$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

3 stars
View map of 1228 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203-3326

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
80 reviews
Perfect road trip stop

Great location, clean & comfortable hotel at a good fare if you are traveling west or east through... See full review

  • Andy P.
  • Aug 9, 2015
Always A great Stay

I've stayed at this hotel on more than one occasion, and for good reason! The staff is always very... See full review

  • MAC81290
  • Jul 15, 2015
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel Albany! When staying at our Albany hotel, a trip to the Crossgates Mall is a must, whether youre here for an event at SUNY Albany (Albany University) or just getting away from the city. A great academic community, the College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering (CNSE) and the College of St. Rose are also in the neighborhood. We cater to all guests, whether youre a healthcare professional at Albany Medical Center or simply touring a nearby college campus, our friendly staff members will make you feel at home. Catch a game at the Times Union Center or take a stroll around Washington Park. The Palace Theatre always features exciting shows and dont forget to attend a SUNY athletic event. They bring athletes and fans to the area from around the country. Take in a Guilderland Soccer Tournament or visit the Saratoga Racecourse for an adrenaline rush. Even if youre here to take the NYS Bar Exam, its important to treat yourself after those months of studying. How about a trip to the Altamont Fairgrounds to see whats happening? All year-round there are special events taking place. Employees of General Electric (GE®) and Global Foundries® are a couple of our regular guests, and we prioritize business travelers who want to feel at home. Close to the Amtrak Rensselaer Station and Albany International Airport, traveling is easy at our Albany hotel. Nearby, the NYS Museum and Empire State Plaza are must-sees for vacationers. Tour the capitol buildings and try out some of the local fare. Afterwards, you can rest easy in your spacious room with luxurious bedding. Its the little touches that make any trip special, and we combine the best in service with the best amenities. Book a room at the BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel Albany now!

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany also booked these hotels.

★★★
$101
4.0 / 5 77 reviews
★★
$101
3.6 / 5 9 reviews
★★★
$109
3.8 / 5 32 reviews
★★
$59
3.2 / 5 60 reviews
★★★
$99
4.4 / 5 27 reviews
★★★
$119
4.3 / 5 12 reviews

BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,PET FRIENDLY RM,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,PET FRIENDLY RM,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,NSMK,JR SUITE,TABLE AND CHAIRS,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,JR SUITE,TABLE AND CHAIRS,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,HI SPED NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,HI SPED NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPED NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,NSMK,HANDICAP,HISPD,MICRFRG,COFMKR,IRON,FULL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,HANDICAP,HISPD,MICRFRG,COFMKR,IRON,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PET FRIENDLY RM,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Steam bath
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Times Union Center: 4.3 mi

Dining

Ninety Nine
1.00 mile(s) from Ninety Nine, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, 11:30 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Tango Restaurant
Tango Restaurant, on premises, Bar/Lounge, International, Open for: lunch, dinner, Uruguayan Cuisine; Open Monday - Thursday 11:00 AM to 11:00 PM, Friday 11:00 AM to 12:00 AM, Saturday 1:00 PM to 12:00 AM, and Sunday 1:00 PM to 9:00 PM.
Maggie's Cafe
0.50 mile(s) from Maggie's Cafe, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner, 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
McDonald's®
2.00 mile(s) from McDonald's®, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 6:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
DP's
4.00 mile(s) from DP's, Brasserie, Continental, Open for: lunch, dinner
Red Lobster
4.00 mile(s) from Red Lobster, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner
Burger King®
1.00 mile(s) from Burger King®, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 6:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Across The Street Pub
0.50 mile(s) from Across The Street Pub, Pub, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Burger, Sandwiches and Wings.
Macaroni Grill
4.00 mile(s) from Macaroni Grill, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Delmonico
4.00 mile(s) from Delmonico, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner, Italian Steak House Restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madeline T.
Business
Bronx
Aug 11, 2015

Class Trip

Attended a weekend class at St Rose. Room was clean bed was comfortable. Staff members were cordial. Breakfast was free so that was a nice bonus. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andy P.
Family
West Roxbury
Aug 9, 2015

Perfect road trip stop

Great location, clean & comfortable hotel at a good fare if you are traveling west or east through upstate NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maureen B.
Couples
La Fargeville
Jul 22, 2015

the breakfast was more than sufficient and added value to the cost.

We were in town to visit with my husband's brother (in a nearby nursing home) and to attend a family picnic. The hotel was located fairly close to both events. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was more than ample for our needs. My biggest 'issue' was the fact that the door to the stairs was nearly impossible to open from either side (2nd floor)...this could be a disaster waiting to happen should a fire occur...neither children nor older and feeble adults could easily open that door.. The variety and selection of breakfast items was great...enough variety for anyone...unfortunately, when we went for breakfast, several items were gone and not replenished, e.g. the oatmeal, the whipped cream for the waffles, the scrambled eggs....it did not really matter much because we certainly had more than enough other items to choose from...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thomas S.
Family
North Babylon
Jul 16, 2015

Clean and Comfy

Comfortable and clean room. Good breakfast. Only disappointment was pool was under renovations. Did offer pool from closet sister location for use if we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MAC81290
Couples
STATEN ISLAND
Jul 15, 2015

Always A great Stay

I've stayed at this hotel on more than one occasion, and for good reason! The staff is always very prompt and accommodating. The rooms are always clean. And the breakfast is better than any hotel breakfast I've ever had. They have a great selection. The location is great. There are restaurants, convenience stores, malls, movie theaters, and coffee shops very close by. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Benjamin C.
Business
Wayne
Jul 15, 2015

Albany Trip

A good experience. Good restaurant, pleasant staff, good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Risa F.
Family
Farmingdale
Jul 12, 2015

Would definitely reccomend

Had a very pleasant stay and already booked this hotel for 2 additional returning trips .Staff was EXCELLENT, friendly and very accommodating. ( requested a room change bc we did not want to be by the door ) and they changed the room immediately.The room was a nice size, beds were comfortable, and aside from some trim coming off around the windows, the room was super clean ( and I am OCD when it comes to this ) loved having a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. The complementary breakfast has a nice selection of food is very nice added touch and there is also a DD in walking distance next door. The location is great too, good amount of local restaurants and shopping within 15 minutes of driving ( We were visiting my sons college ) it is 5 minutes from both Saint Rose and Albany U. The pool was heated and clean. ( Steam room was not working though ) There was construction going on in a room off the lobby but did not effect our stay at all. Price for our stay was just in the range we were expecting and we were more then completely satisfied. Hoping our next few stays are just as good as an experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mina
Family
Centreville
Jul 3, 2015

Ruined family trip

Horrible hotel, not clean, pool is closed without notice, air conditioning is just making noise no effect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John X.
Friends
atlanta
Jun 9, 2015

Excellent experience

Nice and clean hotel, well worth the value. Hotel staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patrick H.
Family
N/A
Jun 4, 2015

Lots of renovations, very dirty

We did not realize that there were renovations going on, so this took us by complete surprise when we arrived. I checked the website after I got there to make sure I didn't miss anything about renovations, but it really just didn't say anything. The staff did the best they could, and our room was at least clean but the rest of the hotel was pretty nasty with the renovations going on and none of the amenities were available for use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top