$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Super 8 Reno/University Area

2 stars
1651 North Virginia St, Reno, NV 89503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
34 reviews
Very Clean, Very Affordable

First time in a super 8 motel. For first impressions it was very good. Room was very clean. Old tv... See full review

  • George Alexander
  • Jun 23, 2014
convenient!

I chose to stay here for the convenience and best price of hotels for the weekend of attending a... See full review

  • Larinda
  • Sep 26, 2013
Cross the university campus, find bright motel with breakfast and pool

Visiting the University of Nevada? Across the street--and also close to the balloon races--this Super 8 offers comfort and amenities aplenty. Guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast and bright rooms with cable TV, HBO, free Wi-Fi and coffee maker. The hotel is pet friendly and has truck, bus and RV parking available.

Highlights
  • Pet friendly (restrictions apply)
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Handicap accessible
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

Bright, clean, standard rooms offer two queen or one king bed, 25-inch cable TV with HBO and ESPN, complimentary Wi-Fi, coffeemaker and hair dryer. Rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request. Handicap-accessible rooms are also available.

Features

Near the University of Nevada, guests of Super 8 enjoy plenty of perks. Amenities include complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and seasonal outdoor pool. Super 8 is pet friendly (with restrictions) and offers truck, RV and bus parking. Super 8 participates in Wyndham Rewards program.

Transportation
  • Amtrak (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Reno/Tahoe International Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Nevada Historical Society (next door)
  • University of Nevada, Reno (across Old US 395)
  • Mackey Stadium (.2 mi/.32 km)
  • Rancho San Raphael Park (Balloon races) (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Nevada State Fair (.9 mi/1.45 km)
  • Reno Strip Casinos (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business

Conference rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Reno/University Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Nevada Historical Society: 0 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 0.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 0.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 0.2 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 0.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.1 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.4 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 1.5 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 0 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 0.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 0.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 0.2 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 0.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.1 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.4 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 1.5 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 2.5 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.8 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 3 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 4.2 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 7.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 8.5 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 13.2 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 13.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 16.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Reno/University Area

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 34
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.1

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Las Vegas retired guy
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 12, 2014

(Lack of) Continental Breakfast

We've stayed here several times and normally have a good experience with the room. It's a very basic room, with a frig and microwave, at a great location for our needs and very reasonable in price. The only item we consistently see lacking is the continental breakfast. Most of the time there are only two or three breakfast rolls, a few small muffins, a few frozen waffles ready for toasting (not near enough for the people staying there). It doesn't matter what time you arrive at the posted breakfast time, there is usually no bread for toast, no fruit and no hot (oatmeal) cereal packets. They provide dry cereal only but with no milk, usually no juice, and lukewarm coffee that tastes like it was made yesterday. They need to make a decision. Either provide a well stocked, basic continental breakfast that is attended to by staff every day, or do away with it. The impression we get is that they have to provide it so they throw a few cheap items out there that they may have laying around, just to get by, and thus have the excuse that the other guests must have already eaten everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared to eat breakfast out. Since it is close to the university, there are lots of little eating places nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RaJe
Business
Henderson, NV
Aug 23, 2014

Met my basic need

I needed a place for the night close to the University and this place did fill that need. The room was clean, had a fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The bed was comfortable and big. It is an old hotel, the room had a musty smell, and during the night I was woken by a bug on my arm. The continental breakfast left something to be desired and we went elsewhere to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Out of hotel to the left, two lights then left on McCarran, then two lights and there is a Walmart on the opposite right corner. There is also food and gas there. It is about 2+ miles. Convenient for college shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Track Papa
Business
John Day, Oregon
Jul 1, 2014

Served its purpose

The hotel is old and poorly maintained but the price was right. If you are looking for an adequate cheap place to sleep. Breakfast is basic with no fruit, no yogurt, no proteins.... just toast and the cheap cereal. Stay here if cheap is the top of the priority list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George Alexander
Business
Fairfield, California
Jun 23, 2014

Very Clean, Very Affordable

First time in a super 8 motel. For first impressions it was very good. Room was very clean. Old tv but it worked. Free Wifi with very strong signals. My kids used their Ipads all night. The receptionist was very nice. Pool looked decent. Beds were comfy, a lot better than motel 6. It was a little far away, but it is so much better than the cheap ones downtown. We enjoyed our night there with no problems. If looking for an affordable motel this one I do recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jerry paris
Business
gold hill, oregon
May 12, 2014

it was clean and comfortable

my experience at the hotel was good the appliances in room were old. TV I had to get help to get it to working but they came and fixed it. the parking was good we could park right in front of the room. the service was good and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larinda
Business
Rancho California
Sep 26, 2013

convenient!

