$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Days Inn Albany SUNY

2 stars
View map of 1230 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
60 reviews
Nice

The hotel was clean and neat. It met my needs which was mainly business purposes. See full review

  • ternazf
  • Jun 21, 2015
Good hotel for the price

Fir the price, this was a nice hotel stay. The location was perfect for me and the service was... See full review

  • Michael B.
  • Mar 10, 2015
With tidy, impeccably clean rooms and common areas, the Days Inn Albany SUNY appeals to both business travelers and families visiting the University at Albany – SUNY. Several office complexes are also within walking distance. A continental breakfast is complimentary. Additional dining and shopping are available around campus and at nearby Crossgates Mall and Colonie Center. Free Internet access and free on-site parking are available at the Days Inn Albany SUNY. 

 

Rooms

Clean, bright rooms at the Days Inn Albany SUNY include one queen, two queen or two double beds. Sitting areas, coffee makers and bath amenities are also provided. Cable channels include HBO. Additional conveniences include hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. High-speed Internet access and local phone calls are free. Adjoining rooms are available.  

Property features

Four miles from downtown Albany, the main UAlbany Uptown Campus is across the street from the Days Inn Albany SUNY. The university's Performing Arts Center and University Art Museum host a variety of special performances and exhibits.

 

At the Days Inn Albany SUNY, a fitness center includes an elliptical machine, exercise bike, treadmill and wall-mounted television. Numerous restaurants are within walking distance or minutes away by car. Free on-site parking includes space for oversized vehicles. Contact the hotel for the pet policy.

 

Highlights
  • Free breakfast
  • Located across the street from the University at Albany – SUNY
  • Free Internet access
  • Free on-site parking
Nearby attractions
  • University at Albany – SUNY (Across the street)
  • Crossgates Mall (1 mi/2.4 km) 
  • Colonie Center mall (2 mi/3.4 km)
  • New York State Museum (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Empire State Plaza (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • New York State Capitol (4 mi/6.6 km)
  • Times Union Center (4 mi/6.8 km)   
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (9 mi/14.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting space available
Transportation
  • I-87 (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • I-90 (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Greyhound bus station (4 mi/7.2 km)
  • Albany International Airport (5 mi/7.7 km)
  • Albany-Rensselaer Amtrak station (5 mi/8.3 km) 
Policies

Pets allowed, $20 USD per pet, per room, per night. For guests staying more than one night, pet fee will be waived at hotel's discretion. Maximum two pets per room, NQ1, NDD1, Q1, DD1 only

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Albany SUNY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Times Union Center: 4.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Albany SUNY

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 60
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NancyNYC
Business
CARMEL
Feb 20, 2015

Just right

Great for the price and location. Needed to be near SUNY Albany. It is right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Forward team
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 27, 2013

Decent for the money.

This hotel wasn't that bad considering the low price. The room was clean and the amenities within standard. The location is only beneficial if you have business with the University of Albany. Other than that the location wasn't prime if you are there to get to know the city. The only real complaint I have is that they were doing construction right outside my window and decided that 7 am was a great time to do that. I wish the hotel would have reconsidered their time of day for renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NYBarExamTaker
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 11, 2013

Cheap, does the job... that's about it...

Lacking. But for the tight wallet - you'll get through it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doug Merriott
Business
Saint Petersburg, Florida
Mar 11, 2013

Getting what you pay for is not so bad...

After a long day and a two hour delay a desk clerk with a bad attitude was the last thing I wanted. Was it my exhaustion or did he have an attitude? I don't know but if he was on my staff he would receive some major customer service training. This introduction to the Days Inn seemed like a bad omen. However I got upstairs and the room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom spotless with "natural" body care products. The continental breakfast even had fruit, not just a bunch of junky cereal and stale pastry. So in all, I needed a room to sleep in for a few hours before the next leg of my trip. Days Inn delivered with a good value. No, it was not a luxury resort but that is not what I purchased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BeccaD
Business
Hudson Valley, NY
Feb 11, 2012

A place to lay your head

Nothing to write home about but hey, I needed an inexpensive place to sleep while on a biz trip. It was safe and clean. My toilet ran all night so do a quick check before claiming the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Madison Cafe, 2 miles east, is a fantastic $$ place to have breakfast.

Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 7, 2011

No frills

While away on business, did not need anything more than a bed to sleep in. Room was fine. could have done without the hallway odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, NY
Mar 8, 2011

good value good location

This was convenient, clean, and pleasant. I booked the day I traveled and checked in at 10pm with no problem. The person behind the desk at night was personable and helpful. I was a little hesitant to use the in-room coffee maker because it was a little dusty, and there was no shelf space in the bathroom for my toiletries, but other than that the room was fine. The road the motel is located on goes directly downtown -- right to the building in which my meetings were being held, which was great. The internet connection was good, although only for 4 hours. After that it got a little sketchy, possibly because it said that it was free for only 4 hours?I wish there was a waffle maker and butter available for breakfast!Also, I needed a receipt[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DentDude
Business
Northern Va
Aug 19, 2009

Be Warned!!!!

Hotel was fine until I needed to extend my reservation by a day. Instead of them allowing me to stay an additional night the hotel decided to take it upon themselves to pack and remove all my personal items from the room I was staying in and essentially kick me out of the room. When I arrived back to the hotel that evening I found my stuff being handed to me and being told that the hotel was "all booked up" for the evening! I quickly got back online to find an alternative hotel to stay in only to find the the hotel that I was just kicked out of was available and was in fact the first one to pop up on the computer! Completely frustrating and complete lack of professionalism!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MPC
Business
the Jersey Shore
Aug 14, 2009

Clean, Comfortable, Convenient

Stayed here while working in the local area. Great location, within walking distance of the University, stores and resturants. Room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
syracuse, ny
Jul 30, 2009

great location; everything nearby

Pleasant experience from check in to check out. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Used exercise facilities as well. Appreciate that breakfast is included in stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

multiple restaurants a very short drive, less than 5 minutes away.

Back to menu Return to top