$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Vagabond Inn Reno

2 stars
3131 South Virginia Street, Reno, NV 89502
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
17 reviews
Great value and friendly people

I just recently stayed at the Vagabond Inn Reno Nevada and it was one of the most pleasant... See full review

  • jerry mohammad
  • May 28, 2012
Out of the way place on The Strip

Really enjoyed staying here. Most restaurants within walking distance. We found a beautiful lake a... See full review

  • Jomama
  • Sep 5, 2011
A trusted name in value rooms -- business and truck friendly

A spacious, simple room awaits guests of the Vagabond Inn Reno, whether traveling for business or leisure. Start the day with the complimentary continental breakfast and weekday newspaper and end it in the heated swimming pool. Guests also enjoy advantages like the pet friendly policy and helpful room amenities. Bus and truck parking is available.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Microwave, refrigerator in rooms
  • Pet friendly (with restrictions)
Rooms

The cheerful, spacious rooms of the Vagabond Inn Reno fit the whole family with its one or two queen beds, sofa and table seating. For the little ones, cribs available on request. Standard amenities include microwaves, mini-fridges, cable TV with HBO, complimentary Wi-Fi and local calls.

Features

Guests enjoy the free continental breakfast with their free weekday newspapers. After a long day, guests relax in the heated swimming pool. Most pets are welcome at the Vagabond Inn Reno, but restrictions do apply.

Transportation
  • Reno/Tahoe International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Amtrak (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Attractions
  • Lakeridge Golf Course and Tennis Club (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Tahoe Whitewater Tours (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Downtown Reno (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Lake Tahoe (31.7 mi/51 km)
Business

Free incoming faxes

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vagabond Inn Reno also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Vagabond Inn Reno Rooms

Deluxe Room
Large, comfortable room with two Queen beds, large TV, refrigerator upon request, microwave, coffee maker, smoking or non-smoking available (please request).
Deluxe Room
Large, comfortable room with one King bed, large TV, refrigerator upon request, microwave, coffee maker, smoking or non-smoking available (please request).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 2 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 2.2 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2.3 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 2.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 2.4 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 2.5 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 3.2 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 3.4 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 3.6 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 3.6 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 2 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 2.2 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2.3 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 2.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 2.4 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 2.5 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 3.2 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 3.4 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 3.6 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 3.6 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 3.7 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 3.8 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 4.2 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 10 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 10.7 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 12.3 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 16.7 mi
  • Animal Ark: 20.3 mi

Dining

PF Chang's China Bistro
The P.F. Chang's experience is a unique combination of Chinese cuisine, attentive service, wine, and tempting desserts all served in a stylish, high-energy bistro.
Red Lobster
Whether your family comes together over a big plate of succulent crab legs, you celebrate life's special moments by dipping into Artichoke, Lobster & Seafood Dip or you mark your calendar for Lobsterfest year after year, Red Lobster is undoubtedly where America goes for great tasting seafood.
Famous Murphy's
The biggest winner in Reno is you, after you dine on fresh oysters on the half shell, pan roasts, stews, and New England bread pudding!
Rapscallion Steakhouse
Set in an ambiance reminiscent of old world San Francisco, Rapscallion has truly become a longtime Reno favorite. The menu changes daily and features up to 20 of the freshest seafood selections, as well as top quality Certified Angus Beef™. Rapscallion is home to an expansive wine cellar which features the most premier names in the industry, and the bartenders pour only the finest in liquors and cordials.
Jimboy's Tacos
Forget all other tacos! Jimboy's coats their shells in parmesan cheese, for a new twist on an old favorite!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Vagabond Inn Reno

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.7

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jerry mohammad
Business
san diego california
May 28, 2012

Great value and friendly people

I just recently stayed at the Vagabond Inn Reno Nevada and it was one of the most pleasant experiences I’ve had in years. I normally stay in big hotel casinos and this by far is the more “home like experience”. The staff is very customer service oriented and the place itself makes you feel right at home. One of the best parts of the vagabond is the location. It’s about 1 mile away from the main casinos down town but it’s conveniently close to the peppermill and Atlantis, which I recommend for fine dining and entertaining. The vagabond inn is simply a great place to stay for the convenience the hospitality and most of all our little friends” pets” are always welcome. I highly recommend this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jomama
Business
Sacramento River Delta
Sep 5, 2011

Out of the way place on The Strip

Really enjoyed staying here. Most restaurants within walking distance. We found a beautiful lake a couple of blocks away, with different kinds of ducks, geese, and even a swan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, NV
Aug 9, 2009

Vagabond Inn Reno

Stayed there for Hot August Nights event. Although it was close to where we needed to be, it was very noisy. Not only the activities from the nearby street, but the occupants in the other rooms, coming and going at all hours is no problem, but the loud talking and yelling at 3:30 a.m. is a bit much. Room was clean but lacking amenities, such as refridgerator, iron and iron board and the toilet was not connected to floor. I also knew that our maid had dark colored hair. After cleaning our room, we would come back in and find long strands on the floor or bed sheets. (No, the spouse was with me!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close by are two major casinos with night life and entertainment. Also both have great restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gold HIll, Oregon
Mar 2, 2010

good location for the price.

The room was clean, old TV, I usually stay at this motel when visiting family in Reno.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HOT AUGUST NIGHTER
Business
SAN LEANDRO, CA
Aug 11, 2009

HOT AUGUST NIGHTS AT VAGABOND INN RENO

We went up for Hot August Nights. We usually stay at another hotel but the pricing for this event is getting to be so expensive. We decided to try the Vagabond because the price we got from Orbitz was going to save us a good amount of money. To be honest this hotel was just as good as the hotel we normally stayed at. The girls that checked us in were very helpful and accommondating. The only thing is we were told we could book for next years event at the time of check out. The person told me to call back in a month and tell them you stayed this year. So that was a little disappointing. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Peppermill is very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Mar 21, 2010

Very knowledgeable staff and a nice room

It was a nice quiet room where I had a good nights sleep before catching the train the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A short drive to the train station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cjjk
Business
sacto
Sep 2, 2014

rib cook off week

It was comfortable but not really a hotel I would regular stay in. It's clean and very basic. The location was pretty far away from events. Was the only hotel with a vacancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sam I Yam
Business
Northern California
Oct 14, 2014

Old hotel

A bit run down but adequate. Convenient to required location of conference at Peppermill. No fridge no coffee maker, only one distant ice machine. Homeless hanging out in unrented commercial space adjacent to hotel. No real complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wendy's across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Drewberry
Business
Sacramento
Oct 19, 2014

Convienient for the price

Average hotel, needs fridge and the beds were slightly uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Basketball Mom
Business
Modesto, Ca
Jun 1, 2010

Memorial Day Memories

My experience at this hotel started off bad as they had no record of my reservation when we arrived. It took over 30 min to check in because of the need to contact [...] in order for them to clear it up. [...]Despite my online request, the only room available for us was a smoking room but the smell wasn't too bad and we needed a place to stay! The towels felt like sandpaper. The temperature in the room was difficult to regulate with the system available. and other than the delay at check in, our biggest disappointment was that our room was NEVER serviced by housekeeping...and we were there 3 nights! Even after speaking to them about what time we would be out of the room it never happened.The location was good as we needed to be at the Convention Center and weren't going to the strip at all.It would be hard to recommend this hotel as I think there are higher quality hotels that can be found for a similar price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top