$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Days Inn Albany SUNY

2 stars
View map of 1230 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
75 reviews
Good hotel for the price

Fir the price, this was a nice hotel stay. The location was perfect for me and the service was... See full review

  • Michael B.
  • Mar 10, 2015
Just right

Great for the price and location. Needed to be near SUNY Albany. It is right across the street. See full review

  • NancyNYC
  • Feb 20, 2015
UAlbany-area hotel with smart, fresh accommodations and free breakfast
With tidy, impeccably clean rooms and common areas, the Days Inn Albany SUNY appeals to both business travelers and families visiting the University at Albany – SUNY. Several office complexes are also within walking distance. A continental breakfast is complimentary. Additional dining and shopping are available around campus and at nearby Crossgates Mall and Colonie Center. Free Internet access and free on-site parking are available at the Days Inn Albany SUNY. 

 

Highlights
  • Free breakfast
  • Located across the street from the University at Albany – SUNY
  • Free Internet access
  • Free on-site parking
Rooms

Clean, bright rooms at the Days Inn Albany SUNY include one queen, two queen or two double beds. Sitting areas, coffee makers and bath amenities are also provided. Cable channels include HBO. Additional conveniences include hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. High-speed Internet access and local phone calls are free. Adjoining rooms are available.  

Features

Four miles from downtown Albany, the main UAlbany Uptown Campus is across the street from the Days Inn Albany SUNY. The university's Performing Arts Center and University Art Museum host a variety of special performances and exhibits.

 

At the Days Inn Albany SUNY, a fitness center includes an elliptical machine, exercise bike, treadmill and wall-mounted television. Numerous restaurants are within walking distance or minutes away by car. Free on-site parking includes space for oversized vehicles. Contact the hotel for the pet policy.

 

Transportation
  • I-87 (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • I-90 (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Greyhound bus station (4 mi/7.2 km)
  • Albany International Airport (5 mi/7.7 km)
  • Albany-Rensselaer Amtrak station (5 mi/8.3 km) 
Attractions
  • University at Albany – SUNY (Across the street)
  • Crossgates Mall (1 mi/2.4 km) 
  • Colonie Center mall (2 mi/3.4 km)
  • New York State Museum (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Empire State Plaza (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • New York State Capitol (4 mi/6.6 km)
  • Times Union Center (4 mi/6.8 km)   
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (9 mi/14.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting space available
Policies and fees

Pets allowed, $20 USD per pet, per room, per night. For guests staying more than one night, pet fee will be waived at hotel's discretion. Maximum two pets per room, NQ1, NDD1, Q1, DD1 only

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Albany SUNY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Times Union Center: 4.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Albany SUNY

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BeccaD
Business
Hudson Valley, NY
Feb 11, 2012

A place to lay your head

Nothing to write home about but hey, I needed an inexpensive place to sleep while on a biz trip. It was safe and clean. My toilet ran all night so do a quick check before claiming the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Madison Cafe, 2 miles east, is a fantastic $$ place to have breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NYBarExamTaker
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 11, 2013

Cheap, does the job... that's about it...

Lacking. But for the tight wallet - you'll get through it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DentDude
Business
Northern Va
Aug 19, 2009

Be Warned!!!!

Hotel was fine until I needed to extend my reservation by a day. Instead of them allowing me to stay an additional night the hotel decided to take it upon themselves to pack and remove all my personal items from the room I was staying in and essentially kick me out of the room. When I arrived back to the hotel that evening I found my stuff being handed to me and being told that the hotel was "all booked up" for the evening! I quickly got back online to find an alternative hotel to stay in only to find the the hotel that I was just kicked out of was available and was in fact the first one to pop up on the computer! Completely frustrating and complete lack of professionalism!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Insert Name Here
Business
Albany NY
Jul 11, 2011

Paid too much for a sub par hotel

Despite the fact that the hotel lacked many amenities, and the one's they did have smelled sweaty and the room was moist, the few amenities that remained were incredibly unimpressive accept for the big screen TV. It was as if they were trying to apologize for such terrible accommodations by bribing us with a big screen TV. This complaint comes by way of price to value. I ended up paying close to 80$ for the night when it was clearly a 60$ room At Best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Monroemom
Business
New York
Feb 18, 2014

What in the world?

We were on a college visit with our daughter and being right across the street from SUNY Albany was definitely convenient. However when our daughter pulled down the comforter to her bed there was some sort of a homemade S&M device made under the covers leading us to believe the linens had not been changed between guests. We requested new sheets and blankets be brought up and when they were we were expected to change them. If we did not have to wake up early I would have definitely looked for another place to spend the night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not bother going to Dibello's down the road for sandwiches. All of the meat on our sandwiches tasted the same! No differentiation between meats

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 4, 2011

Not the Best

I didn't really like the room. There was no refridgerator or microwave in the room. It could've been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 14, 2008

Not worth the money

Wifi only worked in the back of the dining room. Breakfast was all carbs. Checkout day i checked out early, then came back to pick up something- staff would not allow me to use their phone for a local call....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 6, 2007

Friendly Staff but

The staff was friendly. The hallways were horrible. There was mold growing in a drawer of a night stand and the lid to the ice container had mold growing in it. I had to wash out the bucket myself before using it. Not a place that I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iluvj
Business
New York
May 8, 2014

Just Okay

It is in a convenient location but that is about it. The halls are small and low ceilings so it does not have a welcoming feel to it. The breakfast was not very tasty. The toilet in our room was broken so we had work with it to get the water to stop after each use. But, I'd probably stay again just for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Jul 23, 2009

Pleasant experience

Check in took less than a minute. Friendly and courteous. The newly renovated room was clean and efficient. Free cable and nicely stocked (fresh fruit) were a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top