$30 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 4, 2014 Check-out: Nov 5, 2014

Sands Regency

3 stars
345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
802 reviews
BSU Game

Although the carpets were worn and stained you get that at a lot of places. But the room was clean... See full review

  • LiL Debs
  • Oct 14, 2014
Fun nights in Reno

Most fun ever!! Distance to the casinos was great but the sands is a casino so even better. See full review

  • Nevada78
  • Aug 26, 2014
Newly renovated deluxe hotel/casino, the Sands boasts the largest standard rooms in Reno. A fun multi-color decor is the perfect accent for the floor-to-ceiling windows. Great value property. Must be 21 years of age to check into hotel. Amenities include outdoor pool, 24-hour room service, hair/nail salon, free health club, ski and bike rentals.

All new at the Sands - pet friendly rooms! Dogs are now welcome at The Sands in Reno - one pet per stay, up to 50 pounds. The charge is $15.00 per night (above the room rate) which covers room treatment and carpet cleaning. A $50.00 refundable fee will be charged which covers potential damage and will be credited back at check-out upon a room inspection.

Hotel Map

39.5286 -119.8185
Area served
Reno, Tahoe, Carson City
Nearby airports
Nearby Airport Reno/Tahoe International - 5 miles
Area description
In the heart of downtown Reno.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Regency also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sands Regency Rooms

Tower Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.6 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.1 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.7 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sands has over 12,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space to fit your needs.

Dining

Arby's/Cabana Cafe
Grab a quick snack at these outlets.
The Buffet at the Sands
Fresh New Flavors Daily. All-you-can-eat Buffet. Open daily at 4pm.
Copa Bar & Grill
Open 4-9 p.m. daily.
The Original Mel's Diner
Enjoy a Melburger, Melfries, or a delicious thick milk shake at this classic favorite. Open 24 hours daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (802)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 802
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Betsy
Business
Fairhope, AL
Apr 2, 2011

Terrible's Sands Regency

The name Terrible describes this hotel. I came to Reno to see if it would be a good place to retire. Yes, it is but...don't stay at this hotel. It is in a seedy, rundown neighborhood. I saw very few women outside. The people gambling in the casino were in general, dirty, stinky and unkempt. Not all were, but, most looked homeless. I was told not to walk anywhere around this area, just get in your car and go somewhere else. The room was clean but had some problems. When I arrived, the front desk couldn't find my reservation. They kept me waiting for a half hour and then told me it wasn't through [...] but was from [...]. ??? In the room, the carpet was peeling away from the floor, the metal plate on the front door jam was pried away from the wood. The picture window was so dirty that it was hard to see outside most of the time. The TV was smnall and had poor reception on some of the main channels. All in all, I would never stay here again or even go in their door. It was bad!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Red Robin restaurant in Reno was excellent, Patricia and the chef there did a fantastic job. I have allergies and they were very diligent in providing a safe and tasty meal for me. I would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ryche Fan
Business
Fort Pierce, Florida
Jul 31, 2013

what a dump !

stayed there as I was in town to see a band at the Knitting Factory and wanted a cheap place within walking distant. It took them over 25 minutes to "find" my reservation as I'd done it thru this website, the room, even though it was non-smoking it stunk of cigarettes, the carpet was threadbare, they hadn't cleaned the bathroom very well, hairs in the shower, there was no ice bucket and the ice machine didn't work either, on their website they said they had wireless internet, yeah for $11.99 for a day, the place looked like it needs a major upgrade, I usually stay in reasonably priced hotels so it's not like I'm fussy. The only plus was the $1-50 beers in the casino, oh and getting propositioned by a hook er while sat at the bar didn't go down to well either, my advice pay the extra and stay elsewhere !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Booncha
Business
Lawrenceville,GA
Apr 12, 2011

What's an old and ugly place!!!!

This is my 2nd consecutive year in Reno and staying at Sands Regency. I was there for the USBC Open Championship and start with not so friendly attitude at the front desk to the room that I was staying with lound noise from the heater/air con. unit, doors slamming and talking lound in the hall way and unforgettable rude macho security personel. I know there is no 3rd time for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Oct 7, 2010

Horrible

The Sands Hotel was a scary place. The kind of people there were not there to play the slots. I was scared to leave my room and the noise around my room was something else. I check out as soon as I got in my room. I did not even want to leave I was so uncomfortable. I have never cried over something like that! I lost my money over the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not happy with Sands [...]
Business
Oregon
Oct 14, 2010

Not good service from Sands [...]

I requested a non-smoking room when booking the room [...]. When I arrived at the Sands I was informed that that all of the non-smoking rooms were full and all they had were smoking rooms. i explained that i requested a non-smoking room [...]. The gentleman ( who was the front desk supervisor) I was talking to told me to the effect well all we have are smoking rooms that all the non-smoking rooms were taken by those who checked in before me and there were no other options. I agian explained to him my previous request of a non-smoking room he agian told me that there were none left and maybe he could change the room tomorrow. He offered no apology just a take it or leave it attitude.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The small retro-style dinner that is attached to the hotel does not have good tasting food. It is nice that it is open 24hrs but not worth eating at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Or
Aug 10, 2010

not good...

The hotel staff didn't care about any of my needs or a friend's needs that was staying in a separate room, they wouldn't help either of us for any of the problems we were encountering. There was no fan in the bathroom, air circulation in the room was nonexistent. There was holes in the carpet in the rooms. There was a gap about half an inch below the door of the room so you could hear anybody walking by or talking at any time of the day. The shower temperature was constantly fluctuating and would change dramatically when a toilet would flush from another room (which you could hear pretty easily).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boron, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Not what I expected

I spent more tima away from the hotel than I did in it, because it was not what I expected. The pictures on the websited did not match the truth of how it really looked. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
roberelfeo
Business
San Diego
Oct 5, 2010

Real bad experience!!

Not the best place to stay, the whole hotel and casino are very dirty and smell bad, not going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Oct 12, 2009

Very bad hotel

I will never go back to this hotel one time only experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hansome dan
Business
truckee ca
Aug 1, 2014

not a good place to stay

rooms did not look like the pictuyrs in there ad and I was over charge on my price will never go there ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

stay some where but not there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top