Horizon Casino Resort

3 stars
50 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
344 reviews
nice hotel to stay in

2 nights stay, nice staff, clean room, quite, Internet, See full review

  • Sam.S
  • Dec 29, 2013
Great view of the lake

Staff very friendly and helpful. Spacious rooms. We attended a wedding, the weather was prefect See full review

  • Lemon Drop
  • Aug 20, 2013
Elvis's old stomping ground caters to gamblers, skiers, hikers alike
Surrounded by the picturesque Sierra Nevada mountains and with many rooms offering stunning views of Lake Tahoe, Horizon Casino Resort is a vacationer's dream. It's located near world-class skiing, hiking and golf, and it offers on-site gambling. The 24-hour 42,000-square-foot casino features all of the newest slots, plus some old favorites. Elvis Presley was a regular guest of this hotel in the 1970s, and the themed suite named for him is available for both private stays and meetings and parties.


Highlights
  • Walking distance to world-class skiing
  • 24-hour gaming
  • On site 8-plex movie theater
  • Heated outdoor pool (seasonal)


Rooms

Many of the 539 rooms and suites have panoramic lake or mountain views and balconies. All have color television, on-demand movies (fees apply) and a private bathroom. Internet access is available in all rooms (fees apply). A unit that includes a pool table, oversize Jacuzzi tub, steam room, and a round bed is also available.

Features

The hotel, steps away from Lake Tahoe's South Shore, offers on-site gaming and is also convenient to skiing, golf, hiking, boating and fishing. Guests can enjoy a cocktail, or order breakfast, lunch or dinner at two on-site restaurants, but there are dozens more within walking distance. An 8-theater movie complex shows the newest releases, and there is a fitness center available for guest use.

Self-parking is available.

Transportation
  • Reno-Tahoe International Airport (60 mi/96.6 km)
  • South Tahoe Express shuttles guests from the airport to the hotel (reservations recommended; fees apply)
Attractions
  • Skiing (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Snowshoeing (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Golf (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Boating (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Fishing (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Snowmobiling (4 mi/6.4 km)
Business
  • Self-service business center
  • 12-foot ceilings without pillars or posts
  • Outdoor poolside function area (seasonal)
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Audio/Visual equipment and tech support

Horizon Casino Resort Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room with two double beds or one king bed. Located in Alpine or Aspen tower with view of Lake Tahoe, the Sierra Nevada Mountains, or the resort pool. Features: cable TV, on-command movies, voice mail, dial-up Internet access (fee).
Lake View Room
Lake View Room with two double or one king bed, located in Alpine Tower, with view of beautiful Lake Tahoe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Horizon Casino Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9458 -119.9702
Area served
Reno/Tahoe (RNO)
Nearby airports
Reno/Tahoe - 54 miles
Area description
The Horizon Casino Resort is located in Stateline/South Lake Tahoe, the center of America's all year playground, where you can enjoy golf, skiing or the beach, each just minutes away.

Dining

Four Seasons
Four Seasons is open daily for breakfast, and lunch Friday - Sunday, and features a great menu with a variety of American entrees, regional and international items.
Town Square Buffet
The Town Square Buffet is Lake Tahoe's best value. Our culinary team has created three authentic cuisine sections in our buffet: Mexican, Chinese and International including our carving station. We feature the largest display of Specialty Salads, Gourmet Pastries and fabulous Desserts, including sugar free desserts for our health conscious guests. So bring your appetite, big or little, we have something for every member of your family! The Town Square Buffet is open for dinner on Friday and Saturday, with extended hours during holidays.
Starbucks
Enjoy a cup of coffee and a quick snack at Starbucks. Opens daily at 6:00 a.m.
Aspen Lounge
Top off your evening with a cocktail at one of our full-service bars located on the casino floor or relax in the Aspen Lounge which often features live entertainment on weekends.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting/Banquet Facilities available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (344)

Ratings and reviews for Horizon Casino Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
344 out of 344
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4
Value:
3

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Horizon Casino Resort

Reviewer score

1
kowgirl09
Rohnert Park, California
Feb 22, 2014

Not that great

We had to switch rooms three times because of the AC not working in any of the rooms and other things in the rooms not working. The arcade didn't have anyone there until 4pm to get a gamecard. We were wanting to play, but couldn't because we didn't said gamecard. The Starbucks in the hotel barely had any drinks and did not except gift cards. The buffet was closed, which was a huge disappointment. The casino was boring and a lot of the games didn't work. Four Seasons had good food though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Horizon Casino Resort

Reviewer score

1
Stephs826
California
Feb 18, 2013

Never Again...

