Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

1 star
1385 WASHINGTON AVE, Albany, NY 12206
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
80 reviews
Great hotel!

The room was very spacious and clean. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 28, 2009
"Run down and tired"

It was a bit noisy, poorly cleaned, and quite run down. The staff was friendly, but not really 'in... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 25, 2009
Budget hotel along I-90 convenient to Saratoga Springs and nearby malls

Located along I-90, the Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany provides convenient access to downtown attractions such as the New York State Museum and Washington Park. For a day trip, the historic Saratoga Race Course - first opened in 1863 - is within a half hour drive. On the way to or from Saratoga Springs, stop by the Saratoga National Historical Park, site of the Revolutionary War's decisive Battle of Saratoga. Back at the Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany, relax with free coffee and cable TV.

Highlights
  • Across the street from UAlbany
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access available throughout the hotel
  • Hotel offers 24/7 complimentary coffee
Location

Shoppers staying at the Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany enjoy being near both Crossgates Mall and the Colonie Center, which offer a combined 370 stores and services. Crossgates Mall is the largest in upstate New York and features 11 anchor stores, including H&M, JCPenney and Macy's.

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany include cable TV, free local phone calls and wake-up service. Some rooms also include microwaves and refrigerators. Interior and exterior corridor access rooms available. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary.

Features

Complimentary coffee is available 24/7. Free parking at the Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany includes space for oversized vehicles. Stay connected hotel-wide with free Wi-Fi.

Transportation
  • Adjacent to I-90
  • I-87 (1 mi/2 km) 
  • Albany International Airport (4 mi/5.9 km)
  • Greyhound bus station (4 mi/7 km) 
  • Albany-Rensselaer Amtrak station (5 mi/8 km) 
Attractions
  • University at Albany – SUNY (Across the street)
  • Colonie Center mall (1 mi/2.2 km)
  • Crossgates Mall (2 mi/3 km) 
  • Empire State Plaza (4 mi/6.1 km)
  • New York State Capitol (4 mi/6.1 km) 
  • New York State Museum (4 mi/6.3 km) 
  • Times Union Center (4 mi/6.6 km)   
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (8 mi/12.7 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access available throughout the hotel
  • Copy and fax services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany Rooms

2 D BEDS N/S
Spacious Room With Two Double Beds Two Double Beds NS -free local telephone calls -free newspaper -complimentary bathroom amenities -hairdryer available in office -iron-ironing board available in office -complimentary coffee in office -wake up service av
2 D BEDS SMK
Spacious Room With Two Double Beds, Two Double Bed Room-free local telephone calls -free newspaper -complimentary bathroom amenities -hairdryer available in office -iron-ironing board available in office -complimentary coffee in office -wake up service a
1 K BED NS
Spacious Room With One King Size Bed One King Bed NS -free local telephone calls -free newspaper -complimentary bathroom amenities -hairdryer available in office -iron-ironing board available in office -complimentary coffee in office -wake up service ava
1 K BED SMK
Spacious Room With One King Size Bed One King Bed Room -free local telephone calls -free newspaper -complimentary bathroom amenities -hairdryer available in office -iron-ironing board available in office -complimentary coffee in office -wake up service av
1 K BED SUITE
Spacious Suite With One King Size Bed One King Bed Suite -free local telephone calls -free newspaper -complimentary bathroom amenities -hairdryer available in office -iron-ironing board available in office -complimentary coffee in office -wake up service

Amenities

  • Free parking
General
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Vending machines
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Express checkout
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Room
Television with cable
Microwave

Nearby points of interest

  • Times Union Center: 4.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
DENNY'S RESTAURANT - American - 2 MILES FRIDAY'S - American - 2 MILES METRO 20 - American - 3.5 MILES HOULIHAN'S - American - 1.5 MILES OLIVE GARDEN - Italian - 3 MILES GARCIA'S - Mexican - 1.5 MILES MACRONI GRILL - American - 1.5 MILES RED LOBSTER

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, ny
Feb 17, 2011

Quiet comfortable friendly

Quiet able to get work done and sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate NY
Jan 31, 2011

Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

A clean, quiet room. No fridge, microwave, coffee maker, or breakfast like it said in the info but for a quick overnight business trip it was okay. The Internet worked with no problem. Thats really all there is to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

I looked for a fast food drive up in both directions on Washington Ave and found nothing. Wound up going to a Panera across from the Crossroads(?) Mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UVMhoopsfan
Business
Middlebury, VT
Jan 30, 2011

