Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

1 star
View map of 1385 WASHINGTON AVE, Albany, NY 12206

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate NY
Jan 31, 2011

Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

A clean, quiet room. No fridge, microwave, coffee maker, or breakfast like it said in the info but for a quick overnight business trip it was okay. The Internet worked with no problem. Thats really all there is to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

I looked for a fast food drive up in both directions on Washington Ave and found nothing. Wound up going to a Panera across from the Crossroads(?) Mall.

Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UVMhoopsfan
Friends
Middlebury, VT
Jan 30, 2011

Red Carpet Inn Albany 1-29-11

the place was dirty and smelly. the bath tub was marred. there were no restaurants available nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Temporarily homeless
Single
Rochester, NY
Jan 16, 2011

I love the Price

I was in Albany for women's alumni basketball events. I have stayed at this inn several times. Room is comfortable if not spectacular, staff is friendly, price is great, and it's right across the street from the UAlbany campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of dining choices nearby.

Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kiamesha Lake, NY
Dec 18, 2010

OK for the price

Hotel was well decorated and the Front Desk was extremely helpful and friendly. I needed a couple of pencils sharpened and the Front Desk clerk sharpened them for me, he went above and beyond. The rooms were comfortable and well decorated, however the one thing that I had a MAJOR problem with was when I was showering the water would be comfortable and then turn ice cold and then warm again and then ice cold and this continued through my entire shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stuyvesant Plaza on Fuller Road by SUNY Albany and the Nanotech College. Shopping plaza has everything and then some. I enjoyed walking around. Also if your into Diners, I suggest Dewey's Diner on Fuller by the I90/I87 interchange. The food was great and the staff was extremely friendly, I felt like I was eating breakfast with an extremely large family.

Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Albany NY
Dec 12, 2010

Surprisingly nice for the low cost

Room was surprisingly nice for the low cost. King room was larger than most hotel rooms and very nicely furnished. Bathroom was a little small but functional with plenty of mirrors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Rhode Island
Dec 6, 2010

Good for a cheap place to stay

I went to Albany with a friend for a concert so we were just trying to stay someplace cheap and close to the venue (Washington Avenue Armory). It was good for us college kids that have limited funds and like to have a good time. The room-service dominos was cool too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Domino's has room service.

Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sudschick
Couples
Nevada
Nov 6, 2010

My Worse Hotel/Motel Experience Ever

We were told this was the last available room on the first floor with outside access. I asked for a handicapped room (none available) or first floor. The room was filthy. The carpet was the worse I've ever seen in a hotel. The manager had to bring a bucket to catch the water under the sink because the pipe had a hole about the size of my thumb.He also had to bring a pipe to lean against the drapes, because they weren't wide enough to close all the way, so we had to overlap the center and lean the pipe against it to keep it closed.The window was filthy and looked like it was plexiglass. We had to request towels, because there were none. There were also no hangers, and the shelf in the closet was very dirty. My husband closed the door and the lock fell out, leaving a hole in the door. There was no chain or extra security lock.The card lock did work. The headbord wasn't attached, so when I sat down on the bed, it slammed against the wall.The toilet was not attached to the floor, so it banged loudly too. The bathroom smelled of urine and there was a leak from something on the floor. The rod for the shower curtain was too far into the tub, so there was very little room to stand in the tub without the curtain on me. The towel rod was bent in the middle. The shower around the soap holder was damaged and moldy. The towels were old, stained and scratchy. I didn't sleep much all night, because I was worried about bugs or something. I didn't dare look under the sheets, so my husband lifted just a corner to see if there were bugs or anything. Before we left, I lifted the sheets on my husband's bed and the mattress was stained with what looked like blood and urine and there was no mattress cover.It was then that I discovered an old pair of tennis shoes beside the bed. If you wonder why we stayed, it's because we had driven for 18 hours and were so tired. It was raining out and we had just unloaded the car and everything was in the room.The manager on duty asked if we wanted another room, but my husband can't use stairs and we didn't want to have to bring everything back out into the rain. Behind the entry door the wall was damaged and moldy, as was the area under the window and around the heater. The good points were that the internet worked, even though we were told it was just upgraded and might not.The night manager was pleasant enough, even after all the trips he made to the room.We didn't have their breakfast, because we were afraid to eat anything from there. When we checked out, I told the manager on duty about the room and how filthy it was and all the problems with it. He told me we shouldn't have been in that room, because "they never rent that room". I'm still disgusted. They should have given me back our money; better stil they should have paid me for staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Tokyo, JAPAN
Oct 25, 2010

Good for one night

I just stayed at the hotel for one night. The hotel itself is old and need to be updated. This hotel is for students. The price is very nice and reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yonkers, NY
Oct 15, 2010

Good price for location, lacks diner

Wireless connection did not work in the room...Management did not accept the Non-tax application.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

TGF was good 5-10 away with car

Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Albany

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tired Tricia
Family
West Harrison, NY
Sep 11, 2010

Highly disappointing

Hotel is old and rundown. Nothing like the picture. [...]. Although management is friendly, I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many decent dining options within 1-2 miles

Back to menu Return to top