$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY

3 stars
1383 Washington Avenue, 1383 Washington Ave., Albany, NY 12206
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
52 reviews
Very Nice

Stayed here one night coming back from a spring break trip and it was perfect. For about the same... See full review

  • kkone
  • Mar 23, 2014
Pleasant experience

Location was handy ,rooms are clean &staff was friendly See full review

  • Jean Hansen
  • Apr 11, 2013
Free breakfast and free Wi-Fi adjacent to SUNY Albany
Located near the University at Albany – SUNY campus, this two-star hotel offers complimentary breakfast, including Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches. Wireless Internet access is free in all guest rooms at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY. Guest rooms also feature flat-panel TVs with cable channels. Dining and shopping are available at the nearby Colonie Center mall and Crossgates Mall. A fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool are available, and on-site parking is complimentary.

 

Highlights
  • Across the street from the University at Albany – SUNY
  • Convenient access to I-90 and I-87
  • Complimentary breakfast is served weekdays from 6am to 9am and weekends from 7am to 10am

 

Rooms

Guest rooms include one king or two queen-sized beds, as well as crisp duvets, work desks and coffee makers. Hair dryers, irons and ironing boards are also provided. Flat-panel TVs are connected to cable channels, including HBO. Data ports and voicemail help guests keep in touch. For larger groups, some rooms have a separate sleeping and living space with sofa beds, table with seating for three, a microwave and refrigerator. Free high-speed Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY.

Features

Located across the street from the hotel, the University at Albany – SUNY features diverse attractions, including the Performing Arts Center and University Art Museum. The university's College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering collaborates with hundreds of global corporations on cutting-edge nanotechnology research and development.

 

At the Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY, complimentary breakfast items include breads, fruit and waffle making station. A 24-hour fitness center includes cardiovascular equipment with personal LCD viewing screens.

Transportation
  • Adjacent to I-90
  • I-87 (1 mi/2.1 km) 
  • Albany International Airport (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Greyhound bus station (4 mi/6.9 km) 
  • Albany-Rensselaer Amtrak station (5 mi/8 km) 
Attractions
  • University at Albany – SUNY (Across the street)
  • Colonie Center mall (2 mi/2.6 km)
  • Crossgates Mall (2 mi/3.1 km) 
  • Empire State Plaza (4 mi/6.1 km)
  • New York State Museum (4 mi/6.2 km) 
  • New York State Capitol (4 mi/6.2 km)
  • Times Union Center (4 mi/6.5 km)   
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (8 mi/12.6 km)

Business
  • Lobby Internet kiosk
  • Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.6875 -73.815
Nearby airports
Albany International Airport, (ALB), 7.00, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Times Union Center: 4.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HB Steve
Huntington Beach, CA
May 27, 2014

Lemons Turned Into Lemonade

Between a huge AAU basketball tournament going on across the street at University of Albany, graduation weekend for many local colleges and Memorial Day weekend, the hotel was slammed. Being there alone (my son was graduating college at RPI,12 miles away) I was unlucky enough to get perhaps the worst room in hotel. Not only was it near heavily used stairway, but it was right next to a makeshift fitness room. I was awaken two mornings in a row at 6:00 AM (fitness room open 24 hours) with the whoosh... whoosh... whoosh of the treadmill along with people talking loud on their Blue Tooth headsets while exercising, etc. Paper thin walls, it sounded llike they were exercising in my room. When I complained after the first night I was told my room was rarely used, only when hotel is booked solid. This should be explained when booking the room. One front desk employee told me guests have complained at 3:00 AM about that particular room, so it definetely has a history. All the front desk staff I vented to were very nice and Mary, the hotel manager, was particularly helpful and made things right. Since all the rooms were booked, she credited my Marriott Rewards account 6,000 points (3,000 per night) and for my third night (when hotel thinned out) upgraded me to a suite (a Fairfield suite, but a suite none-the-less). What could have very well been a disaterous hotel stay was made tolerable by the compassion of manager and staff. That's what customer service is all about!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit nearby Saratoga Springs. Historic horserace town in the summer, but the village is still a fun place to visit during non-racing season season. Approximate 30 minute drive from hotel.

Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kkone
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 23, 2014

Very Nice

Stayed here one night coming back from a spring break trip and it was perfect. For about the same price this hotel was much nicer location wise and in cleanliness than where we stayed going up to our spring break destination. Very nice rooms and extremely nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jean Hansen
Walton ny
Apr 11, 2013

Pleasant experience

Location was handy ,rooms are clean &staff was friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
asmot
Business
poughkeepsie, ny
Feb 20, 2013

Excellent value

I have used this hotel in Albany quite a few times and find it to be excellent value. It has an indoor swimming pool which I often use in the evening. Sadly, the hot pool was out of service on tghis recent visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
visitor from Jersey
Hope, NJ
Dec 28, 2012

Great place to stay

We spent 3 nights here while visiting family nearby for the Christmas holiday. The room was spotless and very comfortable, and I really appreciated the complimentary wireless internet access. (Lots of hotels charge for that now, which is ridiculous.) Best of all, though, were the people who work there. After a snowstorm one night, the general manager went to the parking lot in the morning and brushed off everyone's car! Another employee (Jim) used a snow blower around my car to help me get out of my parking space, and refused to accept a tip. The woman who ran the breakfast service was sweet as can be and went out of her way to make sure everyone had what they needed (including directions). Wish I'd gotten her name. They were all wonderful, and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
asmot
Business
poughkeepsie, ny
Jun 7, 2012

Excellent Value

Great value on Washington Avenue, Albany opposite SUNY campus. Has a great indoor heated pool and hot tub. Breakfast provided with omelletes, cereals, muffins, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are a couple of restaurants and a food court in Crossgates Mall which is a short drive further to the west off Washington Avenue Extension.

Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KathyHogan
Long Island NY
Apr 15, 2012

Perfect for our needs

I took my daughter to check out Univ of Albany so the location of the hotel was perfect. The staff was really friendly and very helpful about how to get around the area and recommendations. The room was really clean and comfortable. The beds were really comfortable as well. Wifi was easy to connect to and the continental breakfast in the morning was pretty good. Since my daughter chose UAlbany I'll definitely be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bigdogmom
buffalo ny
Jul 5, 2011

just what we needed

all we needed was a clean quiet place to spend the night,and this fit the bill. It was very easy on and off the thruway,the front desk staff was helpful and friendly,the breakfast was adequate, and the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bigdogmom
buffalo ny
Jul 5, 2011

just what we needed

all we needed was a clean quiet place to spend the night,and this fit the bill. It was very easy on and off the thruway,the front desk staff was helpful and friendly,the breakfast was adequate, and the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenbelt, MD
Aug 4, 2010

Nice place, good location

Great location new SUNY Albany and downtown Albany. Also near the Mall. Nestled in the long row of hotels in this part of town. Great indoor pool and spa. Checkin was quick and easy, quiet room, no complaints. Very soft bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top