms occupied by a bunch of foreign students who had their doors open to talk across the hallway to each other. It should also be noted that we had booked and paid for a king bed and was being offered a queen as a replacement with no discussion of a rebate. When the difference in room rate was mentioned, the manager brushed it aside because it was only a few dollars difference since we had booked online. The room with the queen bed seemed much smaller when compared to the king we had just left, add this fact to the noisy students on the floor and we decided room 1005 was the better of two evils. The room was small but comfortable and clean, with economy of space being the driving force in its design. Very little counter space in the bathroom, no room for toiletry/make up bags. No separate closet for coats. There is only one closet in the room for your coats and clothes. There is a large gap between the hallway door and the floor which means that you hear all the conversations and other noises going on in the hallway.Without doubt though, the most annoying noise came from the elevator shaft which constantly makes this clunking sound as it goes from floor to floor. This noise was heard the whole time we were in the room and we stayed for two nights. Be aware that they charge a fee to park on the property, a point that was not made clear at the time of booking. The area surrounding the hotel is not scenic it is just your typical street in Brooklyn. The free breakfast was adequate, but the dinning room was always crowded with no where to sit. The staff was courteous and friendly, from the night manager who checked us in, to the lady in charge of the breakfast area. The New York area experienced an early and unexpected snow storm during our stay and neither the side walk or parking lot was cleared. Esthetically, the hotel is pleasant in its interior, but Best Western needs to understand the importance of insulating its rooms from noise. A point they have totally overlooked in this hotel. Date of stay - weekend of October 29th, 2011.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RC Cali
Business
Bay Area, California
Sep 18, 2011

Great Value

Overall: Nothing fancy. Great place to stay if you value cleanliness and don't mind having to take the subway to all attractions. Pros: Located on the same block of R line subway stop Room was extremely clean/new and fairly spacious Free Breakfast available Grocery store on the corner Reasonably priced rooms Free wifi Non-smoking building Although I didn't use it, there's a gym in the hotel Cons: No attractions or good places to eat within walking distance / immediate neighborhood, although fairly quiet, is not too appealing Not all front desk staff were helpful or friendly - Upon check-in I was not told about breakfast or the gym

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Howe
Business
baltimore
Sep 18, 2011

perfect stay

stayed here for 2 days. It's perfect hotel. Everything is clean and new. Subway R train is just 1 minute walking distance. Breakfast was alright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MARTI
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Great place to stay...

Here is what I found about this hotel: 1. close to the subway 2. rooms nice and clean 3. good breakfast 4. friendly people working there 5. internet access 6. parking The stay was very enjoyable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cwaw
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Brooklyn home base

A clean and friendly hotel with breakfast (expect a crowded breakfast room) at a subway stop and next to grocery store. We couldn't regulate our toom temp at all, and the room was cramped but had a frig and comfy beds, nice shower. Seemed rather new in all aspects. The subway stop is a long ride to Manhattan, but it's just a few steps from the door. Good to know that there is not an elevator at this subway stop so be prepared to carry your luggage up the steps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mercury
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Aug 22, 2011

NY Vacation

Nice hotel - although I had reserved a King Size Bed once I arrived there, they stated that they only had a Queen. Room was extremely small. No area to put suitcases. Bathroom was very clean. Walls extremely thin because we heard talking/TV/children well into the night. Continental breakfast was very minimal and the small room could not accommodate all the people. Once we checked out, we had to walk a block to find a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ctag
Business
boston, ma
Aug 1, 2011

Great Stay at a great price

I really liked this hotel. The room was small but was perfect for us and had everything you could need(refrigerator, coffee, comfy bed, etc..). I felt completely safe in the neighborhood, went out looking for food at 11pm one night and came home after 2am another and it was fine. The staff was really nice and answered all my questions. The breakfast is fine but nothing too filling(we went out to breakfast) and the breakfast room is kind of cramped. They also have a gym but I never checked it out. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great little breakfast place up on 5th ave called coffee express, we really enjoyed it there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central NY
Jul 15, 2011

Surprisingly Good

Check-in starts at 3pm but we arrived at 9am. We asked if our room was available and it sure was. Check-in was fast and the gentleman at the front desk was friendly. Breakfast includes cereals, juices, coffee, bagels, pastries and waffles that you can make yourself. I'm obsessed with tub cleanliness as some pricier hotels have been disappointing and I now always bring disinfectant wipes with me. The tub in my room sparkled. I used the wipes, anyway, but there was no need. My biggest problem with the hotel was the privacy. You hear what goes on outside because the doors don't close flush with the door frame; there was a gap that allowed noise and a bit of light in. The walls could be better insulated. Some one in the next room was very gassy (above and beyond what you would expect in duration and tone) and you could hear everything, if you know what I mean. I know Brooklyn very well, so I knew the location and while the R train stops almost below the hotel (and 15 mins away from lower Manhattan) I wouldn't call this location Park Slope. The park is close, but the hotel is not in Park Slope, the Gowanus is a block behind the hotel and the Greenwood Cemetary is a block in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking. If you are driving while in Brooklyn, you'll find this amenity priceless!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Prospect Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Upstate friend
Business
Syracuse new York
Jun 17, 2011

Pleasantly surprised!

Location excellent for our purposes visiting friends in Brooklyn and going to Botantical Gardens. Off-street parking a major plus. This is primary reason we picked this hotel. The RR subway 25 Street station is on the corner and we used it to go to Manhattan and Central Park. We went in the late afternoon and returned around 10:30PM. Train service was good, trains clean, and full with riders. No apprehension using subway. The room was clean and more than adequate. The staff was courteous and helpful. A minor complaint: The "so-called" continental breakfast was pedestrian at best. One morning they did not have regular coffee and the pastries, etc. were made from cardboard or so it seemed. Our Brooklyn friends were unaware of the hotel but know about it now and will recommend it to their out of town guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top