I was completely disappointed after paying nearly $200 for my stay at Horizon. The hotel must have been made in the 70's without any renovations at all. Popcorn ceilings, silly string on walls, stained bedspreads, uncomfortable mattresses, 3 inches of dust and pistachio shells behind the nightstand, must I go on? I usually don't rate hotels, but I thought that I would warn people before they book here. Do NOT Recommend!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Horizon Casino Resort

Reviewer score

1
Paul M
Chicago, IL
Jan 31, 2010

Very Disappointed

I heard they are under new ownership now and compared to the previous year I stayed at the Horizon, numerous things changed for the worse. No table games anymore, fine dining restaurant is closed, buffet is only open 3 days a week for dinner only, 24 hour restaurant isn't open 24 hours, only 1 bar is open (but no one was ever there anyway), no room service. The hotel was a virtual ghost town and seemed very spooky...My non-smoking room was in terrible condition as well. The carpet was rippled up in numerous spots with several burn marks in the floor. The only thing good I can say about staying at the Horizon was the cost and the shower had great water pressure & plenty of hot water. The location is good with free buses that take you to 4 great ski resorts (Heavenly, Kirkwood, Sierra & Squaw Valley). Don't bother asking the staff about bus schedules as no one has a clue (you'll have to figure that out on your own). Guessing this hotel is on the verge of going out of business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Horizon Casino Resort

Reviewer score

1
narry
hayward, ca
Aug 20, 2013

very disappointing

Me n my fiance stayed at this hotel for three days, the rooms are not so great for the price you pay, beds are all dent in, very uncomfortable, neatness not so great. We only had housekeeping knock on our day, the next day only. So we had no new blankets of towels. The hotel phone was not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Nite lounge or club

Review of Horizon Casino Resort

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Shingle Springs , Ca
Nov 9, 2009

Not So Good!

Wasn't very good. We were by the elevator and it was really loud the room smelled like some kind of animal pee the room was small the T.V was having problems. Let's just say I will not be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Horizon Casino Resort

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Woodland, CA
Jul 19, 2011

Past it's prime.... Needs updated and up

I stayed at this hotel several years ago and liked it, but this past weekend was a different story. Staff was friendly enough during check, but I was very disappointed with the conditions of the property. Rooms were outdated, bed wasn't very comfortable, paint was peeling off walls inside and out. The area with the ice machine on the 15th floor was in bad shape. Pool closes early. Casino was nearly empty and the lack of real live table games is a major drawback for the Lake Tahoe area. Worst of all was when I attempted to take a shower at 6am on a Saturday and had no hot water. When I calledbthe desk they said they would send maintenance up. Then again at midnight same story plus no water pressure. I will stay in my trailer next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Harrah's or the Montbleu.

Review of Horizon Casino Resort

Reviewer score

1
NavyDad2012
Hollister, San Diego, California
Oct 1, 2013

horrible experience

Checked into a dirty room, upgraded to another room and was still dirty. Dealt with the excuses cause we couldn't get a refund. Loud all night long with parties in other rooms and security said they heard no noise. Lots of pot smoking and security also said they didn't smell anything either, I would never come back nor withiI recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Casinos

Review of Horizon Casino Resort

Reviewer score

1
He who must not be named
Denver
Aug 18, 2013

Great Location

When I got there they couldn't figure out how to check in someone who paid via a package website. The lobby was very nice but the room not so much. The doors were filthy, like some uncleaned elementary school door. Hairs all over the shower before I even used it. The windows were grimy and the floors in hard to reach areas looked like they'd never been swept. I killed a rather large bug on the wall but that was the only one that I saw in my two nights there. It was pretty quiet and parking was free tho they charged 12 bucks a day for internet access and if you wanted food at any sort of odd hour you were out of luck. For the money I'd stay across the street next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Horizon Casino Resort

Reviewer score

1
Harmoni
San Jose, CA
Jul 9, 2012

Not at all a 3 star property

South Lake Tahoe is gorgeous in July! But, I can not say the same for the Horizon Hotel. The hotel smells like fresh cigarette smoke on most floors and especially inside the room. My first impressions of the hotel room were dissatisfying as the bathroom floor and toilet were dirty. Their were left over water bottles on the floor. Several dresser drawers were broken and unable to be utilized. The closet doors were off track, making it difficult to hang anything. The rug had several black sticky spots. In addition, the television did not work upon entering the room and it was necessary to have someone come up to fix it (arrived 2 hours later). The parking gargage elevator is disgustingly filthy and our smoke alarm did not have a cover or a battery in it. Luckily, Tahoe is beautiful enough, with many other things to occupy ones time, that we were able to still have a good experience. I would definately not stay at this property again and I would highly discourage anyone else from staying at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Horizon Casino Resort

Reviewer score

1
late 20s
sacramento, ca
Jul 18, 2013

Great Location but only to sleep

Great location to attend the outdoor concerts during the summer, however, everything else about this hotel was gross!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top