$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Super 8 Reno/University Area

2 stars
View map of 1651 North Virginia St, Reno, NV 89503

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
28 reviews
Very Clean, Very Affordable

First time in a super 8 motel. For first impressions it was very good. Room was very clean. Old tv... See full review

  • George Alexander
  • Jun 23, 2014
great stay

couldent believe how nice it was for the price . the location was great and it was very... See full review

  • elmosco69
  • Mar 23, 2013

Visiting the University of Nevada? Across the street--and also close to the balloon races--this Super 8 offers comfort and amenities aplenty. Guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast and bright rooms with cable TV, HBO, free Wi-Fi and coffee maker. The hotel is pet friendly and has truck, bus and RV parking available.

Rooms

Bright, clean, standard rooms offer two queen or one king bed, 25-inch cable TV with HBO and ESPN, complimentary Wi-Fi, coffeemaker and hair dryer. Rollaway beds and cribs are available upon request. Handicap-accessible rooms are also available.

Property features

Near the University of Nevada, guests of Super 8 enjoy plenty of perks. Amenities include complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and seasonal outdoor pool. Super 8 is pet friendly (with restrictions) and offers truck, RV and bus parking. Super 8 participates in Wyndham Rewards program.

Highlights
  • Pet friendly (restrictions apply)
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Handicap accessible
  • Free Wi-Fi
Nearby attractions
  • Nevada Historical Society (next door)
  • University of Nevada, Reno (across Old US 395)
  • Mackey Stadium (.2 mi/.32 km)
  • Rancho San Raphael Park (Balloon races) (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Nevada State Fair (.9 mi/1.45 km)
  • Reno Strip Casinos (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business

Conference rooms

Transportation
  • Amtrak (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Reno/Tahoe International Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Reno/University Area also booked these hotels.

★★
$44
3.2 / 5 49 reviews
★★★
$33
3.4 / 5 768 reviews
★★★
$55
3.4 / 5 74 reviews
★★
$45
2.8 / 5 59 reviews
$41
2.5 / 5 15 reviews
★★★
$59
0.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
$41
3.0 / 5 25 reviews
★★
$50
3.1 / 5 48 reviews
★★★
$35
3.6 / 5 808 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Nevada Historical Society: 0 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 0.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 0.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 0.2 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 0.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.1 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.4 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 1.5 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 0 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 0.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 0.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 0.2 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 0.2 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 0.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.1 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.4 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 1.5 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 2.5 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.8 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 3 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 4.2 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 7.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 8.5 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 13.2 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 13.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 16.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Reno/University Area

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elmosco69
Couples
quincy ca.
Mar 23, 2013

great stay

couldent believe how nice it was for the price . the location was great and it was very confortable. staff was really nice and accomidating. in all, we had a great stay there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Christopher g.
Family
N/A
Jul 4, 2015

one of the worst

For the price of the room in comparison to the other hotel motels the size of the room was a joke like a match box air conditioner didn't work it ran but didn't blow out any air room was extremely hot the TV was way too small and was way too high on the wall you had to strain to watch TV you had to adjust the size of the screen one of the electrical outlets had no plate on it and wasn't securely fastened and had a wire sticking out with two caps for ground one of the outlets for the TV had a plug in extention that appeared to be maxed out complained about the air conditioner front desk was nice a but it said they would fix it didn't help the over heated room shower was decent worst continental breakfast room filthy table dirty warm milk coffee decent food selection next to nothing pool was dirty pool has potential to be extremely nice of kept up ice machine room in summer is hot and humid not even if the price were below market it wouldn't have been worth it. I am extremely disappointed with super 8 this motel is way out dated and way too over priced I am glad I didn't have small children as I didn't feel safe at all with the electrical outlets and the overheated room and also the front window curtain wouldn't shut all the way letting anyone with any bit of a snoop could look in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ron.
Single
N/A
Jun 12, 2015

