$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 16, 2015

Super 8 Reno/University Area

2 stars
View map of 1651 North Virginia St, Reno, NV 89503

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Reno/University Area

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I guess I needed my cell phone
Business
San Francisco
Aug 23, 2010

Nice but.......

Helpful desk until the late shift started. Reno is a 24 hour town. A friend tried to call me just after midnight at my room on the motel phone. All calls go through the desk staff. The person working the desk answered for the motel, and then refused to forward the call to the room in spite of being advised the the person in the room was expecting the call. Ruined our plans for the rest of the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can reach your friends....

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Near Los Angeles, CA
Aug 1, 2010

Average Stay

Every Super 8 is different. I stayed at another one in town the first weekend of my week stay but they wanted to charge an extra $5 for non-smoking room that I wasn't going to pay. I wish I had! There was no refrigerator or microwave and I asked the front desk attendant and she hesitated and said, "well, there should be one but every room is different." The towels had stains and hair in bedded in them and the air conditioner wasn't always working. I just needed it for one night after a fabulous stay at a casino hotel that was TOP NOTCH. Just to have a place to rest your head, it was average at best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vallejo
Jul 11, 2010

Super 8 = Super GREAT!

Everything went great and the price was even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

on the same street as the major casinos just about 1 mile down from them.

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaGueraLinda
Business
Yuba City California
Jul 1, 2010

Nina's wedding stay

I was expecting a AAA discount and was unable to get that, also since it was rated by AAA I expected that it would be clean and updated. It was unwelcoming, I felt dirty and was unable to figure out the TV switch on the wall above the bed. No instructions were availible. The floors sqeaked when I walked the carpet was DIRTY. The bathroom floor was warped and the walls were in disrepair and the toilet ran all night. having stayed at Super 8 many times before I was disgusted and ashamed to bring my family including the BRIDE to get ready for the wedding in a shabby and worn out room. There were no outlets on the room to use and no place to sit near lighting or oulets to work.The "breakfast" was NOT there. The front entry help desk reeked of dirty smells and curry. I WILL NOT return here or recommend this place to anyone. Shame on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaGueraLinda
Business
Yuba City California
Jul 1, 2010

Nina's wedding stay

I was expecting a AAA discount and was unable to get that, also since it was rated by AAA I expected that it would be clean and updated. It was unwelcoming, I felt dirty and was unable to figure out the TV switch on the wall above the bed. No instructions were availible. The floors sqeaked when I walked the carpet was DIRTY. The bathroom floor was warped and the walls were in disrepair and the toilet ran all night. having stayed at Super 8 many times before I was disgusted and ashamed to bring my family including the BRIDE to get ready for the wedding in a shabby and worn out room. There were no outlets on the room to use and no place to sit near lighting or oulets to work.The "breakfast" was NOT there. The front entry help desk reeked of dirty smells and curry. I WILL NOT return here or recommend this place to anyone. Shame on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Oct 12, 2009

Good stay for the price

It was good just not that great too many cops everywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The reno UNIV is acros the street

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super Pack Fan
Business
Reno, NV
Oct 10, 2009

Old, outdated, and downright scary!

This motel is severely outdated and is in desperate need for an upgrade. The first room gave me had a broken toilet, when I told the desk lady about it, she was rude but did give me another room. I then went to my second room and the entire ceiling was covered in dust bunnies, (huge chunks of old dirt, dust and hair were clumped on the ceiling.) Finally I asked for the room I ended up sleeping in and it was full of a putrid smokey smell. Stay as far away from this hotel as you can, you get a much better deal from any of the casinos in downtown Reno, this is a waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the street from campus, but if you're going to a UNR football game stay in downtown Reno, it is not that far of a walk, it's better than staying in this place.

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CureFan
Business
sacramento, ca
Aug 14, 2009

only stay here if it is a last resort!!!

we stayed here for Hot August Nights so we werent expecting the best hotel experience at a last minute booking(month in advance) but atleast a clean room!!!! the staff wasnt necessarily rude or anything just not friendly.oh and it mentions breakfast! what breakfast and where! first impression of the room was"this isn't too bad" then we took a shower and our towels just felt dirty and had atleast 2 long hairs in each towel!gross! there was hair on the toilet seat and an old washcloth was left hanging on the shower rod! the bed felt dirty and we tried to sleep without using the blankets but gave in!wear your flippy-floppies in the shower! oh and the area is not too bad i guess. there was only available parking in the back and there is no lighting so could be dangerous at night and you have to go up a stairwell with no lighting to get to your room!so all in all, will NEVER stay here again! would rather pay the extra money and stay somewhere where i feel like its actually clean! oh and when we were leaving, they were "cleaning" the rooms and just putting the blankets out on top the garbage cans that were outside! and you know that top blanket did not get washed!! GROSS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 20, 2007

NOT A GOOD PLACE TO STAY

SAID MOTEL WAS NOT VERY CLEAN, RUN OUT OF PAPER (KLEENEX-TOILET ETC) THE FIRST NIGHT, NOT REPLACED THE NEXT DAY. HAD TO GO TO CLEANING CREW & GET SOME. THE BEDS WERE QUITE UNCOMFORTABLE. I COULD GO ON, TO SUM IT UP, THIS IS NOT A GOOD PLACE TO STAY! SOME PLACES ARE NICE, SOME PLACES ARE NOT. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME I HAVE EVER COMPLAINED (LITERALLY)ABOUT A PLACE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

THE DOWNTOWN AREA OF RENO, NEVADA

Back to menu Return to top