$124 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

3 stars
22 Holland Avenue, 22 Holland Avenue, Albany, NY 12209
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
22 reviews
high school sports great

A bit pricey for the location ,but nice stay and room was great See full review

  • billy wrestler 1
  • Mar 3, 2014
Great Escape

2 miles from downtown . Very clean. Great rooms, BIG. Nice comp. breakfast. Nice staff. See full review

  • Fdcvdesjki
  • Jul 1, 2013
Contemporary downtown Albany suites with full kitchens

TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown/Medical Center features apartment-style suites with fully equipped kitchens. Bright colors and contemporary style give suites a fresh feeling, while comfortable sitting areas and flat-panel TVs with cable help guests feel at home. State government offices are less than a mile away, and numerous medical facilities are within walking distance. Free Wi-Fi can be accessed in all suites. Complimentary breakfast is provided.

Highlights
  • Free breakfast
  • AAA three diamond rating
  • Seasonal outdoor patio with barbecue grill
  • Two guest laundry facilities available
  • Free parking
Rooms

The suites at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown/Medical Center range from 420 to 700 square feet and are available in three floor plans: studio, one-bedroom or two-bedroom. In the living area, comfortable seating surrounds a flat-panel TV with cable channels. Wired and wireless Internet access are complimentary. 

 

All suites feature contemporary European-inspired decor, with sleek lines, blonde woods and bold colors. Home office spaces feature work desks, ergonomic chairs and storage cubes. Fully equipped kitchens include dining tables, microwaves and full-sized refrigerators. Stove top ranges, dishwashers, cookware and utensils are also provided.

Features

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown/Medical Center. A convenience market offers small items for purchase. In warm weather, guests enjoy an outdoor patio with barbecue grill.


A heated indoor pool, whirlpool and 24-hour fitness center are available at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown/Medical Center. Guests take advantage of a coin-operated on-site laundry facility. Parking is complimentary. Contact the hotel for the pet policy.

Transportation
  • I-87 (1 mi/1.7 km) 
  • Greyhound bus station (1 mi/1.7 km) 
  • Albany-Rensselaer Amtrak station (2 mi/2.6 km) 
  • I-90 (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Albany International Airport (7 mi/11.4 km)
Attractions
  • Sage College of Albany (0.5 mi/0.8 km) 
  • New York State Museum (0.6 mi/0.9 km) 
  • Washington Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Empire State Plaza (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Union Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)   
  • New York State Capitol (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • University at Albany – SUNY (4 mi/6.3 km)
  • Colonie Center mall (5 mi/8 km)
  • Crossgates Mall (5 mi/8.1 km) 
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (8 mi/12.6 km)  
Business
  • 400 square feet of meeting space

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.6464 -73.772
Area served
Albany
Nearby airports
Albany International Airport, (ALB), 10.00, MI, SE; Stewart International Airport, (SWF), 88.90, MI, N; Bradley International Airport, (BDL), 107.00, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 150.00, MI, N
Area description
Oceanfront

Nearby points of interest

  • Times Union Center: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 22
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4
Value:
4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
student on internship
Business
santa barbara, ca
Jan 8, 2013

great location near albany med center

it met all needs. they provide a shuttle to the med center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marky D
Business
NYC
Oct 12, 2010

They still need some work

I got off to a bad start with this hotel. The marked "Entrance" is at the wrong end of a one-way drive. So, there was no way to get to the lobby w/o parking at the back of the hotel and walking all the way around the building. How HARD is it to place the "Entrance" sign where you can actually drive up to the lobby? There was also no way to turn the fan on over night, and there was noise from the hallway. No luggage valet rack. Staff had little knowledge of where to get food at late hour. Big room, but no extra furniture. So it was mostly just a big empty suite. Only mirror in the bathroom, and no fan, so I had to wait until bathroom mirror un-fogged after my shower before I could even see to comb my hair. In short, I think this hotel really needs to get some of the little details right. There are some nice features, but mostly small things that just diminish the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marky D
Business
NYC
Oct 12, 2010

They still need some work

I got off to a bad start with this hotel. The marked "Entrance" is at the wrong end of a one-way drive. So, there was no way to get to the lobby w/o parking at the back of the hotel and walking all the way around the building. How HARD is it to place the "Entrance" sign where you can actually drive up to the lobby? There was also no way to turn the fan on over night, and there was noise from the hallway. No luggage valet rack. Staff had little knowledge of where to get food at late hour. Big room, but no extra furniture. So it was mostly just a big empty suite. Only mirror in the bathroom, and no fan, so I had to wait until bathroom mirror un-fogged after my shower before I could even see to comb my hair. In short, I think this hotel really needs to get some of the little details right. There are some nice features, but mostly small things that just diminish the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady business traveler
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 18, 2009

Nice! But nothing fancy.

I was in Albany overnight for business. The hotel seems quite new and while it's nothing super-fancy, I enjoyed my stay and would definitely come back. The front desk service was friendly and helpful, room/suite was quiet and very spacious with new appliances and a comfortable bed (I had a queen room), and the workout room, while small, had new equipment and was quite clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady business traveler
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 18, 2009

Nice! But nothing fancy.

I was in Albany overnight for business. The hotel seems quite new and while it's nothing super-fancy, I enjoyed my stay and would definitely come back. The front desk service was friendly and helpful, room/suite was quiet and very spacious with new appliances and a comfortable bed (I had a queen room), and the workout room, while small, had new equipment and was quite clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top