Softball

I stayed here because it is close to the softball field it is not fancy however it serves my purpose for a room close by and a hot shower staff was nice I have stayed there a couple of time and will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Las Vegas retired guy
Family
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 12, 2014

(Lack of) Continental Breakfast

We've stayed here several times and normally have a good experience with the room. It's a very basic room, with a frig and microwave, at a great location for our needs and very reasonable in price. The only item we consistently see lacking is the continental breakfast. Most of the time there are only two or three breakfast rolls, a few small muffins, a few frozen waffles ready for toasting (not near enough for the people staying there). It doesn't matter what time you arrive at the posted breakfast time, there is usually no bread for toast, no fruit and no hot (oatmeal) cereal packets. They provide dry cereal only but with no milk, usually no juice, and lukewarm coffee that tastes like it was made yesterday. They need to make a decision. Either provide a well stocked, basic continental breakfast that is attended to by staff every day, or do away with it. The impression we get is that they have to provide it so they throw a few cheap items out there that they may have laying around, just to get by, and thus have the excuse that the other guests must have already eaten everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared to eat breakfast out. Since it is close to the university, there are lots of little eating places nearby.

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RaJe
Family
Henderson, NV
Aug 23, 2014

Met my basic need

I needed a place for the night close to the University and this place did fill that need. The room was clean, had a fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The bed was comfortable and big. It is an old hotel, the room had a musty smell, and during the night I was woken by a bug on my arm. The continental breakfast left something to be desired and we went elsewhere to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Out of hotel to the left, two lights then left on McCarran, then two lights and there is a Walmart on the opposite right corner. There is also food and gas there. It is about 2+ miles. Convenient for college shopping.

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Car Show Enthusiast Ken
Couples
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 5, 2014

Hot August Nights car show

Was the least expensive hotel we could find for this event. The building and grounds are old, but the bed was comfortable and relatively clean. Room had refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, hair dryer. Standard thin towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Track Papa
Family
John Day, Oregon
Jul 1, 2014

Served its purpose

The hotel is old and poorly maintained but the price was right. If you are looking for an adequate cheap place to sleep. Breakfast is basic with no fruit, no yogurt, no proteins.... just toast and the cheap cereal. Stay here if cheap is the top of the priority list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George Alexander
Family
Fairfield, California
Jun 23, 2014

Very Clean, Very Affordable

First time in a super 8 motel. For first impressions it was very good. Room was very clean. Old tv but it worked. Free Wifi with very strong signals. My kids used their Ipads all night. The receptionist was very nice. Pool looked decent. Beds were comfy, a lot better than motel 6. It was a little far away, but it is so much better than the cheap ones downtown. We enjoyed our night there with no problems. If looking for an affordable motel this one I do recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The1SkyMaster
Business
Nevada
Jun 11, 2014

Nice hotel Nice locaiton

The hotel is on The University of Nevada Reno's campus. And only a few minutes from downtown Reno and the casinos. I used to think the Mom and Pop hotels downtown Reno were expensive at $60-$70 dollars, but I guess that is normal. The place could use a little up keep. The pool was nice. It goes from 3' to 7' deep. We had to plug our trailer in. It was nice that nearly every other room had a 120 outlet outside. Then there is a wall with three 220 outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Subway sandwich shop right next door. Then there is a 7-11 and a bar next to that.

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jerry paris
Family
gold hill, oregon
May 12, 2014

it was clean and comfortable

my experience at the hotel was good the appliances in room were old. TV I had to get help to get it to working but they came and fixed it. the parking was good we could park right in front of the room. the service was good and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Super 8 Reno/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hope B
Couples
Nevada City, CA
Sep 29, 2013

a dump in a good location

The blankets were worn thin from age. The looked liked they hadn't been washed in a while and I was afraid to touch them. Half the lights in the room didn't work. It was all rather dank looking. The breakfast had a variety of cheap empty carbs and the coffee was tinted brown water. The internet worked fine though and the bathroom was clean enough. The campus and Planetarium were conveniently located across the street and there is a Starbucks on campus if you want a decent cup of coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top