$25 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Sands Regency

3 stars
345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
808 reviews
BSU Game

Although the carpets were worn and stained you get that at a lot of places. But the room was clean... See full review

  • LiL Debs
  • Oct 14, 2014
Fun nights in Reno

Most fun ever!! Distance to the casinos was great but the sands is a casino so even better. See full review

  • Nevada78
  • Aug 26, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel with casino, pool, restaurants and more

Visiting gamers find both a hotel and casino at the Reno Sands Regency, located in downtown Reno, Nevada. Beyond the casino, guests find a range of modern accommodations and amenities, including a large seasonal pool, a health-club on the penthouse levels, and a Jacuzzi. The Sands Regency also has a choice of dining options on the premises with several restaurants, diners, coffee shops and bars onsite. Planning a business meeting, convention or special event? The property offers space for over 300 guests, plus a wedding chapel.

Reasons to stay
  • Within easy walking distance of downtown Reno attractions and the Truckee River
  • Casino has slots and video poker machines, table games, bingo, sports book and more
  • Wedding chapel, plus meeting and event space for up to 320 guests
  • Select rooms feature views of the mountains and city
  • Live entertainment on weekends at Third Street Bar
Sands Regency Rooms

Sands Regency claims the largest standard rooms in downtown Reno, measuring in at 375 square feet. Guests wanting even more space and amenities like hot tubs, floor-to-ceiling views and spacious living rooms, consider one of the suites. The Presidential Suite in the hotel's Empress Tower is an impressive 1,150 square-feet in size, with views of both the mountains and the city. It consists of a living area complete with two sofas, large screen TV, wet bar and refrigerator, dining table and four chairs, a king bed, Jacuzzi and shower. The Luxury Suite also features both mountain views and views of the city. Over in the Dynasty Tower, the Dynasty Suite includes two doubles or a king bed, and views of the city. The 395 square-foot King Suite comes complete with whirlpool tub and shower. There are also balcony rooms in the Empress Tower. These are 377 square feet and contain two queen beds. Guests can also step out onto large balconies to enjoy the views. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available at the Sands Regency Reno.

Things to do nearby
  • Casino at the Eldorado (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Knitting Factory (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Bowling Stadium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University of Nevada, Reno (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mt. Rose Ski Area (21.6 mi/34.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a resort fee of $4.99 USD plus tax. Resort fee includes: Wi-Fi access, health club/fitness centre/sauna access, airport shuttle, covered self-parking, safe deposit box, printing of boarding pass, local and toll-free call, access to seasonal pool, 10% discount on gift items at the gift shop, and $60 USD coupons.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Regency also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sands Regency Rooms

Tower Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.6 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.1 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.7 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sands has over 12,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space to fit your needs.

Dining

The Buffet at the Sands
Fresh New Flavors Daily. All-you-can-eat Buffet. Open daily at 4pm.
Copa Bar & Grill
Open 4-9 p.m. daily.
The Original Mel's Diner
Enjoy a Melburger, Melfries, or a delicious thick milk shake at this classic favorite. Open 24 hours daily.
Arby's/Cabana Cafe
Grab a quick snack at these outlets.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (808)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 808
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
San Francisco
Jun 10, 2010

Dog-friendy, guest-hostile

The room didn't have an iron so we called housekeeping to borrow one. This has happened to me at lots of hotels, and it's usually no big deal. The Sands, however, felt a need to hassle me about it an hour after lending me the iron to see if I was done with it. Was it the only iron in the entire hotel? The following morning, housekeeping knocked on my door before 8a! And again at 9a and 10a. Checkout wasn't until noon, and I imagine that most guests at a casino hotel sleep in on a Sunday morning. It felt like the Sands made their contempt for me very clear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jennette
Business
Denair,CA
Feb 26, 2012

HORRIBLE!!!!

Upon check-in, the staff was not very friendly, and once in the room, we shortly relized that this was NOT going to be a pleasant weekend!! We had dogs barking from neighboring rooms, and the other guest were EXTREMLEY rude, and by that, i mean, they had NO repect for others that MAY be sleeping at 3 am!!! The walls were SUPER thin, i could here people in the halls, outside...and NOT to mention, we heard the elevator motor ALL night long!!! The shower was horrible, and there was NO outlets that worked in the room!! I will NEVER stay at this hotel for as long as i live, as a matter of fact, my family left after the first night, and payed $20 more to stay at the Silver Legacy, and had a WONDERFUL experience!!! I demanded our money back, but they told me that because i booked through a travel site, they couldn't help me!! Take my advice...DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Awful Awful Burger is WONDERFUL!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sister and The Sisters
Business
San Pablo, CA
Aug 13, 2012

Just Not Here

It was awful. First they checked us into a room that someone was already staying in. Not to mention that the room only had one bed when there was three of us. When we asked to be moved we got a lot of attitude from the desk clerk. When we finally get a room the bathtub was dirty and was full of ants, the rug had large obivous stains and the room smelled so bad we went out and bought air freshener. We enjoy Reno just not that hotel. We all agreed to NEVER stay there again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chris.c
Business
East Bay, CA
Apr 8, 2013

good enough if you're going to be out most of the time

If you just need someplace to crash between activities, the Sands is fine. The bed appeared clean (I wouldn't check it with a blacklight - likely the effects will be similar to ipecac), but the bathroom was not. There were long black hairs adhered to the shower stall and toilet lid AFTER maid service "cleaned" the room. Then again, the location is good, the minimums are low, and when you're here with the boys for a bachelor party, it kinda works. Now I'm off to get a fresh immunization panel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

cheap tables and 1.49 beers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cappy
Business
Nevada, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Sands regency

Location was in a bad part of the neighborhood. Had a man threaten my friends and I. Just felt unsafe!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 24, 2007

The rooms are not very ...

The rooms are not very clean, everything looks very worn out. The hot water was barely working, almost like taking a cold shower. This is unacceptable as it was 22F outside. The heater wasn't working properly either as the room was 65F the whole time there, and I had set it to 72F. Since the room was cold, the blankets weren't sufficient so I had to wear my jacket to sleep. Bathroom was not cleaned properly, there was some pubic hair on the toilet seat when I arrived. Which really grossed me out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Casinos, Casinos, Casinos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WPB, FL
Sep 23, 2009

Are you Kidding?

I will not return. TV Remote did not work and beds were old and stiff.Reported to front desk and no one cared. 3 days of being uncomfortable. I guess they want you in the casino as you can not be in the room resting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shmayla
Business
Ogden, UT, USA
Sep 9, 2011

It could have been better....

The hotel itself seemed really nice and at a great price, But when we got in to register and had to stand in line for 25 min, There were 4 employees but only 1 seemed to be trained at the computer. While the line got bigger and longer 2 other employees proceeded to stand there, with nothing to do but watch. it took us another 30 min to get a replacement key, and than to check out. with just as many employees as the first time but again only 1 trained to check in and out!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Run
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 1, 2010

Reno 10/30/10

Not a great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
they made it right
Business
san jose, ca
Aug 10, 2011

they made it right

what im not saying will say it best. I have stayed here once a year for 10 years but this year it went down hill. I have never had to tell a manager how bad my stay was until now. So they didnt charge us for the room because of how bad the stay was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top