$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

3 stars
25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
44 reviews
Great suites

We stayed in a jacuzzi tub suite and it was fantastic. The staff was super friendly and full of... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 7, 2014
Wonderful 4th of July weekend

The hotel is very well located and easy to find for an out of town visitor. We were there for 4th... See full review

  • Reel
  • Jul 7, 2014
Downtown hotel with award-winning restaurant near the capitol building

Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown offers fresh, contemporary guest rooms and suites in neutral tones, with sharp accents such as black-and-white photographs of Albany sights. Two restaurants located inside the hotel - Yono's and dp An American Brasserie - feature traditional favorites and signature Indonesian dishes. Complimentary amenities at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown include a breakfast buffet, Internet access and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Free breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary Internet access
  • Award-winning Yono's restaurant features a state of the art wine loft
Rooms

Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown features 121 guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight Jacuzzi suites and one executive two-room suite. Rooms include two queen or one king-sized bed. Flat-screen TVs feature cable channels including HBO. Complimentary Internet access is available in all rooms.

Features

In the lobby, guests meet or relax in a refined, stately atmosphere, with a mahogany-paneled fireplace and intimate conversation areas. A complimentary fitness center features cardiovascular and weight equipment. The private relaxation club features a massage chair, sauna, steam room and tanning bed (fees apply). Self parking is available (fees apply). Contact the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown for the hotel's pet policy.

Dining

Yono's restaurant has earned the Wine Spectator Best of Award for Excellence for its list of 700 wines from 15 countries. The restaurant has also been featured on the Today show and the Food Network. A family-owned establishment, Yono's offers a diverse menu featuring Indonesian cuisine with French presentations and classical continental cuisine. dp An American Brasserie features imaginative cuisine and traditional favorites, including a selection of Chef Yono's signature items. Drink specials and live jazz are featured on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

 

Also at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown, guests take advantage of a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, on-the-go breakfast bags and a 24-hour convenience store.

Transportation
  • I-787 (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-90 (1 mi/2.1 km)
  • I-87 (2 mi/3.5 km) 
  • Albany International Airport (7 mi/11.4 km)
Attractions
  • New York State Capitol (0.3 mi/0.4 km) 
  • Times Union Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)   
  • Empire State Plaza (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • New York State Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University at Albany – SUNY (4 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 2,300 square feet of function space

Hotel Map

42.6535 -73.7516
Nearby airports
Albany County Airport, (ALB), 11.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Times Union Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 44
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
State College, PA
Jul 7, 2014

Great suites

We stayed in a jacuzzi tub suite and it was fantastic. The staff was super friendly and full of great advice for things to do and see. We weren't expecting to have to pay for parking ($13) but it was valet parking and the staff was great. There were tons of restaurants and bars/pubs within walking distance. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dutch Apple Cruises boat tour on the Hudson is a fun way to see the area and get outside!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reel
Business
Olean, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Wonderful 4th of July weekend

The hotel is very well located and easy to find for an out of town visitor. We were there for 4th of July activities on Friday night and Paul McCartney concert on Saturday night. From the first person at the check in desk to the parking attendants as we left, everyone was accommodating and very friendly. We had a wonderful weekend. THANKS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We spent quite a bit of time at the Pearl Street Pub where there is good food, very nice waitresses and staff and wonderful music. Great place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Promethius
Business
Drexel Hill, Pa
Dec 4, 2013

Convenient Hotel

For a good hotel deal located in downtown Albany, I would highly recommend this hotel. Registering is a breeze. The room was very neat and clean with the standard amenities. And the free buffet breakfast is not to be missed--they had most every selection available and warm where appropriate. Parking, although a separate fee (mine was gratis) is located in the rear of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss Tess' McGeary's for food and booze. Always a good time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Promethius
Business
Drexel Hill, Pa
Nov 13, 2013

Great Value Hotel

I witnessed the building of Hampton Inn and Suites when I lived in Albany and never had an opportunity to stay there. When I did recently, I quite enjoyed my stay there. The staff were very friendly, cooperative, informative and professional. The room for two was large and clean--and everything worked. I found the location excellent for my needs. Parking is adjacent to the hotel and I was given the first night gratis. And the breakfast that was provided by the hotel was above average. I would highly recommend rooming at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Historical sites; great restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Veronica P.
Business
Trumansburg, NY 14886, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Another Excellent Stay at a Hampton!

