$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 31, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

1 star
1614 Central Ave/Rt. 5, Albany, NY 12205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
33 reviews
Not bad for the cost

This hotel was really not too bad for the price. Location was great for our purpose! See full review

  • Kiss Motley
  • Jul 5, 2014
good for what we paid for

We needed a hotel room, night of, to stay at for our cross country roadttip, and this one did just... See full review

  • Maraiha
  • Jun 19, 2014
Take the family on a fun-filled trip to this Howard Johnson Inn - Albany conveniently located just off Interstate 87 near Albany International Airport, downtown Albany, Albany Medical Center, SUNY Albany University and local restaurants. See concerts and sporting events at Times Union Center, Troy Savings Bank Music Hall, or The Cohoes Music Hall. Shopping, museums, and the New York State Capitol building are just minutes away. Start your day with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and relax in the courtyard or at the sunny outdoor pool. Utilize the complimentary wireless Internet access to plan your exciting day, and take advantage of the 24-hour front desk, fitness center, guest laundry, valet and large-vehicle parking. Stay productive in the business center with copy and fax services, or book your next business or social event in the meeting facilities. Refresh in your comfortable guest room with coffee-maker and hairdryer. Smoke-free rooms are available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Albany also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Times Union Center: 6.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
likewhat
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 13, 2014

Positive experience

While the hotel itself is very dated, it was clean and comfortable. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kports99
Business
Albany NY
Sep 7, 2014

nice

Excellent large room for price. Housekeeping never disturbed me always provided towels and coffee. Staff was very helpful. Easy to find and a lot of reassurance and shopping close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Smokey bones open late

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moshe Landman
Business
Silver Spring, Maryland
Aug 13, 2014

HoJo, a big disappointment

I traveled to Albany, New York for one night to deal with some legal matters. I stayed at HoJo near SUNY Albany. I was very disappointed with the accommodations. The room was grimy, smelled bad, and was full of dirt. The fitness center was a wreck and the pool close early. If you make it to Albany, I recommend staying somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sixty Bux
Business
New York
Jul 18, 2014

The price was good

We weren't expecting 5-stars for the money. This property is tired and showing it's age. If you're hungry in the morning, pass on the complimentary breakfast, unless you like cold sausage links and cereal. The positives: the front-desk was friendly, and the bed was pretty comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thai restaurant across the street is good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiss Motley
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jul 5, 2014

Not bad for the cost

This hotel was really not too bad for the price. Location was great for our purpose!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Off highway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maraiha
Business
Tempe, Az
Jun 19, 2014

good for what we paid for

We needed a hotel room, night of, to stay at for our cross country roadttip, and this one did just that without much hassle at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bbmglory
Business
Camp Hill, PA
Aug 12, 2013

In need of update

Hotel not as in picture...the restauarant was closed & repairs being done thru out the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stressed visitor
Business
Victor, ny
Jul 5, 2013

An economical, "okay" place to stay.

Just “okay”. The rooms appear clean…if you don’t look too close. Don’t look in the corners, or along the molding, or move any furniture. The bathroom looked pretty good at first glance, but smelled faintly of urine. The trim around the floor was coated in a thick solid layer of dust. The threshold to the bathroom door had black dirt on it, which appeared to have accumulated in layers. The bathtub had a faint ring in it, and the top edge of the plastic surround in the tub/shower had a thick coat of dust and ?mold. The shower curtain had spots of mold on the lower edge. I didn’t have time or desire to complain about these fairly small problems, since the “center part of everything seemed clean. When I had the opportunity, I got a large bottle of white vinegar, and cleaned the bathroom and threshold. It was quite effective, and it kills bacteria too. The furniture is old, and some of it sticky. There are nicks and chips out of much of the wood furniture, which appeared old. Actually, I didn’t mind the old part or the chips, Just the sticky part. The hotel in general appears old, but the rooms I was looked as though they had been remodeled. The windows face the outdoors, since I was on the ground floor, people could see in my room, since the curtains didn’t close tightly….I solved this issue by clipping them together with one of the pants hangers. It would have been nice if there was a curtain across the area where the sink was located. Even with a clip holding the window curtains together , I felt a little self-conscious getting dressed there, so I got changed in the bathroom. On the other hand, there were plenty of clean towels. The bedding was clean. The bed was comfortable. The pillows were like little clouds! I absolutely loved them . I have never slept on such comfortable pillows in my life. The room was large. There was a 4 cup coffee maker in my room, and coffee to make, as well as sugar, creamer, and sugar substitute. There was also an iron, hair dryer, TV (not flat screen but worked fine), a small couch, and a desk. I didn’t try the pool. I used the one washer and dryer . I guess I was lucky I didn’t have to wait long. The air conditioner/heat worked well in both rooms. (see below) There also was a mini fridge that worked well. The free breakfast was self-serve in a somewhat small room, but everything I ate was good. I didn’t try the eggs because I can’t eat eggs so I don’t know how they were. They were being kept warm on a covered warming pan.(as were the sausages, which I also didn’t try. The waffles were big and fluffy-you make them on the spot. There was also donuts, cereal, incl. oatmeal, bananas, milk and orange juice in the refrigerator. Coffee, hot water, tea bags, and lots more. The staff was all very friendly and accommodating. I had trouble with noise one night, and quickly changed my room at my request without any problem. When I asked housekeeping for one extra item, they gave me a whole bunch of extra stuff. The girl at the front desk even asked how my Mom was; she remembered I was there because my Mom was in the hospital.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far from 2 malls. Also, restaurants on same street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melanie B.
Business
Rochester NY
Jun 15, 2012

an old friend

I have been coming to Albany every month this year, and stayed in the Howard Johnson all but one of those times. When it occured to me to try and shop around, I stayed someplace else in April, but the fact that I stayed at the HoJo again should say something. For what you pay, this is a great hotel, with staff committed to customer service and who can give accurate directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melanie B.
Business
Rochester NY
Mar 3, 2012

My home away from home

I come into Albany regularly, and after trying out most of the cheap hotels on Central and Wolf, I've pretty much committed myself to staying at the HoJo. They have good wifi, a good selecting of TV stations, perfectly fine rooms, and a very good contimental breakfast that isn't set up in the front lobby, so I can enjoy it in my pajamas without having someone looking over my shoulder the whole time. Housekeeping had the uncommon sense to leave the heat on and the TV on while I was gone for the day- I HATE walking into an icy room in the winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top