$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Super 8 Reno/University Area

2 stars
1651 North Virginia St, Reno, NV 89503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
33 reviews
Very Clean, Very Affordable

First time in a super 8 motel. For first impressions it was very good. Room was very clean. Old tv... See full review

  • George Alexander
  • Jun 23, 2014
convenient!

I chose to stay here for the convenience and best price of hotels for the weekend of attending a... See full review

  • Larinda
  • Sep 26, 2013
*Our property is located in the heart of Reno. THE BIGGEST LITTLE CITY IN THE WORLD. We have been given the prestigious Quality Certified Motel Award by the Northern Nevada Hotel Association and have a 2 Diamond rating from AAA. We are located across the street from University of Nevada Reno, Lawlor Events Center, Planetarium, Rancho San Raphael Park - Home of Balloon Races. Minutes from Downtown casinos. We offer high speed wireless internet, Superstart breakfast, outdoor seasonal pool, cable TV w/HBO, ESPN and a Business Center with HSIA

Hotel Map

39.5462 -119.8211
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Reno/University Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Nevada Historical Society: 0 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 0.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 0.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 0.2 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 0.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.1 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.4 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 1.5 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 0 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 0.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 0.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 0.2 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 0.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.1 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.4 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 1.5 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 2.5 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.8 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 3 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 4.2 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 7.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 8.5 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 13.2 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 13.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 16.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Reno/University Area

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.7

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Apr 18, 2011

not bad

Stayed for the night to go skiing the next morning. Room was clean and well set up. Beds were hard. The breakfast was the skimpiest continental I have ever seen. I would reccomend this motel as a last resort as it was for me. I usually use a casino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jdogg
Business
Fremont, Ca
Sep 27, 2010

Street Vibrations

The door looked like it had been kicked in and mickey moused back together before. Everything else was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheapest hotel for street vibs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto,ca
Sep 26, 2010

Not so Super

BAD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redding, Ca.
Sep 19, 2010

Good location

We came to Reno for Balloon Festival and picked this motel because it was closest to San Rafeal Park. It was perfect--we were able to walk across street to the balloon festival and didn't have to hassel with driving/parking. Room was clean and quiet. Motel was no great value, but location was perfect for our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I guess I needed my cell phone
Business
San Francisco
Aug 23, 2010

Nice but.......

Helpful desk until the late shift started. Reno is a 24 hour town. A friend tried to call me just after midnight at my room on the motel phone. All calls go through the desk staff. The person working the desk answered for the motel, and then refused to forward the call to the room in spite of being advised the the person in the room was expecting the call. Ruined our plans for the rest of the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can reach your friends....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jordan's
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 23, 2010

Super 8 NOT Super

The location to UNR was excellent. However, during our 3 day stay we had to have our room key cards replaced many, many times. They would only work a time or two and then not open the doors to our rooms so we had to go back to the motel office to have new ones made. There was never a real apology or consistent explanation for this problem. The manager was rude about having to come back to correct the problems for other guests as well as us. Also, the rooms were supposed to have fridge and microwave in each room but did not have those on arrival. After switching us to different rooms we still only had one room with both a fridge and microwave. The telephones in our rooms were malfunctioning and did not ring although they did work to call other rooms. Superstart breakfast only cereal and coffee and these ran out before breakfast time was up. Ice machines broken. No snack machines. Drink machine out of order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Near Los Angeles, CA
Aug 1, 2010

Average Stay

Every Super 8 is different. I stayed at another one in town the first weekend of my week stay but they wanted to charge an extra $5 for non-smoking room that I wasn't going to pay. I wish I had! There was no refrigerator or microwave and I asked the front desk attendant and she hesitated and said, "well, there should be one but every room is different." The towels had stains and hair in bedded in them and the air conditioner wasn't always working. I just needed it for one night after a fabulous stay at a casino hotel that was TOP NOTCH. Just to have a place to rest your head, it was average at best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vallejo
Jul 11, 2010

Super 8 = Super GREAT!

Everything went great and the price was even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

on the same street as the major casinos just about 1 mile down from them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaGueraLinda
Business
Yuba City California
Jul 1, 2010

Nina's wedding stay

I was expecting a AAA discount and was unable to get that, also since it was rated by AAA I expected that it would be clean and updated. It was unwelcoming, I felt dirty and was unable to figure out the TV switch on the wall above the bed. No instructions were availible. The floors sqeaked when I walked the carpet was DIRTY. The bathroom floor was warped and the walls were in disrepair and the toilet ran all night. having stayed at Super 8 many times before I was disgusted and ashamed to bring my family including the BRIDE to get ready for the wedding in a shabby and worn out room. There were no outlets on the room to use and no place to sit near lighting or oulets to work.The "breakfast" was NOT there. The front entry help desk reeked of dirty smells and curry. I WILL NOT return here or recommend this place to anyone. Shame on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Oct 12, 2009

Good stay for the price

It was good just not that great too many cops everywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The reno UNIV is acros the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top