$262 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Vagabond Inn Reno

2 stars
3131 South Virginia Street, Reno, NV 89502
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
21 reviews
Great value and friendly people

I just recently stayed at the Vagabond Inn Reno Nevada and it was one of the most pleasant... See full review

  • jerry mohammad
  • May 28, 2012
Out of the way place on The Strip

Really enjoyed staying here. Most restaurants within walking distance. We found a beautiful lake a... See full review

  • Jomama
  • Sep 5, 2011
A trusted name in value rooms -- business and truck friendly

A spacious, simple room awaits guests of the Vagabond Inn Reno, whether traveling for business or leisure. Start the day with the complimentary continental breakfast and weekday newspaper and end it in the heated swimming pool. Guests also enjoy advantages like the pet friendly policy and helpful room amenities. Bus and truck parking is available.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Microwave, refrigerator in rooms
  • Pet friendly (with restrictions)
Rooms

The cheerful, spacious rooms of the Vagabond Inn Reno fit the whole family with its one or two queen beds, sofa and table seating. For the little ones, cribs available on request. Standard amenities include microwaves, mini-fridges, cable TV with HBO, complimentary Wi-Fi and local calls.

Features

Guests enjoy the free continental breakfast with their free weekday newspapers. After a long day, guests relax in the heated swimming pool. Most pets are welcome at the Vagabond Inn Reno, but restrictions do apply.

Transportation
  • Reno/Tahoe International Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Amtrak (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Attractions
  • Lakeridge Golf Course and Tennis Club (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Tahoe Whitewater Tours (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Downtown Reno (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Lake Tahoe (31.7 mi/51 km)
Business

Free incoming faxes

Vagabond Inn Reno Rooms

Deluxe Room
Large, comfortable room with two Queen beds, large TV, refrigerator upon request, microwave, coffee maker, smoking or non-smoking available (please request).
Deluxe Room
Large, comfortable room with one King bed, large TV, refrigerator upon request, microwave, coffee maker, smoking or non-smoking available (please request).

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vagabond Inn Reno also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.4943 -119.7985
Area served
The year-round recreational area of Lake Tahoe is located 31.7 miles southwest of our Reno property.
Nearby airports
Reno International Airport
Area description
The Flesischmann Planetarium is located at the north edge of the University of Nevada, Reno campus, 2.8 miles north of our Reno property. The National Automobile Museum displays more than 200 antique, vintage, classic, and special-interest automobiles. The museum is located at 10 Lake St, 2.6 miles north of our Reno property. The Nevada Historical Society Museum is Nevada's oldes museum. It displays American Indian artifacts, pioneer relics, antique furniture, guns, and rocks. The museum is located at 1650 N. Virginia St, 4.1 miles north of our Reno property. The Nevada Museum of Art contains art exhibits that relate to the history, culture, environment, and political issues of the state. It is located at 160 W. Liberty St, 2.3 miles north of our Reno property. The Wilbur D. May Center consists of the Wilbur D. May Museum, Arboretum, and Botanical Garden, and the Great Basin Adventure. It is located at 1502 Washington St, 4.3 miles north of our Reno property.

Nearby points of interest

  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 2 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 2.2 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2.3 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 2.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 2.4 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 2.5 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 3.2 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 3.4 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 3.6 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 3.6 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 2 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 2.2 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2.3 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 2.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 2.4 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 2.5 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 3.2 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 3.4 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 3.6 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 3.6 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 3.7 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 3.8 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 4.2 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 10 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 10.7 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 12.3 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 16.7 mi
  • Animal Ark: 20.3 mi

Dining

PF Chang's China Bistro
The P.F. Chang's experience is a unique combination of Chinese cuisine, attentive service, wine, and tempting desserts all served in a stylish, high-energy bistro.
Red Lobster
Whether your family comes together over a big plate of succulent crab legs, you celebrate life's special moments by dipping into Artichoke, Lobster & Seafood Dip or you mark your calendar for Lobsterfest year after year, Red Lobster is undoubtedly where America goes for great tasting seafood.
Famous Murphy's
The biggest winner in Reno is you, after you dine on fresh oysters on the half shell, pan roasts, stews, and New England bread pudding!
Rapscallion Steakhouse
Set in an ambiance reminiscent of old world San Francisco, Rapscallion has truly become a longtime Reno favorite. The menu changes daily and features up to 20 of the freshest seafood selections, as well as top quality Certified Angus Beef™. Rapscallion is home to an expansive wine cellar which features the most premier names in the industry, and the bartenders pour only the finest in liquors and cordials.
Jimboy's Tacos
Forget all other tacos! Jimboy's coats their shells in parmesan cheese, for a new twist on an old favorite!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Vagabond Inn Reno

