$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Holiday Inn Express ALBANY WESTERN AVE UNIVERSITY

3 stars
1442 WESTERN AVE., ALBANY, NY 12203
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
40 reviews
Comfy & Cozy

The beds & pillows were comfortable & the room came with a 'frig, m'wave coffeemaker. What more... See full review

  • SUNY Mom
  • Feb 18, 2013
Frequent Traveler124

Very nice hotel. We especially liked the breakfast, and the room was really quiet. See full review

  • Frequent Traveler124
  • Mar 31, 2014
Bright, contemporary guest rooms and free breakfast near UAlbany
The Holiday Inn Express Albany – Western Ave University provides a comfortable, convenient stopping point for business and leisure travelers. The main campus of the University at Albany – SUNY is half a mile from the hotel. Family-friendly amenities include free breakfast and a sizeable indoor pool. Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access help guests keep up with e-mail, news or work. A wide range of additional dining options are located in the area.
Highlights
  • Indoor pool
  • Located near the University at Albany – SUNY
  • Seasonal outdoor area with barbecue grill
  • Free parking
Rooms

All 121 rooms at the Holiday Inn Express Albany – Western Ave University are decorated in bright, springy colors, with lime and marigold walls, playful patterned curtains and crisp white beds. Flat-panel TVs feature cable channels and pay-per-view movies. Guests stay refreshed with complimentary bottled water and in-room coffee service. Microwaves and refrigerators are also included. Two-room suites feature separate living and sleeping areas, as well as a wet bar and second television.

 

Features

A recently renovated fitness center overlooks the indoor pool and includes cardiovascular and weight equipment, a large flat-panel TV and shower facilities. Guests take advantage of a seasonal outdoor gathering space with a barbecue grill, as well as patio and lounge seating.


Dining options for guests at the Holiday Inn Express Albany – Western Ave University include a free breakfast buffet featuring cereal, cinnamon rolls, eggs, fruit, pastries and beverages. A snack shop, adjacent to the front desk, offers convenience items and Albany souvenirs for purchase. Local restaurants provide in-room delivery.


Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the Holiday Inn Express Albany – Western Ave University. On-site parking is also complimentary.

Transportation
  • I-87 (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • I-90 (1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Albany International Airport (5 mi/7.8 km)
  • Greyhound bus station (5 mi/7.8 km)
  • Albany-Rensselaer Amtrak station (6 mi/8.9 km) 
Attractions
  • University at Albany – SUNY (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Crossgates Mall (1 mi/1.8 km) 
  • Colonie Center mall (2 mi/3.4 km)
  • Empire State Plaza (4 mi/7 km)
  • New York State Museum (4 mi/7.1 km)
  • New York State Capitol (4 mi/7.2 km)
  • Times Union Center (5 mi/7.5 km)   
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (9 mi/14.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 1,300 square feet of function space
  • Three meeting rooms

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express ALBANY WESTERN AVE UNIVERSITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.679 -73.8366
Nearby airports
University at Albany, (ALB), 6.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Times Union Center: 4.7 mi

Dining

99 Restaurant and Pub
Casual Dining with varied menu, close by, childrens menu.
Across the Street Pub
A popular local hang out with a varied menu featuring American, tavern style, pizza and pasta
Capitol Diner
Classic Diner menu with a contemporary feel. Just 1 mile away, look for the gleaming chrome!
BFS Restaurant
Continental and Mediteranean fare. Looking for something good and unusual, this is the place. Local chef owned and operated.
Athos
Clasic Greek Cuisine
Bellini's
Amazing Italian eatery, locally owned.
Delmonico's Italian Steakhouse
The PERFECT mix of authentic Italian cuisine and the delicious options of a steakhouse.
Grandma's Pies & Restaurant
Granny's recipes prepared on the premises with old fashioned skill provide a difference that you can taste. Homestyle Cuisine
Hana Japanese Steak House & Sushi Bar
If you want to experiance total satisfaction in a restaurant this is the place to go. With full elngth Sushi Bar, sizzling hibachi tables, and regular dining seating it's the perfect place to go for any occasion.
Albany Pump Station
Brew Company, Great food and beer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express ALBANY WESTERN AVE UNIVERSITY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
18 out of 40
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express ALBANY WESTERN AVE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
OldGuyCary
Arlington, MA
Jan 2, 2014