I chose to stay here for the convenience and best price of hotels for the weekend of attending a football game. It was so convenient to just walk across the street and not worry about parking at the stadium. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and comfortable. The only complaint was the puddle in the bathroom which was from a leak coming from the base of the toilet. I called the front desk to alert them. I offered to just throw a towel down to soak up the moisture and the clerk agreed. I was fine with it, since it was just an over nighter stay. Other than that. It was quiet ad conveniently located next door to a Subway and street exits in front of back of hotel to main roads leading to freeway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to university stadium for games, 3 miles to Walmart and next door to gas station, subway and freeway exits

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Road Trips with Kids
Business
Vacaville, CA
May 6, 2013

No Wifi, Ants, Very Hard Mattress

Location is across the street from the University of Nevada, Reno, between a gas station and a Subway sandwich shop. It's a straight shot to downtown with easy off/on freeway access without being directly on the interstate. Easy parking. The building is "aged" but, we aren't picky. We reserved a room with 2 queen beds for 2 adults, 2 kids. Our son's service dog was with us. We were assigned a "pet room" - corner at the end of the building. We requested 2 room keys - only 1 worked. The door stuck in the jamb, so had to use a little body weight to get it open. There were no odors when entered the room and the floor, bedding, bathroom, furnishings, etc were all clean. Even though our reservation was for 4 people, there was only towel service for 3. We had to go back to the front desk get additional towels both days. (I wouldn't have minded reusing our towels, but, they were removed from our room. Guess they don't follow the "hotel energy conservation" program?) Our rate included the advertised "free Wifi", which didn't work the entire stay. The staff claimed to be on top of it, reset router, etc, but it never worked. (And no, the issue wasn't our devices since they worked at every other location that we went to that weekend.) We like a firm mattress, but this was like sleeping on a park bench. The staff was kind enough to allow us to go back to the front desk for 2 additional pillows. The remote control for the TV stopped working. I let the gentleman at the front desk know the next morning, and that evening it was working again. (Unlike the wifi.) In the morning, there were ants investigating our luggage even though we hadn't eaten in the room, and our food items were in the fridge. I let the gentleman at the front desk know about the ants. He said he'd spray. Guess what?! The ants were back the next morning. At other Super8 locations we've stayed at, the continental breakfast included "make-your-own waffles" (which, my kids love!), oatmeal packets, hardboiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt... Here, the continental breakfast was your choice of either corn flakes or rice crisp cereal, freezer-toaster waffles, white bread for toast, and mini muffins. The coffee is very weak. Upon check-out, the staff apologized for the lack of wifi connectivity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Yes, there are other things to do in Reno other than gambling: Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center, Wilbur D. May Museum, Animal Ark Wildlife Sanctuary, the Riverwalk... to mention a few.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blue Ivy
Business
Reno, Ca
Apr 16, 2013

Great

It was Nice and in-expensive, Very close to stores, and casinos

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lana P.
Business
Reno, Nevada
Jul 23, 2012

A Stess-Free Temporary Home

Every time I check into a hotel anywhere, there's always some type of issue. This was my first time staying here but the location was perfect based on where I needed to be. Staff was the great and I hardly left the room for anything at all. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling Lover
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jul 5, 2011

Reno Dive

The staff was friendly. They were slow getting us checked in and when they finally did, they checked us into a dirty room. We had to go back and get a key to a clean-er room. But they were very friendly about it all. The room itself was dingy and smelled bad. The picture on the website looks like it was taken 20 years ago just after the last paint job. The pool was dirty and cold. I could not get wi-fi. The free breakfast was over so early, we missed it - so I cannot vouch for it. This is not a hotel I would ever recommend to anyone no matter how cheap. Motel 6 was just down the street - I wish I paid less and stayed there instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top