$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

Days Inn Albany SUNY

2 stars
1230 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
64 reviews
Days Inn SUNY

Nice, large well ventilated hotel room. Would definitely stay here again. See full review

  • mb123456
  • Oct 5, 2014
Family visit

I enjoyed my stay. Wanted something simple with out frills. Got nice clean room and good breakfast. See full review

  • Knowhub
  • Jul 14, 2014
UAlbany-area hotel with smart, fresh accommodations and free breakfast
With tidy, impeccably clean rooms and common areas, the Days Inn Albany SUNY appeals to both business travelers and families visiting the University at Albany – SUNY. Several office complexes are also within walking distance. A continental breakfast is complimentary. Additional dining and shopping are available around campus and at nearby Crossgates Mall and Colonie Center. Free Internet access and free on-site parking are available at the Days Inn Albany SUNY. 

 

Highlights
  • Free breakfast
  • Located across the street from the University at Albany – SUNY
  • Free Internet access
  • Free on-site parking
Rooms

Clean, bright rooms at the Days Inn Albany SUNY include one queen, two queen or two double beds. Sitting areas, coffee makers and bath amenities are also provided. Cable channels include HBO. Additional conveniences include hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. High-speed Internet access and local phone calls are free. Adjoining rooms are available.  

Features

Four miles from downtown Albany, the main UAlbany Uptown Campus is across the street from the Days Inn Albany SUNY. The university's Performing Arts Center and University Art Museum host a variety of special performances and exhibits.

 

At the Days Inn Albany SUNY, a fitness center includes an elliptical machine, exercise bike, treadmill and wall-mounted television. Numerous restaurants are within walking distance or minutes away by car. Free on-site parking includes space for oversized vehicles. Contact the hotel for the pet policy.

 

Transportation
  • I-87 (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • I-90 (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Greyhound bus station (4 mi/7.2 km)
  • Albany International Airport (5 mi/7.7 km)
  • Albany-Rensselaer Amtrak station (5 mi/8.3 km) 
Attractions
  • University at Albany – SUNY (Across the street)
  • Crossgates Mall (1 mi/2.4 km) 
  • Colonie Center mall (2 mi/3.4 km)
  • New York State Museum (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Empire State Plaza (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • New York State Capitol (4 mi/6.6 km)
  • Times Union Center (4 mi/6.8 km)   
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (9 mi/14.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting space available
Policies and fees

Pets allowed, $20 USD per pet, per room, per night. For guests staying more than one night, pet fee will be waived at hotel's discretion. Maximum two pets per room, NQ1, NDD1, Q1, DD1 only

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Albany SUNY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Times Union Center: 4.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Albany SUNY

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississippi
Aug 8, 2011

Nice place.

This was a clean and comfortable no-frills hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 7, 2011

No frills

While away on business, did not need anything more than a bed to sleep in. Room was fine. could have done without the hallway odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 19, 2011

Decent

We stayed at this hotel in mid-July. The first thing that I noticed was the interesting smell in the lobby. I was not a fan, but it also didn't run me back out the door. We needed to extend our stay for one more night and you would have thought we asked them to fly in some fresh, rare caviar the way it seemed so difficult for the staff. The room was average but the bed was very comfortable. I was surprised! There was a continental breakfast in the morning. A guy came in with his dog in tow, so it appears to be pet friendly. For the cost of the room, I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Melting Pot at Crossgates mall was spectacular (as to be expected)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Insert Name Here
Business
Albany NY
Jul 11, 2011

Paid too much for a sub par hotel

Despite the fact that the hotel lacked many amenities, and the one's they did have smelled sweaty and the room was moist, the few amenities that remained were incredibly unimpressive accept for the big screen TV. It was as if they were trying to apologize for such terrible accommodations by bribing us with a big screen TV. This complaint comes by way of price to value. I ended up paying close to 80$ for the night when it was clearly a 60$ room At Best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new York
Jul 10, 2011

Nice small hotel

We came to uAlbany orientation The hotel was clean spacious room,2 full beds,nice updated bathroom,air conditioned . We missed wi fi however it was available at the dining area. So over all we liked it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Near uAlbany

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 4, 2011

Not the Best

I didn't really like the room. There was no refridgerator or microwave in the room. It could've been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 4, 2011

Basic and Friendly!

We traveled to Albany for my college reunion and knew we wouldn't be in the hotel for very long. The Days Inn is very basic- no frills, but there are some nice perks: friendly staff, free toiletries at the front desk if you forget something, free continental breakfast, free internet (not wireless), cable, as well as a small fridge and coffee maker in the room. Again, you won't get a great view, or luxury. But the hotel is clean and convenient! Ask for a room on the second floor for more privacy. Also, there are restaurants, convenience stores, and even a pub within a block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pubs, coffee, convenience stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ronpatti
Business
Esat Amherst, NY
Apr 26, 2011

Days Inn Albany

Checked in late at 10 pm. Front desk clerk pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
apartment hunting trip traveller
Business
AZ
Apr 25, 2011

Clean, friendly staff

This hotel is clean, in a safe and strategic location, just right for my budget. Breakfast is okay, too bad there was no WiFi in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, NY
Mar 8, 2011

good value good location

This was convenient, clean, and pleasant. I booked the day I traveled and checked in at 10pm with no problem. The person behind the desk at night was personable and helpful. I was a little hesitant to use the in-room coffee maker because it was a little dusty, and there was no shelf space in the bathroom for my toiletries, but other than that the room was fine. The road the motel is located on goes directly downtown -- right to the building in which my meetings were being held, which was great. The internet connection was good, although only for 4 hours. After that it got a little sketchy, possibly because it said that it was free for only 4 hours?I wish there was a waffle maker and butter available for breakfast!Also, I needed a receipt[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top