$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

3 stars
22 Holland Avenue, 22 Holland Avenue, Albany, NY 12209
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
16 reviews
Quick weekend trip

I stayed here with my fiance for a two day visit. We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was... See full review

  • Cam 08
  • Sep 1, 2014
family getaway

good hotel, very clean very close to downtown, friendly staff See full review

  • viva las vegas C
  • Aug 11, 2014
Contemporary downtown Albany suites with full kitchens

TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown/Medical Center features apartment-style suites with fully equipped kitchens. Bright colors and contemporary style give suites a fresh feeling, while comfortable sitting areas and flat-panel TVs with cable help guests feel at home. State government offices are less than a mile away, and numerous medical facilities are within walking distance. Free Wi-Fi can be accessed in all suites. Complimentary breakfast is provided.

Highlights
  • Free breakfast
  • AAA three diamond rating
  • Seasonal outdoor patio with barbecue grill
  • Two guest laundry facilities available
  • Free parking
Rooms

The suites at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown/Medical Center range from 420 to 700 square feet and are available in three floor plans: studio, one-bedroom or two-bedroom. In the living area, comfortable seating surrounds a flat-panel TV with cable channels. Wired and wireless Internet access are complimentary. 

 

All suites feature contemporary European-inspired decor, with sleek lines, blonde woods and bold colors. Home office spaces feature work desks, ergonomic chairs and storage cubes. Fully equipped kitchens include dining tables, microwaves and full-sized refrigerators. Stove top ranges, dishwashers, cookware and utensils are also provided.

Features

Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown/Medical Center. A convenience market offers small items for purchase. In warm weather, guests enjoy an outdoor patio with barbecue grill.


A heated indoor pool, whirlpool and 24-hour fitness center are available at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown/Medical Center. Guests take advantage of a coin-operated on-site laundry facility. Parking is complimentary. Contact the hotel for the pet policy.

Transportation
  • I-87 (1 mi/1.7 km) 
  • Greyhound bus station (1 mi/1.7 km) 
  • Albany-Rensselaer Amtrak station (2 mi/2.6 km) 
  • I-90 (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Albany International Airport (7 mi/11.4 km)
Attractions
  • Sage College of Albany (0.5 mi/0.8 km) 
  • New York State Museum (0.6 mi/0.9 km) 
  • Washington Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Empire State Plaza (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Union Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)   
  • New York State Capitol (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • University at Albany – SUNY (4 mi/6.3 km)
  • Colonie Center mall (5 mi/8 km)
  • Crossgates Mall (5 mi/8.1 km) 
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (8 mi/12.6 km)  
Business
  • 400 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Times Union Center: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dani65
Business
toronto
Sep 2, 2012

overnight stay

Everything was great; room was spotless clean,very comfortable bed, staff was helpful, location was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RiveGauche
Business
Trenton, NJ
Nov 21, 2009

[...]

The [...] site didn't mention the $100 non-refundable "pet fee". [...] I controlled my temper and explained to the desk clerk - who was very good, efficient, courteous - that Winter, my Alaskan Malamute, was my "service dog" and then I explained what that meant. She told she would speak to the manager and would then call me back. I said I would like to stay here but offered to pay extra if and only if Winter damaged something or soiled the carpeting, which she would not do. Ultimately the manager agreed to waive the fee and I was profuse in my thanks and compliments, which followed a gentle warning about how Americans with Disabilities Act protected citizens tend to be formidable adversaries if not accommodated in such modest ways (and I have experience!).Bottom line, however, is that the suites are immaculate and beautiful. This is obviously a new property. Note that there are not separate rooms, but just a big one with a desk at one end and the bed at the other. But the furnishings are ultra-modern Ikea-like, with clean lines. All in all a nice place to stay. The mattress - rare for ANY flophouse - was comfortable and I actually got a night's sleep on it.But do ask them (I forgot) why there seemed to be a nocturnal recording of an eagle and its chicks on top of the Department of Mental Health's building across the street? Mysterious. Needed the fan on all night to drown it out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Going west on Madison Avenue nearing the triangle containing the College of St. Rose...charming little pubs and eateries, if you don't mind a college crowd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 22, 2010

Clean, comfortable

Perfectly clean, comfortable, polite staff. The iron in the room didn't work and was promptly replaced. The front desk gave me free toothpaste when I forgot mine. Free internet. Very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
student on internship
Business
santa barbara, ca
Jan 8, 2013

great location near albany med center

it met all needs. they provide a shuttle to the med center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobbyd123
Business
nyc
Feb 19, 2013

Comfortable accomodations

This hotel is very clean and well run. The staff is super friendly, and we took advantage of the free around town shuttle. Room was very nice, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fdcvdesjki
Business
Clifton,NJ
Jul 1, 2013

Great Escape

2 miles from downtown . Very clean. Great rooms, BIG. Nice comp. breakfast. Nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Baseball game.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
billy wrestler 1
Business
albany
Mar 3, 2014

high school sports great

A bit pricey for the location ,but nice stay and room was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady business traveler
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 18, 2009

Nice! But nothing fancy.

I was in Albany overnight for business. The hotel seems quite new and while it's nothing super-fancy, I enjoyed my stay and would definitely come back. The front desk service was friendly and helpful, room/suite was quiet and very spacious with new appliances and a comfortable bed (I had a queen room), and the workout room, while small, had new equipment and was quite clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Apr 5, 2011

A nice place to stay in Albany

The family took a week-end road trip to Albany to see the Albany Devils games Saturday night and Sunday afternoon. We got there early enough on Saturday to walk around and check out the sites. We were happy that the hotel was on the "right" side of Delaware Avenue. The room was clean, comfortable and nicely furnished - plenty of room for us 3 adults and 1 baby. The kitchen would have come in very handy if we were able to stay longer. My favorite thing - the freshly made waffles at the FREE breakfast! Delicious! The only complaint I have is that we had to check out at 11:00 - and the game didn't start until 4:00. Being a Sunday, there wasn't much to do in town. We took a ride out on the highway to a mall and spent time there and ate before the game. It would have been nice to have been able to stay in the room until 1:00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

An Albany Devils game is a fun and inexpensive way to spend a few hours in the capitol city. You may even catch a free t-shirt!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Oct 4, 2010

Albany Trip 10/10

We thought the hotel was great! Did not have a problem with anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top