$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

3 stars
25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
46 reviews
Perfect Visit!

Was visiting town for a concert 3 blocks down street. The entire staff - from valet and front desk... See full review

  • TDC888
  • Nov 3, 2014
Wonderful 4th of July weekend

The hotel is very well located and easy to find for an out of town visitor. We were there for 4th... See full review

  • Reel
  • Jul 7, 2014
Downtown hotel with award-winning restaurant near the capitol building

Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown offers fresh, contemporary guest rooms and suites in neutral tones, with sharp accents such as black-and-white photographs of Albany sights. Two restaurants located inside the hotel - Yono's and dp An American Brasserie - feature traditional favorites and signature Indonesian dishes. Complimentary amenities at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown include a breakfast buffet, Internet access and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Free breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary Internet access
  • Award-winning Yono's restaurant features a state of the art wine loft
Rooms

Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown features 121 guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight Jacuzzi suites and one executive two-room suite. Rooms include two queen or one king-sized bed. Flat-screen TVs feature cable channels including HBO. Complimentary Internet access is available in all rooms.

Features

In the lobby, guests meet or relax in a refined, stately atmosphere, with a mahogany-paneled fireplace and intimate conversation areas. A complimentary fitness center features cardiovascular and weight equipment. The private relaxation club features a massage chair, sauna, steam room and tanning bed (fees apply). Self parking is available (fees apply). Contact the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown for the hotel's pet policy.

Dining

Yono's restaurant has earned the Wine Spectator Best of Award for Excellence for its list of 700 wines from 15 countries. The restaurant has also been featured on the Today show and the Food Network. A family-owned establishment, Yono's offers a diverse menu featuring Indonesian cuisine with French presentations and classical continental cuisine. dp An American Brasserie features imaginative cuisine and traditional favorites, including a selection of Chef Yono's signature items. Drink specials and live jazz are featured on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

 

Also at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown, guests take advantage of a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, on-the-go breakfast bags and a 24-hour convenience store.

Transportation
  • I-787 (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-90 (1 mi/2.1 km)
  • I-87 (2 mi/3.5 km) 
  • Albany International Airport (7 mi/11.4 km)
Attractions
  • New York State Capitol (0.3 mi/0.4 km) 
  • Times Union Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)   
  • Empire State Plaza (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • New York State Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University at Albany – SUNY (4 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 2,300 square feet of function space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Times Union Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spikejim
Business
space
Jun 18, 2012

Great!

Went to a moe. show, stayed here and place was great and close to the gig and the after hours shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Place if you are going to the Palace!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manim
Business
Cincinnati, OH
May 31, 2013

Great stay!

I got a great deal more than I expected when I stayed here. As a single female traveler, they put me on a women's only floor, which had some great amenities, including fresh fruit, extra socks, and a nice selection of extra toiletries. It was a really large room too, very comfortable. Dp Brasserie, which is right next door, was also an excellent place to have dinner -- mid priced, but the food was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scarlet Joe
Business
Setauket,NY
Oct 13, 2013

Excellent overnight stay

Exellent staff, clean comfortable room Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gordon Road Warrior
Business
Bel Air MD
Feb 6, 2014

Great Hotel Great location

This hotel is well run and has excellent staff. It is clean and well suited for business travelers. A great breakfast with both cold and hot items fresh and good quality. unfortunately on this trip due to the pending weather I had to check out the 2nd day of a two night stay to travel home so did not stay the second night which cost me $189.00 since I was pre-paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restaurants with in a four block radius.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY,NY
May 10, 2009

'Great Value, Great Lcation"

Clean, comfortable, and very pleasant atmosphere. Something fo everyone. There's a place to have a drink, eat.. choice of two different restaurants, and a complimentry breakfast that was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlington, VT
Nov 2, 2009

Excelletn

Great service and very friendly staff. No problems and they have a free decent continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, NY
May 10, 2010

Great Hotel

We went to a concert atteh Palace Theater and loved the convenience of this hotel location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to the Palace Theater

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jan 23, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

everything was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 30, 2008

location, location, location

In the heart of Albany, this beautiful hotel with an amazing staff made my trip the mini-vacation/buisness trip very comfortable. Any request or complaint (my radio didn't work and they were out of towels in the gym) was dealt with within a few minutes. The executive suite I stayed in had a refridgerator, microwave and coffee pot with great coffee. The room was spacious and offerred a lap desk, full-sized desk and full bath. There is a relaxation room which is private. It has a sauna, steam room, tanning bed and massage chair for a small fee. I would stay here everytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hot continental breakfast. Night life within walking distance. Diverse choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rocket Dog
Business
Rochester, NY
Nov 1, 2010

Nice hotel convenient downtown location

We drove from Rochester to Albany for a concert, and checked in around 4:00pm. The lobby is very nice for a hotel in this price class. Tiffany checked us in, and was extremely pleasant and friendly. In fact, when she overheard we had driven 4 hours from Rochester she upgraded our room! So that was a nice bonus. Our room was spacious, with a kitchenette and sitting area. A large flat-screen TV and king-sized bed were welcome additions, although we found the bed to be too stiff for our tastes. That said, the pillows were nicer than our ones at home. We parked on the street and walked everywhere we needed to go, which only encompassed a 3 or 4 block radius. There are some cool bars and restaurants in the immediate area, so lots of choices for the out-of-town traveler. After the concert were returned to the hotel to have a drink at the bar, which has a surprisingly extensive drink menu for a Hampton Inn. In fact I would say it puts many NYC bars to shame. Our bartender Angela was very friendly and chatted us up from time to time as we enjoyed our drinks, and she made drink suggestions based on our likes and dislikes, and even customized a drink for my wife. The continental breakfast was very good, with a wide selection of items. We filled up before hitting the road again, enjoying a breakfast that would easily have cost us $20-$30 elsewhere. The only negatives were: no in-room safes (you have to use a lock box at the check-in desk), our room was a frigid 60 degrees when we walked in (which we quickly corrected using the thermostat), valet parking is $12.95 per day (although street parking is free on the weekends and we readily found a parking spot a couple blocks away), and we were automatically charged for parking on our bill but the front desk quickly removed it when it was brought to their attention. All in all, we found this Hampton Inn to be one of the nicest in the chain that we've seen, with friendly service and nicely appointed rooms that really offer a good value for your travel dollar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearby Victory Cafe has a very nice dinner menu at good prices (the 2 of us ate for $47, including appetizer, 2 drinks, tax, and tip), but on a Sat. night either get there early (5:00-5:30) or else make reservations. We arrived shortly after 5:00 and we were the first ones there. Within 45 minutes the place was completely packed with people waiting for tables!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top