$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Super 8 Reno/University Area

2 stars
View map of 1651 North Virginia St, Reno, NV 89503

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Reno/University Area

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redding, Ca.
Sep 19, 2010

Good location

We came to Reno for Balloon Festival and picked this motel because it was closest to San Rafeal Park. It was perfect--we were able to walk across street to the balloon festival and didn't have to hassel with driving/parking. Room was clean and quiet. Motel was no great value, but location was perfect for our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jordan's
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 23, 2010

Super 8 NOT Super

The location to UNR was excellent. However, during our 3 day stay we had to have our room key cards replaced many, many times. They would only work a time or two and then not open the doors to our rooms so we had to go back to the motel office to have new ones made. There was never a real apology or consistent explanation for this problem. The manager was rude about having to come back to correct the problems for other guests as well as us. Also, the rooms were supposed to have fridge and microwave in each room but did not have those on arrival. After switching us to different rooms we still only had one room with both a fridge and microwave. The telephones in our rooms were malfunctioning and did not ring although they did work to call other rooms. Superstart breakfast only cereal and coffee and these ran out before breakfast time was up. Ice machines broken. No snack machines. Drink machine out of order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Near Los Angeles, CA
Aug 1, 2010

Average Stay

Every Super 8 is different. I stayed at another one in town the first weekend of my week stay but they wanted to charge an extra $5 for non-smoking room that I wasn't going to pay. I wish I had! There was no refrigerator or microwave and I asked the front desk attendant and she hesitated and said, "well, there should be one but every room is different." The towels had stains and hair in bedded in them and the air conditioner wasn't always working. I just needed it for one night after a fabulous stay at a casino hotel that was TOP NOTCH. Just to have a place to rest your head, it was average at best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vallejo
Jul 11, 2010

Super 8 = Super GREAT!

Everything went great and the price was even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

on the same street as the major casinos just about 1 mile down from them.

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Oct 12, 2009

Good stay for the price

It was good just not that great too many cops everywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The reno UNIV is acros the street

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super Pack Fan
Business
Reno, NV
Oct 10, 2009

Old, outdated, and downright scary!

This motel is severely outdated and is in desperate need for an upgrade. The first room gave me had a broken toilet, when I told the desk lady about it, she was rude but did give me another room. I then went to my second room and the entire ceiling was covered in dust bunnies, (huge chunks of old dirt, dust and hair were clumped on the ceiling.) Finally I asked for the room I ended up sleeping in and it was full of a putrid smokey smell. Stay as far away from this hotel as you can, you get a much better deal from any of the casinos in downtown Reno, this is a waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the street from campus, but if you're going to a UNR football game stay in downtown Reno, it is not that far of a walk, it's better than staying in this place.

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CureFan
Business
sacramento, ca
Aug 14, 2009

only stay here if it is a last resort!!!

we stayed here for Hot August Nights so we werent expecting the best hotel experience at a last minute booking(month in advance) but atleast a clean room!!!! the staff wasnt necessarily rude or anything just not friendly.oh and it mentions breakfast! what breakfast and where! first impression of the room was"this isn't too bad" then we took a shower and our towels just felt dirty and had atleast 2 long hairs in each towel!gross! there was hair on the toilet seat and an old washcloth was left hanging on the shower rod! the bed felt dirty and we tried to sleep without using the blankets but gave in!wear your flippy-floppies in the shower! oh and the area is not too bad i guess. there was only available parking in the back and there is no lighting so could be dangerous at night and you have to go up a stairwell with no lighting to get to your room!so all in all, will NEVER stay here again! would rather pay the extra money and stay somewhere where i feel like its actually clean! oh and when we were leaving, they were "cleaning" the rooms and just putting the blankets out on top the garbage cans that were outside! and you know that top blanket did not get washed!! GROSS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 20, 2007

NOT A GOOD PLACE TO STAY

SAID MOTEL WAS NOT VERY CLEAN, RUN OUT OF PAPER (KLEENEX-TOILET ETC) THE FIRST NIGHT, NOT REPLACED THE NEXT DAY. HAD TO GO TO CLEANING CREW & GET SOME. THE BEDS WERE QUITE UNCOMFORTABLE. I COULD GO ON, TO SUM IT UP, THIS IS NOT A GOOD PLACE TO STAY! SOME PLACES ARE NICE, SOME PLACES ARE NOT. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME I HAVE EVER COMPLAINED (LITERALLY)ABOUT A PLACE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

THE DOWNTOWN AREA OF RENO, NEVADA

Back to menu Return to top