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jomama
Sacramento River Delta
Sep 5, 2011

Out of the way place on The Strip

Really enjoyed staying here. Most restaurants within walking distance. We found a beautiful lake a couple of blocks away, with different kinds of ducks, geese, and even a swan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jerry mohammad
Business
san diego california
May 28, 2012

Great value and friendly people

I just recently stayed at the Vagabond Inn Reno Nevada and it was one of the most pleasant experiences I’ve had in years. I normally stay in big hotel casinos and this by far is the more “home like experience”. The staff is very customer service oriented and the place itself makes you feel right at home. One of the best parts of the vagabond is the location. It’s about 1 mile away from the main casinos down town but it’s conveniently close to the peppermill and Atlantis, which I recommend for fine dining and entertaining. The vagabond inn is simply a great place to stay for the convenience the hospitality and most of all our little friends” pets” are always welcome. I highly recommend this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jomama
Sacramento River Delta
Sep 5, 2011

Out of the way place on The Strip

Really enjoyed staying here. Most restaurants within walking distance. We found a beautiful lake a couple of blocks away, with different kinds of ducks, geese, and even a swan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jomama
Sacramento River Delta
Sep 5, 2011

Out of the way place on The Strip

Really enjoyed staying here. Most restaurants within walking distance. We found a beautiful lake a couple of blocks away, with different kinds of ducks, geese, and even a swan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fallon, NV
Jul 15, 2011

NOT the place to stay

This seemed like an unsafe place to stay. Cops kept riding through like they were looking for illegal activity. There were people there that looked rather unsavory. Was later told by friends to not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fallon, NV
Jul 15, 2011

NOT the place to stay

This seemed like an unsafe place to stay. Cops kept riding through like they were looking for illegal activity. There were people there that looked rather unsavory. Was later told by friends to not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, MO
Jun 30, 2010

A little disappointing...

If the maid service hadn't ignored my room (no towels or coffee restock), if the business center printer had been working (couldn't print boarding pass for flight home), if the A/C hadn't kept freezing up (woke up sweating in the middle of the night), if there had been ice on my level (had to use stairs since no elevator for the two levels), and if the TV remote would have worked, then this would have been a great place. Good location: places to eat, two casinos, and convention center w/i walking distance. Room was clean when I got there. Staff friendly (they smiled and apologized very nicely when telling me the printer did not work - lol). Felt safe. Too bad they could just take care of some of the basics during my stay. No excuse for the problems I incurred. Five days and four nights...maid service only two of those days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Wendy's across the street and a 7-11 right next door.

Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, MO
Jun 30, 2010

A little disappointing...

If the maid service hadn't ignored my room (no towels or coffee restock), if the business center printer had been working (couldn't print boarding pass for flight home), if the A/C hadn't kept freezing up (woke up sweating in the middle of the night), if there had been ice on my level (had to use stairs since no elevator for the two levels), and if the TV remote would have worked, then this would have been a great place. Good location: places to eat, two casinos, and convention center w/i walking distance. Room was clean when I got there. Staff friendly (they smiled and apologized very nicely when telling me the printer did not work - lol). Felt safe. Too bad they could just take care of some of the basics during my stay. No excuse for the problems I incurred. Five days and four nights...maid service only two of those days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Wendy's across the street and a 7-11 right next door.

Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
redwood city
Jun 27, 2010

Awful

Overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
redwood city
Jun 27, 2010

Awful

Overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose CA
Jun 27, 2010

Needs improvement

I was in Reno for an auto show at the Grand Sierra Resort. So im young and not picky at all but this motel was one of the worst ive stayed in. ESPECIALLY FOR THE PRICE Check in went fine, the man that greatest was perfect...We walked into our room and it looked decent(could use come brightning though). The bed and couch were kind of stiff but not too bad. I went to use the bathroom and the toilet wasnt cleaned very well and the bathtubs bottom was lightly stained. In a hotel i believe the bathroom should be spotless so right when i saw that it ruined it for me. Then while washing my hands and face the sink drained extremely slow. Pretty much the room would have been decent if they would brighten things up and clean better. But a dirty bathroom in a hotel is unexceptable. This place is not worth spending $130+ a nite. Back in San Jose we have hotels for $100 and under that are way nicer, cleaner, and of way better quality overall. This place needs help

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top