$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Super 8 Reno/University Area

2 stars
View map of 1651 North Virginia St, Reno, NV 89503

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
28 reviews
Very Clean, Very Affordable

First time in a super 8 motel. For first impressions it was very good. Room was very clean. Old tv... See full review

  • George Alexander
  • Jun 23, 2014
great stay

couldent believe how nice it was for the price . the location was great and it was very... See full review

  • elmosco69
  • Mar 23, 2013

Visiting the University of Nevada? Across the street--and also close to the balloon races--this Super 8 offers comfort and amenities aplenty. Guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast and bright rooms with cable TV, HBO, free Wi-Fi and coffee maker. The hotel is pet friendly and has truck, bus and RV parking available.

Rooms

Bright, clean, standard rooms offer two queen or one king bed, 25-inch cable TV with HBO and ESPN, complimentary Wi-Fi, coffeemaker and hair dryer. Rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request. Handicap-accessible rooms are also available.

Property features

Near the University of Nevada, guests of Super 8 enjoy plenty of perks. Amenities include complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and seasonal outdoor pool. Super 8 is pet friendly (with restrictions) and offers truck, RV and bus parking. Super 8 participates in Wyndham Rewards program.

Highlights
  • Pet friendly (restrictions apply)
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Handicap accessible
  • Free Wi-Fi
Nearby attractions
  • Nevada Historical Society (next door)
  • University of Nevada, Reno (across Old US 395)
  • Mackey Stadium (.2 mi/.32 km)
  • Rancho San Raphael Park (Balloon races) (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Nevada State Fair (.9 mi/1.45 km)
  • Reno Strip Casinos (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business

Conference rooms

Transportation
  • Amtrak (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Reno/Tahoe International Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Reno/University Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Nevada Historical Society: 0 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 0.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 0.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 0.2 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 0.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.1 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.4 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 1.5 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 0 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 0.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 0.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 0.2 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 0.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.1 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.4 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 1.5 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 2.5 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.8 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 3 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 4.2 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 7.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 8.5 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 13.2 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 13.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 16.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Reno/University Area

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KDoll
Business
Oregon, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Worst Customer Service Experience EVER! DON'T GO!!

Upon check in I was harrassed for using Orbitz to book and was given an long speech about how this hurts his business. When I told him that I called to confirm that he would take pets and asked if I should book online or on the phone he accused me of lying and nearly denied me access to a room. He called his other employee to "prove" that I had never called even though I was able to show him the log of the call in my phone log. This was without a doubt the worst experience at a hotel EVER!! I will not only never stay here again but have written off all Super 8's as a result of his actions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hope B
Business
Nevada City, CA
Sep 29, 2013

a dump in a good location

The blankets were worn thin from age. The looked liked they hadn't been washed in a while and I was afraid to touch them. Half the lights in the room didn't work. It was all rather dank looking. The breakfast had a variety of cheap empty carbs and the coffee was tinted brown water. The internet worked fine though and the bathroom was clean enough. The campus and Planetarium were conveniently located across the street and there is a Starbucks on campus if you want a decent cup of coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CureFan
Business
sacramento, ca
Aug 14, 2009

only stay here if it is a last resort!!!

we stayed here for Hot August Nights so we werent expecting the best hotel experience at a last minute booking(month in advance) but atleast a clean room!!!! the staff wasnt necessarily rude or anything just not friendly.oh and it mentions breakfast! what breakfast and where! first impression of the room was"this isn't too bad" then we took a shower and our towels just felt dirty and had atleast 2 long hairs in each towel!gross! there was hair on the toilet seat and an old washcloth was left hanging on the shower rod! the bed felt dirty and we tried to sleep without using the blankets but gave in!wear your flippy-floppies in the shower! oh and the area is not too bad i guess. there was only available parking in the back and there is no lighting so could be dangerous at night and you have to go up a stairwell with no lighting to get to your room!so all in all, will NEVER stay here again! would rather pay the extra money and stay somewhere where i feel like its actually clean! oh and when we were leaving, they were "cleaning" the rooms and just putting the blankets out on top the garbage cans that were outside! and you know that top blanket did not get washed!! GROSS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jordan's
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 23, 2010

