$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Aloft New York Brooklyn

3 stars
216 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
54 reviews
Great hotel

Between the location, price, decor, amenities, room and everything else my boyfriend and I had a... See full review

  • rosaZ
  • Jun 24, 2014
Great hotel!

Right from the start, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They got me into a room early and... See full review

  • Uncle Bjo
  • Apr 23, 2014
Aloft hotels are the new twist in travel from Starwood Hotels & Resorts. A vision of W Hotels, the Aloft New York Brooklyn is a bold, fresh, and fun new hotel featuring loft-inspired design and always-abuzz public spaces. Perfectly positioned for an easy breezy travel experience, just minutes from the trendy boutiques on Smyth Street, Fulton Mall, and the Metrotech Business District! Stroll over to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the oldest music hall in NYC, then dance on over to the grassy fields of Prospect Park and the blooming blossoms of the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens. Dyker Beach Golf Course and Coney Island keep guests local, but nearby Brooklyn Bridge beckons with the promise of Downtown Manhattan just a scenic walk (or subway ride) away. Immerse yourself in one of the city's most vibrant boroughs! Rise and shine in our bright and modern Aloft rooms, featuring plush platform beds, walk-in showers, custom amenities by Bliss® Spa and more. Recharge all your gadgets with the plug & play docking station, which also links your laptop or tunes to the 42 LCD TV. Meet and mingle at our w xyz(SM) bar, grab a snack at the 24/7 re:fuel by Aloft(SM) gourmet pantry, or work and play at our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plenty of perks include fast + free hotel-wide Wi-Fi, our always-open re:charge(SM) gym, stylish splash pool, and more!

Hotel Map

40.6916 -73.9847
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 15.00, MI; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 10.00, MI; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aloft New York Brooklyn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Aloft New York Brooklyn Rooms

Aloft Rooms
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Aloft New York Brooklyn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aloft New York Brooklyn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jsun1121
Los Angeles, Ca.
Feb 4, 2012

The worst reservation representative ever

I tried to call the hotel to confirm my reservation, I believe that I was talking with a human being. This representative not even listen to me finish my question, start tell me they don't accept any special request, no guaranty of room type,..... everything just no, no, and no.... after i start yelling to him, he stopped and wait for me to finish my question, and again, repeat the same words again, and add on "you should not book through third party" I won't stay at this hotel any more, I don't think you should sell this hotel anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aloft New York Brooklyn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Argall
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 18, 2013

Hipster hotel falls short

Internet service completely sucked - very poor if it worked at all; Kinda ruined my stay at the hotel. Staff at front desk were pretty unprofessional. I get the whole hipster attitude and look in Brooklyn but when you're paying to stay at hotel, a certain level of service is expected and it was pretty much non-existent here. The location of this hotel is fantastic and my room was decent, very comfortable. But in today's digital world, reliable and efficient internet service is essential for a hotel and so is decent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aloft New York Brooklyn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S1234
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 26, 2013

Trying to be artsy, but felt cheap.

In my opinion, you'd be better off with a plain old Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aloft New York Brooklyn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lionness
north carolina
Jan 5, 2014

attending a funeral

The check- in was ok,the room was clean and very spacious but very cold no heat.Location excellent to the shopping district and subways.One thing that was missing for me was having a microwave in the room instead of going down to the lobby to use the one there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aloft New York Brooklyn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, SC
Jun 27, 2011

New Aloft Brooklyn

Front desk could not have been nicer. Great personalities, willing to go out of their way to assist. I had a problem with being in a room with an adjoining room - all activity could be heard through the adjoining doors. I requested another room and was reassigned within minutes. Housekeeping was accommodating as well when I requested addit'l tea. Room was sparkling clean, bed was very comfortable, air conditioning worked great. Room was kind of small - would have been too small for two people. No dressers to put clothes in (had to keep them folded in suitcase), and the closet was really a storage compartment about 3 feet high (not good for a long evening dress or coat) with a curtain pulled to serve as the door. No bath tubs - showers only. The location was ok, but I did not feel safe being out on streets alone after dark. The best thing about this particular hotel was the customer service. I don't know that I would recommend this hotel, but I do recommend the Aloft brand in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Aloft New York Brooklyn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, SC
Jun 27, 2011

New Aloft Brooklyn

Front desk could not have been nicer. Great personalities, willing to go out of their way to assist. I had a problem with being in a room with an adjoining room - all activity could be heard through the adjoining doors. I requested another room and was reassigned within minutes. Housekeeping was accommodating as well when I requested addit'l tea. Room was sparkling clean, bed was very comfortable, air conditioning worked great. Room was kind of small - would have been too small for two people. No dressers to put clothes in (had to keep them folded in suitcase), and the closet was really a storage compartment about 3 feet high (not good for a long evening dress or coat) with a curtain pulled to serve as the door. No bath tubs - showers only. The location was ok, but I did not feel safe being out on streets alone after dark. The best thing about this particular hotel was the customer service. I don't know that I would recommend this hotel, but I do recommend the Aloft brand in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Aloft New York Brooklyn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jsun1121
Los Angeles, Ca.
Feb 13, 2012

Great Downtown Brooklyn Hotel

Works if you are visiting friends/family in the area. Close to all the trains and we got a great view of Brooklyn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aloft New York Brooklyn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Jun 10, 2011

good value

This was a trip to pick up my husband from JFK, then a visit with our son. The hotel was well located, a short walk to Junior's restaurant where we ate dinner, and parking was inexpensive and convenient. Complementary breakfast would have been nice, but having a coffee maker in our room was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aloft New York Brooklyn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hrabe 727
Austin, TX, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Relaxed stay in Brooklyn

The hotel tries very hard to be "hip". This is a lot better than stodgy or bland. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was exceptionally large for NYC, cheaper than a Manhattan stay for the same amenities. I would have appreciated a free breakfast but the costs in the cafe were not bad. I didn't like that the Community hot tub was out of order due to abuse, IT's in a revitalizing neighborhood so this may come with the territory. Nevertheless this was a minor inconvenience since there is more to do in NYC than Hot Tubs. Great HD flat screen television for sports. Only a short walk from the subway and one stop to Manhattan-10 minutes to Greenwich Village and 15 minutes to mid-town. Overall, I would stay again if the rates stay the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mile End is a great lunch or breakfast place on Hoyt St. It was a 5 minute walk. Montreal bagels, smoked meat and a relaxed atmosphere were great. Prices not bad either- $5. for breakfast was a good NY price.

Review of Aloft New York Brooklyn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eichlerk
milw, wi
Oct 13, 2012

Fiance proposed on Brooklyn bridge

Wonderful hotel and staff, however they put me on hold and walked from the train. If we would have known how far it was we would have cabbed it. Not a great neighborhood but lots of shopping. 5 minute cab ride from the bridge. Prepare to walk! Train station around the corner was closed. The hotel was modern, clean, nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Dont try to navigate the subway if the station around the corner is still closed. Different lines go in different directions.

Back to menu Return to top