nice one-night stay

We (me, wife, 2 girls) stayed here one night recently. We got a suite, which was excellent. My wife and I had one room; the girls had the other room. The rooms were clean and modern. Each room had its own large TV. We swam in the heated indoor pool. My wife used the exercise room. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. They even had pancakes. The staff was very friendly. This was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express ALBANY WESTERN AVE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
UAlbany Dad
Chappaqua, New York
Aug 17, 2013

Perfect for visiting UAlbany

It's where I stay when I visit my college boy. Very accommodating staff and I recently got an upgrade due to my many visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A la Shanghai - best Chinese cuisine in town.

Review of Holiday Inn Express ALBANY WESTERN AVE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
contended Mom
Albany
Mar 3, 2013

Good location for our purpose

The staffs are friendly. The breakfast was decent. Only the soap provided in the hotel rooms could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express ALBANY WESTERN AVE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
SUNY Mom
Upstate NY
Feb 18, 2013

Comfy & Cozy

The beds & pillows were comfortable & the room came with a 'frig, m'wave coffeemaker. What more could you expect! Bkfst was great & the staff was friendly & helpful. The hotel was quiet,too. My daughter & I settled in to relax & then had an ice cream urge-they had Ben & Jerry's available in their store. Perfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to SUNY Albany

Review of Holiday Inn Express ALBANY WESTERN AVE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
Baum
Oakland, California
Oct 11, 2012

Annual visit to Albany

We visit our family in Albany every year in October. and always stay at the Holiday Inn Express Western Ave Albany. It is a very comfortable and the Breakfast are very good. Thank you very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express ALBANY WESTERN AVE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
Felipe Super Dad
Albany, New York
Jul 15, 2012

University Orientation

The hotel was very pleasant ,clean and staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express ALBANY WESTERN AVE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
Youngerman
Albany, ny
Jul 4, 2012

Hotel

From the moment we walked in the place, our stay was pleasant. The staff was friendly, informative, and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable, and new. Would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express ALBANY WESTERN AVE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
misspodd76
(Western) New York
Jun 9, 2012

Great night!

It was very easy to find. At check in the guy was very nice...asked if I had a floor preference (I am pregnant) and then hooked us up with a room right near the pool. My son loved that and I liked not having to walk a long way! Room was great...very up to date. Only complaint is that there was not any information about the area in the room. Usually it is on the desk. Pool was small but warm and area was clean. Breakfast was awesome...lots to choose from and my son loved the Pancake maker! Only stayed the one night but would stay there again if needed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

TGI Friday's is just down the street. My son and I checked in late and needed to eat. Went there to get some take out ....they were friendly and we did not have to wait long!

Review of Holiday Inn Express ALBANY WESTERN AVE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
SUNY Mom
Upstate NY
Apr 1, 2012

Great stay while visiting college daughters!

I have stayed here & at other hotels near SUNY Albany. I left this time saying "I'm not even going to bother looking at other places to stay!" This hotel is conveniently located near campus, the room has everything you need-'fridg, m'wave , it is spotless & has a nice pool. On top of that, the staff is helpful & the breakfast is by far better than any of the other continental breakfasts. I definitely recommend it & will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to SUNY Albany

Review of Holiday Inn Express ALBANY WESTERN AVE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
Amy sap
ny
Feb 12, 2012

Birthday celebration

the staff was very friendly and nice.... Hotel was nice and neat. Needs room service or restaurant for dinner though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top