Super 8 NOT Super

The location to UNR was excellent. However, during our 3 day stay we had to have our room key cards replaced many, many times. They would only work a time or two and then not open the doors to our rooms so we had to go back to the motel office to have new ones made. There was never a real apology or consistent explanation for this problem. The manager was rude about having to come back to correct the problems for other guests as well as us. Also, the rooms were supposed to have fridge and microwave in each room but did not have those on arrival. After switching us to different rooms we still only had one room with both a fridge and microwave. The telephones in our rooms were malfunctioning and did not ring although they did work to call other rooms. Superstart breakfast only cereal and coffee and these ran out before breakfast time was up. Ice machines broken. No snack machines. Drink machine out of order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling Lover
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jul 5, 2011

Reno Dive

The staff was friendly. They were slow getting us checked in and when they finally did, they checked us into a dirty room. We had to go back and get a key to a clean-er room. But they were very friendly about it all. The room itself was dingy and smelled bad. The picture on the website looks like it was taken 20 years ago just after the last paint job. The pool was dirty and cold. I could not get wi-fi. The free breakfast was over so early, we missed it - so I cannot vouch for it. This is not a hotel I would ever recommend to anyone no matter how cheap. Motel 6 was just down the street - I wish I paid less and stayed there instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto,ca
Sep 26, 2010

Not so Super

BAD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City Area, UT
Jul 11, 2011

WHAT A DUMP!!

At least it was clean, but all repairs were shoddy and messy. I paid extra for a refrigerator that didn't work. If I were just driving along looking for a place to stay, rather than having a paid reservation, I wouldn't even slow down, it looked so bad from the outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay far away from this place.

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super Pack Fan
Business
Reno, NV
Oct 10, 2009

Old, outdated, and downright scary!

This motel is severely outdated and is in desperate need for an upgrade. The first room gave me had a broken toilet, when I told the desk lady about it, she was rude but did give me another room. I then went to my second room and the entire ceiling was covered in dust bunnies, (huge chunks of old dirt, dust and hair were clumped on the ceiling.) Finally I asked for the room I ended up sleeping in and it was full of a putrid smokey smell. Stay as far away from this hotel as you can, you get a much better deal from any of the casinos in downtown Reno, this is a waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the street from campus, but if you're going to a UNR football game stay in downtown Reno, it is not that far of a walk, it's better than staying in this place.

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 20, 2007

NOT A GOOD PLACE TO STAY

SAID MOTEL WAS NOT VERY CLEAN, RUN OUT OF PAPER (KLEENEX-TOILET ETC) THE FIRST NIGHT, NOT REPLACED THE NEXT DAY. HAD TO GO TO CLEANING CREW & GET SOME. THE BEDS WERE QUITE UNCOMFORTABLE. I COULD GO ON, TO SUM IT UP, THIS IS NOT A GOOD PLACE TO STAY! SOME PLACES ARE NICE, SOME PLACES ARE NOT. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME I HAVE EVER COMPLAINED (LITERALLY)ABOUT A PLACE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

THE DOWNTOWN AREA OF RENO, NEVADA

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Christopher g.
Business
N/A
Jul 4, 2015

one of the worst

For the price of the room in comparison to the other hotel motels the size of the room was a joke like a match box air conditioner didn't work it ran but didn't blow out any air room was extremely hot the TV was way too small and was way too high on the wall you had to strain to watch TV you had to adjust the size of the screen one of the electrical outlets had no plate on it and wasn't securely fastened and had a wire sticking out with two caps for ground one of the outlets for the TV had a plug in extention that appeared to be maxed out complained about the air conditioner front desk was nice a but it said they would fix it didn't help the over heated room shower was decent worst continental breakfast room filthy table dirty warm milk coffee decent food selection next to nothing pool was dirty pool has potential to be extremely nice of kept up ice machine room in summer is hot and humid not even if the price were below market it wouldn't have been worth it. I am extremely disappointed with super 8 this motel is way out dated and way too over priced I am glad I didn't have small children as I didn't feel safe at all with the electrical outlets and the overheated room and also the front window curtain wouldn't shut all the way letting anyone with any bit of a snoop could look in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top