$30 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Sands Regency

3 stars
View map of 345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
768 reviews
Get away

I enjoyed myself. The room was clean and in well appointed. Parking was easy. The staff was friendly See full review

  • Robyn M.
  • Aug 8, 2015
Family trip

The room was roomy and clean everyday. The housekeeping staff very friendly. Check-in and check-out... See full review

  • elva d.
  • Jul 28, 2015

Visiting gamers find both a hotel and casino at the Reno Sands Regency, located in downtown Reno, Nevada. Beyond the casino, guests find a range of modern accommodations and amenities, including a large seasonal pool, a health-club on the penthouse levels, and a Jacuzzi. The Sands Regency also has a choice of dining options on the premises with several restaurants, diners, coffee shops and bars onsite. Planning a business meeting, convention or special event? The property offers space for over 300 guests, plus a wedding chapel.

Rooms

Sands Regency claims the largest standard rooms in downtown Reno, measuring in at 375 square feet. Guests wanting even more space and amenities like hot tubs, floor-to-ceiling views and spacious living rooms, consider one of the suites. The Presidential Suite in the hotel's Empress Tower is an impressive 1,150 square-feet in size, with views of both the mountains and the city. It consists of a living area complete with two sofas, large screen TV, wet bar and refrigerator, dining table and four chairs, a king bed, Jacuzzi and shower. The Luxury Suite also features both mountain views and views of the city. Over in the Dynasty Tower, the Dynasty Suite includes two doubles or a king bed, and views of the city. The 395 square-foot King Suite comes complete with whirlpool tub and shower. There are also balcony rooms in the Empress Tower. These are 377 square feet and contain two queen beds. Guests can also step out onto large balconies to enjoy the views. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available at the Sands Regency Reno.

Highlights
  • Within easy walking distance of downtown Reno attractions and the Truckee River
  • Casino has slots and video poker machines, table games, bingo, sports book and more
  • Wedding chapel, plus meeting and event space for up to 320 guests
  • Select rooms feature views of the mountains and city
  • Live entertainment on weekends at Third Street Bar
Nearby attractions
  • Casino at the Eldorado (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Knitting Factory (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Bowling Stadium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University of Nevada, Reno (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mt. Rose Ski Area (21.6 mi/34.8 km)
Policies
  • The hotel charges a resort fee of $4.99 USD plus tax. Resort fee includes: Wi-Fi access, health club/fitness centre/sauna access, airport shuttle, covered self-parking, safe deposit box, printing of boarding pass, local and toll-free call, access to seasonal pool, 10% discount on gift items at the gift shop, and $60 USD coupons.
  • Dogs are welcome at the hotel (one pet per stay, up to 50 pounds). Pet fee is $20 USD plus tax per night (above the room rate). This is inclusive of room treatment and carpet cleaning. A $50.00 refundable fee will be charged for potential damage and will be credited back at check-out after room inspection.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Regency also booked these hotels.

★★★
$35
3.6 / 5 808 reviews
★★★★
$36
3.7 / 5 483 reviews
★★★★
$55
4.0 / 5 641 reviews
★★★
$37
2.9 / 5 62 reviews
★★★★
$49
4.0 / 5 393 reviews
★★★★
$92
4.4 / 5 16 reviews
★★
$45
2.8 / 5 59 reviews
★★
$59
2.8 / 5 21 reviews
★★
$59
3.5 / 5 57 reviews

Sands Regency Rooms

Tower Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.6 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.1 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.7 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Dining

Arby's/Cabana Cafe
Grab a quick snack at these outlets.
The Buffet at the Sands
Fresh New Flavors Daily. All-you-can-eat Buffet. Open daily at 4pm.
Copa Bar & Grill
Open 4-9 p.m. daily.
The Original Mel's Diner
Enjoy a Melburger, Melfries, or a delicious thick milk shake at this classic favorite. Open 24 hours daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sands has over 12,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space to fit your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 768
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rachelray
Couples
Salinas
Aug 2, 2015

Romance Trip

Our room was nice and clean BUT our room was next to the elevator. Sounded like a train The lobby and elevator smelled so badly of cigarettes. Poor showing for black jack Tables.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Unsatisfied50
Couples
Rochester
Aug 2, 2015

Not Bad

The Sands is an old place built back in the 70's so I don't expect it to be as nice as the new casino's. The room was fine and it's location in the middle between the towers allowed me to listen to the music by the pool from my room. Wifi was just ok not very impressed. TV was an old type but worked (considering we were not there to watch TV anyway). Gambling was pathetic, I don't expect to come away a winner but would like to have felt that I was actually part of the game! Food was good but service slow (but the person was very nice).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Exploring Duo
Couples
San Francisco
Jul 23, 2015

place to stay

We were bitten by bed bugs. The hotel attracts a rough clientele. The pool area is messy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Judith C.
Couples
N/A
Jul 8, 2015

Much needed time away

When we arrived the line for the registration was very long and when we asked about the room and what view we would have they explained we would see the strip and can see the fireworks from our room. As we entered our room, I was a little suprised in the condition of the room, the dirty yellow from smoke all over the switches, outlets, alarm, vents, etc. the room was not at all what I explected for the price. The room had two small chairs to sit in and a bed. The tv didn't move left or right it was angled towards the bed so we had to sit oddly to watch tv unless we layed down. There were not enought towels and when we asked for more towels they came and were dirty stained. It was not good. Over all the location of the hotel was nice and we walked everywhere, but sadly the room, odor and all was not good. The elevators were scary. The sounds and the car was not level with the floor when the car doors opened. We had to close and go to another floor and back down again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angelica O.
Couples
Stockton
May 20, 2015

Nice

Nice place to stay for a couple days. Staff was really nice. Room smelled good. Was not loud and I was able to sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nabbo Bhai
Couples
N/A
May 1, 2015

Pretty good for the price!

My wife and I stayed for a few days and it was pretty good for the price we paid. Convenient parking and pretty close to the entertainment stuff... wouldn't mind staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trippy girl
Couples
Brooklyn
Apr 6, 2015

Burners welcome.

Nice room and sweet pool parties. Stayed before and after the Burn. very accommodating. excellent location, close to restaurants and the other hotels. Very helpful staff with all the dusty bags.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe
Couples
Sacramento
Mar 23, 2015

quiet friendly clean friendly rv park

Nice location near river, clean and staff are friendly. Good place to stop on your travels. Buffet entertainment and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle C.
Couples
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Fine for the money

It was just a quick over-nighter at an inexpensive hotel. The bed was quite comfy. Good food at restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't forget to have your $5 coupon on ya for the Copa!

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hans3641
Couples
Sugar Hill
Jan 9, 2015

Overnight in Reno

Room was fine. Shower was great. Has those hangers that I hate that you can't hang anywhere but the closet. No coffee maker in the room so had to go to Mel's diner and pay and arm and a leg for breakfast or go off property. We weren't there for dinner which looked like a great value. We were only there one night. Terrific value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top