$44 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Vagabond Inn Reno

2 stars
3131 South Virginia Street, Reno, NV 89502
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
17 reviews
Great value and friendly people

I just recently stayed at the Vagabond Inn Reno Nevada and it was one of the most pleasant... See full review

  • jerry mohammad
  • May 28, 2012
Out of the way place on The Strip

Really enjoyed staying here. Most restaurants within walking distance. We found a beautiful lake a... See full review

  • Jomama
  • Sep 5, 2011
A trusted name in value rooms -- business and truck friendly

A spacious, simple room awaits guests of the Vagabond Inn Reno, whether traveling for business or leisure. Start the day with the complimentary continental breakfast and weekday newspaper and end it in the heated swimming pool. Guests also enjoy advantages like the pet friendly policy and helpful room amenities. Bus and truck parking is available.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Microwave, refrigerator in rooms
  • Pet friendly (with restrictions)
Rooms

The cheerful, spacious rooms of the Vagabond Inn Reno fit the whole family with its one or two queen beds, sofa and table seating. For the little ones, cribs available on request. Standard amenities include microwaves, mini-fridges, cable TV with HBO, complimentary Wi-Fi and local calls.

Features

Guests enjoy the free continental breakfast with their free weekday newspapers. After a long day, guests relax in the heated swimming pool. Most pets are welcome at the Vagabond Inn Reno, but restrictions do apply.

Transportation
  • Reno/Tahoe International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Amtrak (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Attractions
  • Lakeridge Golf Course and Tennis Club (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Tahoe Whitewater Tours (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Downtown Reno (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Lake Tahoe (31.7 mi/51 km)
Business

Free incoming faxes

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vagabond Inn Reno also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Vagabond Inn Reno Rooms

Deluxe Room
Large, comfortable room with two Queen beds, large TV, refrigerator upon request, microwave, coffee maker, smoking or non-smoking available (please request).
Deluxe Room
Large, comfortable room with one King bed, large TV, refrigerator upon request, microwave, coffee maker, smoking or non-smoking available (please request).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 2 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 2.2 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2.3 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 2.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 2.4 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 2.5 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 3.2 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 3.4 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 3.6 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 3.6 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 2 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 2.2 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2.3 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 2.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 2.4 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 2.5 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 3.2 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 3.4 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 3.6 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 3.6 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 3.7 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 3.8 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 4.2 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 10 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 10.7 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 12.3 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 16.7 mi
  • Animal Ark: 20.3 mi

Dining

PF Chang's China Bistro
The P.F. Chang's experience is a unique combination of Chinese cuisine, attentive service, wine, and tempting desserts all served in a stylish, high-energy bistro.
Red Lobster
Whether your family comes together over a big plate of succulent crab legs, you celebrate life's special moments by dipping into Artichoke, Lobster & Seafood Dip or you mark your calendar for Lobsterfest year after year, Red Lobster is undoubtedly where America goes for great tasting seafood.
Famous Murphy's
The biggest winner in Reno is you, after you dine on fresh oysters on the half shell, pan roasts, stews, and New England bread pudding!
Rapscallion Steakhouse
Set in an ambiance reminiscent of old world San Francisco, Rapscallion has truly become a longtime Reno favorite. The menu changes daily and features up to 20 of the freshest seafood selections, as well as top quality Certified Angus Beef™. Rapscallion is home to an expansive wine cellar which features the most premier names in the industry, and the bartenders pour only the finest in liquors and cordials.
Jimboy's Tacos
Forget all other tacos! Jimboy's coats their shells in parmesan cheese, for a new twist on an old favorite!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Vagabond Inn Reno

Overall score

1.3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 17
Amenities:
1.5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3.3
Value:
2
Sort by:
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Foothill Pension
Business
Oakdale, CA
Aug 18, 2014

Beds are horrible!

The beds were like sleeping on the floor. Very hard and uncomfortable. Since I just needed a room to sleep for a few hours I was not very happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, MO
Jun 30, 2010

A little disappointing...

If the maid service hadn't ignored my room (no towels or coffee restock), if the business center printer had been working (couldn't print boarding pass for flight home), if the A/C hadn't kept freezing up (woke up sweating in the middle of the night), if there had been ice on my level (had to use stairs since no elevator for the two levels), and if the TV remote would have worked, then this would have been a great place. Good location: places to eat, two casinos, and convention center w/i walking distance. Room was clean when I got there. Staff friendly (they smiled and apologized very nicely when telling me the printer did not work - lol). Felt safe. Too bad they could just take care of some of the basics during my stay. No excuse for the problems I incurred. Five days and four nights...maid service only two of those days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Wendy's across the street and a 7-11 right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Basketball Mom
Business
Modesto, Ca
Jun 1, 2010

Memorial Day Memories

My experience at this hotel started off bad as they had no record of my reservation when we arrived. It took over 30 min to check in because of the need to contact [...] in order for them to clear it up. [...]Despite my online request, the only room available for us was a smoking room but the smell wasn't too bad and we needed a place to stay! The towels felt like sandpaper. The temperature in the room was difficult to regulate with the system available. and other than the delay at check in, our biggest disappointment was that our room was NEVER serviced by housekeeping...and we were there 3 nights! Even after speaking to them about what time we would be out of the room it never happened.The location was good as we needed to be at the Convention Center and weren't going to the strip at all.It would be hard to recommend this hotel as I think there are higher quality hotels that can be found for a similar price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eureka CA
May 26, 2009

AAU Basketball weekend

The person who checked us in was so nice, and helpful. If we didnt pre pay i would have stayed some where else. Rooms are small, very thin pillows, rooms didnt get cold. We where often very hot. people upstairs where loud. Breakfast that they offered was a danishes, muffins, coffee with grains, apple juice, and OJ (both had a stange taste).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top