$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

The Desmond Hotel

3 stars
660 Albany Shaker Road, Albany, NY 12211
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
40 reviews
Home away from home

The answer is always yes! We travel miles out of our way just to stay here. The staff is... See full review

  • Nowclouds
  • Oct 16, 2014
Like a Country Inn

Like a country Inn in the middle of suburbia. Nice quiet atmosphere, clean rooms and a friendly staff. See full review

  • jodoughe
  • Aug 27, 2014
Today’s technology and an atmosphere of yesteryear in Albany
Designed to resemble a colonial village, The Desmond Hotel provides the perfect blend of historical detail and high-tech amenities. Interior courtyards are filled with plants and flooded with light from a four-story atrium. Fountains and brick walkways emphasize the feel of a colonial streetscape, fitting with Albany’s history as a 17th century trading post. At the same time, up-to-date services include free Internet access and extensive business facilities with multimedia capability. On-site parking is complimentary at The Desmond Hotel.
Highlights
  • Distinctive hotel design in the style of a colonial village
  • Two indoor pools
  • Two-story duplex suites available
  • AAA four diamond Scrimshaw restaurant 
  • Complimentary airport shuttle available

 

Rooms
Elegant furnishings, handcrafted woodwork and original oil paintings are features of all 323 guest rooms at The Desmond Hotel. Many rooms and suites include a private balcony overlooking one of two indoor courtyards. Suites feature four-poster canopy beds, wet bars and separate sleeping and living areas.

 

While historic charm is emphasized at The Desmond Hotel, high-tech amenities are not sacrificed. Guests take advantage of alarm clock radios with MP3 connectivity, cable channels including HBO and on-demand movies, and video games (fees apply).

Features
Guests at The Desmond Hotel take advantage of a billiard room, fitness center, Jacuzzi and two indoor pools. Departure information from Albany International Airport is broadcast in guest rooms and the lobby. Fireplaces in the lobby, Scrimshaw restaurant and Tavern give guests a sense of warmth.
Dining
Scrimshaw is the location for fine dining at The Desmond Hotel. Rack of lamb, filet napolean and pan-seared duck breast are some Scrimshaw specialties. Sunday brunch is also available. 

 

Simpson's Grille serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in a casual atmosphere. A prix fixe menu is available. The Tavern features pub food and a large selection of imported beers and ales. Room service is available.

 

Transportation
  • Adjacent to I-87
  • Albany International Airport (1 mi/2.1 km)
  • I-90 (3 mi/5.1 km)
  • Greyhound bus station (6 mi/9.9 km)
  • Albany-Rensselaer Amtrak station (7 mi/10.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • University at Albany – SUNY (3 mi/5.3 km)
  • New York State Capitol (6 mi/9.1 km)
  • Empire State Plaza (6 mi/9.2 km)
  • New York State Museum (6 mi/9.5 km) 
  • Times Union Center (6 mi/9.6 km)   

 

Business
  • Business center
  • 20,000 square feet of function space
  • Amphitheater hall with multimedia capability and seating for 100

Hotel Map

42.7266 -73.794
Area served
Albany
Nearby airports
Albany International Airport just minutes away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Desmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Desmond Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
All 323 luxurious guest rooms feature hand-crafted woodwork, finely detailed fabrics, original oil paintings and elegant furnishings. Many of our rooms and suites offer a private balcony overlooking our two indoor, beautifully landscaped, all-season courtyards. Our elegant guest room suites feature four-poster canopy beds, wet bars, and separate sleeping and living areas. For the ultimate in privacy, space and luxury, choose from one of our unique and spacious two-story Duplex Suites. Each room is equipped with a writing desk and wireless internet. Our Room Service is exceptional featuring classic selections from Executive Chef Michael St. John and his award-winning culinary team. The Desmond guest rooms redefine comfort and luxury for full-service hotels. Elegant and sophisticated enough to impress the most seasoned travelers. Comfortable and casual enough to allow you to kick off your shoes and surf the Web or curl up with a classic novel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Times Union Center: 5.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Walk into a room, stand on a stage, plug in your laptop, and talk to thousands. Advanced Conference Technologies define the meetings and conference facility at the Desmond Hotel and Conference Center. Hold a meeting for 10 people in an executive board room or talk with thousands in our Town Hall meeting room with powerful capabilities to keep your message within its walls or transport your ideas across the globe. No other meeting and conference destination in the Capital District can match our technology or our commitment to providing seamless interaction between attendees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for The Desmond Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Desmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nowclouds
Business
Coronado, Ca
Oct 16, 2014

