$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Days Inn Albany SUNY

2 stars
View map of 1230 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Albany SUNY

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Jun 11, 2010

Good Price

Not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Acton, MA
Jun 3, 2010

good, for its class

Don't expect concierge service and mints on your pillow, but decent sized room and bathroom were clean and well maintained. Room freshener odor was a bit strong, but windows can be opened for ventilation so not a big deal. Continental breakfast was a cut above, with fresh juice and pastries. Very convenient to SUNY-Albany.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ogdensburg ny
Mar 8, 2010

nice place

Nice place , clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

very close and convenient to the college.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 18, 2010

A decent place to stay

We were in Albany for an event at St Rose College, so this location was very convenient for that. The room was quite large, but there was no shelf in the bathroom whatsoever for shaving kit, make-up bag, etc. (pet peeve for the woman). The breakfast was so-so, but could have had a toaster for frozen waffles or just plain toast. Most importantly, the room and the hotel in general were clean and we slept well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
suny albany mom and dad
Business
garrison, New York
Oct 28, 2009

very convenient to suny albany

The room was clean. The location was great, right across from UAlbany entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Volpster
Business
Hopewell Junction, NY
Oct 13, 2009

Pretty OK.

Made the drive up to Albany for the SUNY Albany Alumni weekend. Needed a inexpensive place to stay that was uptown and close to campus. Perfect match for a 1 night stay. Walking distance to SUNY Albany campus, and walking distance to restaurants and coffee shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Uncommon Grounds

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shlepin' College Mom
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 29, 2009

Hard

The location of this hotel is very convienient for anyone who has a college student attending SUNY Albany. However, my daughter and I feel that the Non-smoking section should be in a separate WING from the Smoking section. The Non-smoking room that we stayed in wreaked of cigarette smoke; most likely from the room above, as stated by the desk clerk that I had complained to upon checkout. A serious concern was the fire alarm that went off at 12:45AM due to smoke in the laundry room. No-one in my section knew whether or not to evacuate the building, and getting through the front desk to ask was time consuming. Safety and communication should be first and foremost; especially at this hour when most people are asleep. The Free continental breakfast was not as nice as several others nearby that offer hot meals-such as eggs, waffles,bacon,sausage...more than likely due to the fact that they don't have a restaurant within the facility. The only "hot" item served here are the beverages. unless you heat your items in the microwave or toaster that is provided. Cereal and Grocery store brand types of cold bagels,english muffins,and danish is offered here. There was only one used newspaper to read with breakfast and most of the sections of it were missing. As for the Fitness Center; it is not a Center but a Room with only 3 pieces of equipment. It was always empty when I went in. I guess because it was in a remote spot which I doubt people knew about unless they asked. The outside of the hotel could use some "sprucing up". There are hemlocks on one side that looked rather unkept with many weeds inbetween. The front office area is too plain and not very attractive or inviting from the outside. This hotel has the potential to be a very nice one-it just needs some special attention to the details. I would recommend this to people who are looking for a rather inexpensive stay with convienience of location and Shopping a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is not only situated across the street from the SUNY Albany campus; but it is very convienient to many shops; malls; restaurants; gas stations; food stores and just about anything else you are looking for. It is also just a short distance away from Interstate 87 and several other main roads.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hauppauge, New York
Aug 28, 2009

Days Inn Albany SUNY

Stayed here while taking our freshman to SUNY albany. Location is perfect and price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Peaches Cafe offers delicious food at a great price. Approximately 1 mile from SUNY Albany

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence,RI
Aug 21, 2009

Great location for Giants training camp

Went to the Giants training camp. Right across the street. Nice mall 1/2 mkile from hotel. Downtown about 3 miles from hotel. Only stayed 1 night, hotel was ok for price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maggies Sports Bar excellent Sutters House not good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DentDude
Business
Northern Va
Aug 19, 2009

Be Warned!!!!

Hotel was fine until I needed to extend my reservation by a day. Instead of them allowing me to stay an additional night the hotel decided to take it upon themselves to pack and remove all my personal items from the room I was staying in and essentially kick me out of the room. When I arrived back to the hotel that evening I found my stuff being handed to me and being told that the hotel was "all booked up" for the evening! I quickly got back online to find an alternative hotel to stay in only to find the the hotel that I was just kicked out of was available and was in fact the first one to pop up on the computer! Completely frustrating and complete lack of professionalism!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top