$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 22, 2015 Check-out: Feb 23, 2015

Holiday Inn BUFFALO-AMHERST

3 stars
1881 Niagara Falls Blvd, Amherst, NY 14228
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
63 reviews
Niagara Falls

Great time! Super quick and easy to check in and out of. See full review

  • Lopat
  • Nov 26, 2014
Reasonable, conform, well managed

A bit old hotel, but close to highway, convenient for travelers, room is a bit old too, but clean.... See full review

  • gaoren
  • Aug 18, 2014
Personal service and attention in a convenient Buffalo-area hotel
The Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst delivers personalized service and attention more traditionally associated with boutique-style hotels. Guest rooms are smoke free and tastefully decorated with quality furnishings and feature satellite TV and radio. An on-site restaurant serves up tasty treats throughout the day. A complementary airport shuttle operates 24 hours a day. A fitness center, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi round out the Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst hotel’s offerings.
Highlights
  • Complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle and free parking
  • Keurig coffee maker in every room
  • Well-equipped fitness center, pool and Jacuzzi
Rooms
The 199 guest rooms are smoke free and available with either two double beds or a king bed, all tastefully decorated with traditional furnishings and décor. Additions include a Keurig coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, telephone with voicemail, satellite TV with premium movie channels and XM satellite music and Wi-Fi.
Features
The Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst is a non-smoking hotel with convenient access to all of the top sites in Buffalo and Niagara. Complimentary 24-hour airport transportation is a welcome, cost-savings convenience and valet service (available Monday through Friday; fee applies) is especially helpful with Buffalo winters that frequently dip into the single digits. A well-equipped fitness center allows strict adherence to one's at-home exercise regimen, while an indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi provide rejuvenating recreational diversions.
Dining
The on-site Max's Classic American Grill serves three square meals daily, with a bar that remains open until the wee hours. Especially popular at the restaurant/bar is Max's Tour of Beers, a beer connoisseur's pilgrimage through the wonderfully sudsy world of lagers, ales and stouts.
 
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Darwin Martin complex (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Albright Knox Art Gallery (11.4 mi/18.4 km)
  • HSBC Arena (14.9 mi/24 km)
  • Maid of the Mist (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
Business
  • 24-hour airport transportation
  • Event planning consultants
  • Valet service Monday through Friday
  • Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn BUFFALO-AMHERST also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • UB Stadium: 2.3 mi

Dining

Blvd Bar and Grill
Blvd Bar and Grill is an all american restaurant within the hotel. The restaurant is open from 6:30 AM to 10:00 PM 7 days a week.
Blvd Bar & Grill
Casual
Applebees
Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn BUFFALO-AMHERST

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-AMHERST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Corina 20 something trvlr
Business
Fresno, Ca
Jul 4, 2012

Good Hotel

This hotel was okay....all we used it was to sleep in. We came from New York very early because we wanted to see the falls as early as possible. So we went to the hotel around 9am to see if we could check in. 9am is very early to check in but we thought there would be a chance. The front desk staff said No which wasn't a problem it was the looks they gave us when we asked. They both had this expression like they couldn't believe we arrived so early. Even my husband noticed and most of the time he doesn't. They were nice enough to let us leave our bags until check in. So we did and came back around 5pm...when we got our room it was on the 2nd floor and all the way in the back. The hotel doesn't have elevators so be prepared to carry your luggage up stairs. We had a lot of luggage because we are on vacation for 2 weeks...so that was a drag. Overall the stay was ok...Not sure if we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The drive to Niagara isn't that far so that was a plus if you are on a budget and don't want to pay more money to stay closer

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-AMHERST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RWAD
Business
NJ
Jun 18, 2012

Poor Choice

loud very very loud not a good place to get any sleep rude staff -- would not carry bags to room for people with disabilities Restaurant food was smelly and made us sick --also it was flea infested including the room. This place was basically a low end dive truck stop semi trucks were parking in the lot all night with engines running and loading and off loading

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-AMHERST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George L
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 6, 2012

Great overnight stay

The room was very nice, friendly service, good room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-AMHERST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenshin X
Business
New York, NY
May 13, 2012

Great location and price

The location was right off the highway, and very close to all major attractions. Niagara Falls is only 20 mins away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Need a car to access all attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-AMHERST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Breezy Buf
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

just for the night!!

I took my family to Niagara so we didn't spend much time in the rooms. The smell of smoke or just old surroundings hit me once we reached the area of our room. The bathroom was small there were 2 adults and 1 child per room and they were adjoining so it gave a little more open feel but still felt confined. Liked the fact that the windows opened an inch for fresh air. Traffic around hotel kinda hectic and the restaurant was not a good value for what u got 3 pancakes for $8 no side of bacon or eggs!! That's $3 extra and that's only for meat. Pool was really nice and heated and the only thing that made me smile. Other than that, the stay was ok. Staff was EXCELLENT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-AMHERST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Romulans
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Sep 8, 2011

Good Staff

A bit far from Niagara Falls 30 min, great stores and resturants to the South, not much North. Staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go South

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-AMHERST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SAROSS
Business
ohio
Sep 6, 2011

nice!!!!

The room and bath where clean, its located in a nice area, and house keeping was very frendly. The only thing was there was no complementry breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-AMHERST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Geneva, NY
Jun 21, 2011

OK stay

The overall stay was good. The room and hotel as a whole was a little outdated and could use to move to be more modernized. Overall the hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-AMHERST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 26, 2011

Terrible check-in experience

When I checked in at the front counter, I was told I had already checked in. It is ridiculous, I had just arrived how can I check in a few hours ahead? And the staff seems didn't trust me and check my photo IDs, emails and almost all personal information. After they checked me a half hour, they could confirm I am the right person, and finally, provided me another room instead.It is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-AMHERST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BizNerd
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Apr 28, 2011

rooms need updating.....

A hotel with musty smelly hallways and musty rooms. The rooms are 2 star or below. The Staff is 4 star - very professional and prompt, but even they cannot make a turnip smell like a rose. Also no one likes housekeeping going through their luggage. While I was out I purposely left my luggage on the luggage rack and knew exactly the placement of items in luggage, shirt i left on top was put back sideways and every noteworthy item had been examined and put back wrong. Luckily all my valuable items to be stolen were with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of good local resturants all within distance. Hotel resturant is above aveage and service was good too. But for the rate I paid per night I should have had breakfast included.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top