$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Super 8 Reno/University Area

2 stars
1651 North Virginia St, Reno, NV 89503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
34 reviews
Very Clean, Very Affordable

First time in a super 8 motel. For first impressions it was very good. Room was very clean. Old tv... See full review

  • George Alexander
  • Jun 23, 2014
convenient!

I chose to stay here for the convenience and best price of hotels for the weekend of attending a... See full review

  • Larinda
  • Sep 26, 2013
Cross the university campus, find bright motel with breakfast and pool

Visiting the University of Nevada? Across the street--and also close to the balloon races--this Super 8 offers comfort and amenities aplenty. Guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast and bright rooms with cable TV, HBO, free Wi-Fi and coffee maker. The hotel is pet friendly and has truck, bus and RV parking available.

Highlights
  • Pet friendly (restrictions apply)
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Handicap accessible
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

Bright, clean, standard rooms offer two queen or one king bed, 25-inch cable TV with HBO and ESPN, complimentary Wi-Fi, coffeemaker and hair dryer. Rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request. Handicap-accessible rooms are also available.

Features

Near the University of Nevada, guests of Super 8 enjoy plenty of perks. Amenities include complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and seasonal outdoor pool. Super 8 is pet friendly (with restrictions) and offers truck, RV and bus parking. Super 8 participates in Wyndham Rewards program.

Transportation
  • Amtrak (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Reno/Tahoe International Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Nevada Historical Society (next door)
  • University of Nevada, Reno (across Old US 395)
  • Mackey Stadium (.2 mi/.32 km)
  • Rancho San Raphael Park (Balloon races) (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Nevada State Fair (.9 mi/1.45 km)
  • Reno Strip Casinos (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business

Conference rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Reno/University Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Nevada Historical Society: 0 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 0.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 0.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 0.2 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 0.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.1 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.4 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 1.5 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 0 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 0.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 0.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 0.2 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 0.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.1 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.4 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 1.5 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 2.5 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.8 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 3 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 4.2 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 7.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 8.5 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 13.2 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 13.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 16.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Reno/University Area

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 34
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.7

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
twatz
Business
Winnemucca, NV
Dec 11, 2012

Adequate

If you are looking for a place to sleep cheap, this would be the place. If you are going to spend any time in the room, I would probably go somewhere else. The bed was comfortable and the management courteous. It was definitely not luxurious, but it was adequate .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City Area, UT
Jul 11, 2011

WHAT A DUMP!!

At least it was clean, but all repairs were shoddy and messy. I paid extra for a refrigerator that didn't work. If I were just driving along looking for a place to stay, rather than having a paid reservation, I wouldn't even slow down, it looked so bad from the outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay far away from this place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jdogg
Business
Fremont, Ca
Sep 27, 2010

Street Vibrations

The door looked like it had been kicked in and mickey moused back together before. Everything else was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheapest hotel for street vibs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I guess I needed my cell phone
Business
San Francisco
Aug 23, 2010

Nice but.......

Helpful desk until the late shift started. Reno is a 24 hour town. A friend tried to call me just after midnight at my room on the motel phone. All calls go through the desk staff. The person working the desk answered for the motel, and then refused to forward the call to the room in spite of being advised the the person in the room was expecting the call. Ruined our plans for the rest of the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can reach your friends....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaGueraLinda
Business
Yuba City California
Jul 1, 2010

Nina's wedding stay

I was expecting a AAA discount and was unable to get that, also since it was rated by AAA I expected that it would be clean and updated. It was unwelcoming, I felt dirty and was unable to figure out the TV switch on the wall above the bed. No instructions were availible. The floors sqeaked when I walked the carpet was DIRTY. The bathroom floor was warped and the walls were in disrepair and the toilet ran all night. having stayed at Super 8 many times before I was disgusted and ashamed to bring my family including the BRIDE to get ready for the wedding in a shabby and worn out room. There were no outlets on the room to use and no place to sit near lighting or oulets to work.The "breakfast" was NOT there. The front entry help desk reeked of dirty smells and curry. I WILL NOT return here or recommend this place to anyone. Shame on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Oct 12, 2009

Good stay for the price

It was good just not that great too many cops everywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The reno UNIV is acros the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super Pack Fan
Business
Reno, NV
Oct 10, 2009

Old, outdated, and downright scary!

This motel is severely outdated and is in desperate need for an upgrade. The first room gave me had a broken toilet, when I told the desk lady about it, she was rude but did give me another room. I then went to my second room and the entire ceiling was covered in dust bunnies, (huge chunks of old dirt, dust and hair were clumped on the ceiling.) Finally I asked for the room I ended up sleeping in and it was full of a putrid smokey smell. Stay as far away from this hotel as you can, you get a much better deal from any of the casinos in downtown Reno, this is a waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the street from campus, but if you're going to a UNR football game stay in downtown Reno, it is not that far of a walk, it's better than staying in this place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top