Home away from home

The answer is always yes! We travel miles out of our way just to stay here. The staff is delightful, unlike any other hotel in the area. A large hotel with a small town feel! We especially enjoy Edie, hostess in Simpsons Restaurant. Attitude is everything in this lovely hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Desmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jodoughe
Business
White Plains, NY
Aug 27, 2014

Like a Country Inn

Like a country Inn in the middle of suburbia. Nice quiet atmosphere, clean rooms and a friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Desmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eveyln
Business
Virginia
Aug 19, 2014

Nice place

If you plan to stay at the Desmond, I'd like to recommend to request a room on the 3rd floor and parking lot view. It would be light and quiet. House keeping was wonderful! I stayed there for 5days, and I was impressed that every single day they keep the room very nice. Restraunts in the hotel is kind of pricy, and it took too long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Desmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ninja Double D
Business
Utica, NY
Jun 28, 2014

Convenient place to stay

We only stayed here to be close to Albany airport since we had an early flight . Room was comfortable, check in and check out we're flawless, and it's only a few minutes to the airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Desmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canadian Rockies Traveler
Business
Escondido, CA
Jun 15, 2014

More of a conference center than hotel

Large hotel, nice shuttle, lovely food with lots of conference activity. The first room they gave us opened on to the courtyard where one conference was going on. Even the bellman stated that this was not acceptable. He moved us to a quieter room. No express checkout service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Desmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IAFC Chief
Business
Central New York
Nov 19, 2013

Great for Business Trip

I always enjoy staying at the Desmond. I was a little disappointed that I still had garbage in the wastebasket

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good restaurants in the area, but try the hotel's first. I've never had a bad meal here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Desmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LauderdaleDude
Business
Florida
May 13, 2013

Convenient to airport

Location is perfect if you're traveling. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Room service was excellent and the food was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Desmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaidMarion
Business
North Attleboro, MA
Apr 8, 2013

GREAT HOTEL!!!

Let me start by saying that the only reason I gave 4-star rating vs a 5 star is becasue the carpeting did have a spot or two, which is certainly not the end of the world. Everything else about The Desmond was excellent. I must say that I've never run into such extremely friendly staff - in every part of the hotel & at every level. Very impressive. The "cherry on top" was the ultimate fabulous surprise ----- the food at the restaurant (1 of 3) we ate at was some of the best I've eaten. It was a VERY unexpected surprise. I was initially booked for 1 night but enjoyed my stay so much that I chose to stay a 2nd night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They have 3 restaurants: The Tavern (pub-style food), The Scrimshaw (elegant dining) and Simpson's Grille, which is where I ate and the food was unbelievable delicious and the portions were also very generous. Simpson's Grille is a MUST!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Desmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
my name is nick name
Business
NYC
Feb 4, 2013

Absolutely wonderful....

We LOVED this hotel. Everything was just simply amazing.............the atmosphere, the staff, the room, the food (we had breakfast in Simpsons both mornings) ....we felt very comfortable and relaxed.......one of my favorite experiences was having a night cap in front of the blazng fire in the lobby with my husband....it was FREEZING outside.......they even added more logs to make sure we had the prefect roaring fire.......it was very just so relaxing it felt like it was just the two of us there.... I would totally recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Desmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
treeshrink
Business
Westchester, New York
Jan 31, 2013

Nice place for business travel

When in Albany for business, I decided to stay away from my downtown meeting place to get a better value. I was quite happy with my experience at the Desmond. The gym was nice, the room was clean, comfortable, and quiet, and I got a great night's sleep. I also was able to have a very good meal at one of the hotel's restaurants. All in all, a very nice hotel with very good service. I would (and have) definitely recommend it. It's a quick 15 minute drive to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great salad

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top