$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

3 stars
25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
46 reviews
Perfect Visit!

Was visiting town for a concert 3 blocks down street. The entire staff - from valet and front desk... See full review

  • TDC888
  • Nov 3, 2014
Wonderful 4th of July weekend

The hotel is very well located and easy to find for an out of town visitor. We were there for 4th... See full review

  • Reel
  • Jul 7, 2014
Downtown hotel with award-winning restaurant near the capitol building

Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown offers fresh, contemporary guest rooms and suites in neutral tones, with sharp accents such as black-and-white photographs of Albany sights. Two restaurants located inside the hotel - Yono's and dp An American Brasserie - feature traditional favorites and signature Indonesian dishes. Complimentary amenities at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown include a breakfast buffet, Internet access and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Free breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary Internet access
  • Award-winning Yono's restaurant features a state of the art wine loft
Rooms

Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown features 121 guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight Jacuzzi suites and one executive two-room suite. Rooms include two queen or one king-sized bed. Flat-screen TVs feature cable channels including HBO. Complimentary Internet access is available in all rooms.

Features

In the lobby, guests meet or relax in a refined, stately atmosphere, with a mahogany-paneled fireplace and intimate conversation areas. A complimentary fitness center features cardiovascular and weight equipment. The private relaxation club features a massage chair, sauna, steam room and tanning bed (fees apply). Self parking is available (fees apply). Contact the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown for the hotel's pet policy.

Dining

Yono's restaurant has earned the Wine Spectator Best of Award for Excellence for its list of 700 wines from 15 countries. The restaurant has also been featured on the Today show and the Food Network. A family-owned establishment, Yono's offers a diverse menu featuring Indonesian cuisine with French presentations and classical continental cuisine. dp An American Brasserie features imaginative cuisine and traditional favorites, including a selection of Chef Yono's signature items. Drink specials and live jazz are featured on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

 

Also at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown, guests take advantage of a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, on-the-go breakfast bags and a 24-hour convenience store.

Transportation
  • I-787 (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-90 (1 mi/2.1 km)
  • I-87 (2 mi/3.5 km) 
  • Albany International Airport (7 mi/11.4 km)
Attractions
  • New York State Capitol (0.3 mi/0.4 km) 
  • Times Union Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)   
  • Empire State Plaza (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • New York State Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University at Albany – SUNY (4 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 2,300 square feet of function space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Times Union Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gordon Road Warrior
Business
Bel Air MD
Feb 6, 2014

Great Hotel Great location

This hotel is well run and has excellent staff. It is clean and well suited for business travelers. A great breakfast with both cold and hot items fresh and good quality. unfortunately on this trip due to the pending weather I had to check out the 2nd day of a two night stay to travel home so did not stay the second night which cost me $189.00 since I was pre-paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restaurants with in a four block radius.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Promethius
Business
Drexel Hill, Pa
Dec 4, 2013

Convenient Hotel

For a good hotel deal located in downtown Albany, I would highly recommend this hotel. Registering is a breeze. The room was very neat and clean with the standard amenities. And the free buffet breakfast is not to be missed--they had most every selection available and warm where appropriate. Parking, although a separate fee (mine was gratis) is located in the rear of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss Tess' McGeary's for food and booze. Always a good time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Promethius
Business
Drexel Hill, Pa
Nov 13, 2013

Great Value Hotel

I witnessed the building of Hampton Inn and Suites when I lived in Albany and never had an opportunity to stay there. When I did recently, I quite enjoyed my stay there. The staff were very friendly, cooperative, informative and professional. The room for two was large and clean--and everything worked. I found the location excellent for my needs. Parking is adjacent to the hotel and I was given the first night gratis. And the breakfast that was provided by the hotel was above average. I would highly recommend rooming at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Historical sites; great restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scarlet Joe
Business
Setauket,NY
Oct 13, 2013

Excellent overnight stay

Exellent staff, clean comfortable room Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Checkad
Business
Pleasanton. California
Sep 9, 2013

NY Visit

Nice place to stay. Comfortable room, nice staff and very easy access to high-ways while staying walking distance to attractions of down-town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Furbeli
Business
Quebec, Canada
Aug 22, 2013

The perfect place for what we needed!

We were on our way from Canada to Wildwood NJ so it was a good place to stop halfway. We chose this location because it had a breakfast buffet. That way we wouldn't have to drive around town to find a place to eat in the morning before driving to our destination. The staff was great and the room was great and very clean. The only downside is we had to pay for the parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great little bar/restaurant called The Merry Monk just around the corner of the hotel. They serve an amazing choice of Belgian beer and incredible mussel dishes. They even prepared something for our children and we did not even have to take the car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manim
Business
Cincinnati, OH
May 31, 2013

Great stay!

I got a great deal more than I expected when I stayed here. As a single female traveler, they put me on a women's only floor, which had some great amenities, including fresh fruit, extra socks, and a nice selection of extra toiletries. It was a really large room too, very comfortable. Dp Brasserie, which is right next door, was also an excellent place to have dinner -- mid priced, but the food was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spikejim
Business
space
Jun 18, 2012

Great!

Went to a moe. show, stayed here and place was great and close to the gig and the after hours shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Place if you are going to the Palace!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xjche86
Business
Green Brook, NJ
Mar 6, 2012

perfect for concert at palace theater

Great location. Two blocks from Palace Theater.. went to see a concert. Great room. comfortable bed. friends slept on pullout couch said it wasn't bad either. The hotel was sold out and the guy doing checkin was rushed .. didn't ask me if I wanted parking or a wake up call and he asked the lady in front of me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Palace Theater was beautiful. moe was awesome to see in concert

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Veronica P.
Business
Trumansburg, NY 14886, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Another Excellent Stay at a Hampton!

This is a lovely hotel and it was very clean and beautifully decorated. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Plus, we were going to a show at the Palace Theater and it was within walking distance and there were many restaurants and bars nearby. We love staying at Hampton Inns specifically for the room and bed comfort and cleanliness - and this location did not disappoint!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many bars, restaurants and small clubs all within walking distance, and it seemed like a relatively safe neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top