This is a lovely hotel and it was very clean and beautifully decorated. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Plus, we were going to a show at the Palace Theater and it was within walking distance and there were many restaurants and bars nearby. We love staying at Hampton Inns specifically for the room and bed comfort and cleanliness - and this location did not disappoint!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many bars, restaurants and small clubs all within walking distance, and it seemed like a relatively safe neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jan 29, 2011

Beautiful hotel

Excellent stay at this beautiful hotel. Staff very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

DPs is a great restaurant in the hotel but there are many many places you can walk to from this location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jan 3, 2011

Hampton Inn Albany - 25 Chapel Street

Great location, welcoming lobby and clean rooms! Albany was a pretty desolate town over New Year's, but the hotel was in the busiest location - convenient to the bars, restaurants and Palace Theater! If you are visiting downtown Albany, the Hampton Inn is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommendations for the area include the Pearl Street Diner (ate there 2 out of 3 days while we were there), the Pump Station (microbrewery) and the Palace theater where we saw a comedy show on New Years Eve.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rocket Dog
Business
Rochester, NY
Nov 1, 2010

Nice hotel convenient downtown location

We drove from Rochester to Albany for a concert, and checked in around 4:00pm. The lobby is very nice for a hotel in this price class. Tiffany checked us in, and was extremely pleasant and friendly. In fact, when she overheard we had driven 4 hours from Rochester she upgraded our room! So that was a nice bonus. Our room was spacious, with a kitchenette and sitting area. A large flat-screen TV and king-sized bed were welcome additions, although we found the bed to be too stiff for our tastes. That said, the pillows were nicer than our ones at home. We parked on the street and walked everywhere we needed to go, which only encompassed a 3 or 4 block radius. There are some cool bars and restaurants in the immediate area, so lots of choices for the out-of-town traveler. After the concert were returned to the hotel to have a drink at the bar, which has a surprisingly extensive drink menu for a Hampton Inn. In fact I would say it puts many NYC bars to shame. Our bartender Angela was very friendly and chatted us up from time to time as we enjoyed our drinks, and she made drink suggestions based on our likes and dislikes, and even customized a drink for my wife. The continental breakfast was very good, with a wide selection of items. We filled up before hitting the road again, enjoying a breakfast that would easily have cost us $20-$30 elsewhere. The only negatives were: no in-room safes (you have to use a lock box at the check-in desk), our room was a frigid 60 degrees when we walked in (which we quickly corrected using the thermostat), valet parking is $12.95 per day (although street parking is free on the weekends and we readily found a parking spot a couple blocks away), and we were automatically charged for parking on our bill but the front desk quickly removed it when it was brought to their attention. All in all, we found this Hampton Inn to be one of the nicest in the chain that we've seen, with friendly service and nicely appointed rooms that really offer a good value for your travel dollar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearby Victory Cafe has a very nice dinner menu at good prices (the 2 of us ate for $47, including appetizer, 2 drinks, tax, and tip), but on a Sat. night either get there early (5:00-5:30) or else make reservations. We arrived shortly after 5:00 and we were the first ones there. Within 45 minutes the place was completely packed with people waiting for tables!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
retiredroadracer
Business
Coxsackie, NY
Sep 26, 2010

nice place,parking should be included

$12.50 to park in an open lot,on top of high priced room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 6, 2010

Great value for a great stay

I booked this hotel last minute for the July 4th holiday. We got a great price for a wonderful room. Very clean, very comfy and an excellent location - just one block from a row of restaurants and bars and walking distance to the park by the Hudson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top