$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 20, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

3 stars
View map of 22 Holland Avenue, 22 Holland Avenue, Albany, NY 12209

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 22, 2010

Clean, comfortable

Perfectly clean, comfortable, polite staff. The iron in the room didn't work and was promptly replaced. The front desk gave me free toothpaste when I forgot mine. Free internet. Very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marky D
Business
NYC
Oct 12, 2010

They still need some work

I got off to a bad start with this hotel. The marked "Entrance" is at the wrong end of a one-way drive. So, there was no way to get to the lobby w/o parking at the back of the hotel and walking all the way around the building. How HARD is it to place the "Entrance" sign where you can actually drive up to the lobby? There was also no way to turn the fan on over night, and there was noise from the hallway. No luggage valet rack. Staff had little knowledge of where to get food at late hour. Big room, but no extra furniture. So it was mostly just a big empty suite. Only mirror in the bathroom, and no fan, so I had to wait until bathroom mirror un-fogged after my shower before I could even see to comb my hair. In short, I think this hotel really needs to get some of the little details right. There are some nice features, but mostly small things that just diminish the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Oct 4, 2010

Albany Trip 10/10

We thought the hotel was great! Did not have a problem with anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chocolate McLovin
Business
Albany, New York
Apr 20, 2010

Great Room, Nice Location

First and foremost I like how the room was setup and it was a great location nice, quiet, & peaceful. It also had everything just in case you did not bring it with you ( iron, ironboard, mini closet, coffeemaker, pots, etc. . . .) It Was Great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady business traveler
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 18, 2009

Nice! But nothing fancy.

I was in Albany overnight for business. The hotel seems quite new and while it's nothing super-fancy, I enjoyed my stay and would definitely come back. The front desk service was friendly and helpful, room/suite was quiet and very spacious with new appliances and a comfortable bed (I had a queen room), and the workout room, while small, had new equipment and was quite clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RiveGauche
Business
Trenton, NJ
Nov 21, 2009

[...]

The [...] site didn't mention the $100 non-refundable "pet fee". [...] I controlled my temper and explained to the desk clerk - who was very good, efficient, courteous - that Winter, my Alaskan Malamute, was my "service dog" and then I explained what that meant. She told she would speak to the manager and would then call me back. I said I would like to stay here but offered to pay extra if and only if Winter damaged something or soiled the carpeting, which she would not do. Ultimately the manager agreed to waive the fee and I was profuse in my thanks and compliments, which followed a gentle warning about how Americans with Disabilities Act protected citizens tend to be formidable adversaries if not accommodated in such modest ways (and I have experience!).Bottom line, however, is that the suites are immaculate and beautiful. This is obviously a new property. Note that there are not separate rooms, but just a big one with a desk at one end and the bed at the other. But the furnishings are ultra-modern Ikea-like, with clean lines. All in all a nice place to stay. The mattress - rare for ANY flophouse - was comfortable and I actually got a night's sleep on it.But do ask them (I forgot) why there seemed to be a nocturnal recording of an eagle and its chicks on top of the Department of Mental Health's building across the street? Mysterious. Needed the fan on all night to drown it out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Going west on Madison Avenue nearing the triangle containing the College of St. Rose...charming little pubs and eateries, if you don't mind a college crowd.

Back to menu Return to top