Red Carpet Inn Albany 1-29-11

the place was dirty and smelly. the bath tub was marred. there were no restaurants available nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Temporarily homeless
Business
Rochester, NY
Jan 16, 2011

I love the Price

I was in Albany for women's alumni basketball events. I have stayed at this inn several times. Room is comfortable if not spectacular, staff is friendly, price is great, and it's right across the street from the UAlbany campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of dining choices nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kiamesha Lake, NY
Dec 18, 2010

OK for the price

Hotel was well decorated and the Front Desk was extremely helpful and friendly. I needed a couple of pencils sharpened and the Front Desk clerk sharpened them for me, he went above and beyond. The rooms were comfortable and well decorated, however the one thing that I had a MAJOR problem with was when I was showering the water would be comfortable and then turn ice cold and then warm again and then ice cold and this continued through my entire shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stuyvesant Plaza on Fuller Road by SUNY Albany and the Nanotech College. Shopping plaza has everything and then some. I enjoyed walking around. Also if your into Diners, I suggest Dewey's Diner on Fuller by the I90/I87 interchange. The food was great and the staff was extremely friendly, I felt like I was eating breakfast with an extremely large family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany NY
Dec 12, 2010

Surprisingly nice for the low cost

Room was surprisingly nice for the low cost. King room was larger than most hotel rooms and very nicely furnished. Bathroom was a little small but functional with plenty of mirrors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Dec 6, 2010

Good for a cheap place to stay

I went to Albany with a friend for a concert so we were just trying to stay someplace cheap and close to the venue (Washington Avenue Armory). It was good for us college kids that have limited funds and like to have a good time. The room-service dominos was cool too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Domino's has room service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sudschick
Business
Nevada
Nov 6, 2010

My Worse Hotel/Motel Experience Ever

We were told this was the last available room on the first floor with outside access. I asked for a handicapped room (none available) or first floor. The room was filthy. The carpet was the worse I've ever seen in a hotel. The manager had to bring a bucket to catch the water under the sink because the pipe had a hole about the size of my thumb.He also had to bring a pipe to lean against the drapes, because they weren't wide enough to close all the way, so we had to overlap the center and lean the pipe against it to keep it closed.The window was filthy and looked like it was plexiglass. We had to request towels, because there were none. There were also no hangers, and the shelf in the closet was very dirty. My husband closed the door and the lock fell out, leaving a hole in the door. There was no chain or extra security lock.The card lock did work. The headbord wasn't attached, so when I sat down on the bed, it slammed against the wall.The toilet was not attached to the floor, so it banged loudly too. The bathroom smelled of urine and there was a leak from something on the floor. The rod for the shower curtain was too far into the tub, so there was very little room to stand in the tub without the curtain on me. The towel rod was bent in the middle. The shower around the soap holder was damaged and moldy. The towels were old, stained and scratchy. I didn't sleep much all night, because I was worried about bugs or something. I didn't dare look under the sheets, so my husband lifted just a corner to see if there were bugs or anything. Before we left, I lifted the sheets on my husband's bed and the mattress was stained with what looked like blood and urine and there was no mattress cover.It was then that I discovered an old pair of tennis shoes beside the bed. If you wonder why we stayed, it's because we had driven for 18 hours and were so tired. It was raining out and we had just unloaded the car and everything was in the room.The manager on duty asked if we wanted another room, but my husband can't use stairs and we didn't want to have to bring everything back out into the rain. Behind the entry door the wall was damaged and moldy, as was the area under the window and around the heater. The good points were that the internet worked, even though we were told it was just upgraded and might not.The night manager was pleasant enough, even after all the trips he made to the room.We didn't have their breakfast, because we were afraid to eat anything from there. When we checked out, I told the manager on duty about the room and how filthy it was and all the problems with it. He told me we shouldn't have been in that room, because "they never rent that room". I'm still disgusted. They should have given me back our money; better stil they should have paid me for staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo, JAPAN
Oct 25, 2010

Good for one night

I just stayed at the hotel for one night. The hotel itself is old and need to be updated. This hotel is for students. The price is very nice and reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yonkers, NY
Oct 15, 2010

Good price for location, lacks diner

Wireless connection did not work in the room...Management did not accept the Non-tax application.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

TGF was good 5-10 away with car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top