$36 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Sands Regency

3 stars
View map of 345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
825 reviews
Quick Trip.

The room is very big but outdated. However, there is a small vanity next to the bathroom. I would... See full review

  • SuperSaverSF
  • Jan 21, 2015
Nice Hotel

I love Sands more then Circus Circus. The room is bigger and bed is more firmer. However, parking... See full review

  • Joey9123
  • Jan 5, 2015
Budget-friendly hotel with casino, pool, restaurants and more

Visiting gamers find both a hotel and casino at the Reno Sands Regency, located in downtown Reno, Nevada. Beyond the casino, guests find a range of modern accommodations and amenities, including a large seasonal pool, a health-club on the penthouse levels, and a Jacuzzi. The Sands Regency also has a choice of dining options on the premises with several restaurants, diners, coffee shops and bars onsite. Planning a business meeting, convention or special event? The property offers space for over 300 guests, plus a wedding chapel.

Reasons to stay
  • Within easy walking distance of downtown Reno attractions and the Truckee River
  • Casino has slots and video poker machines, table games, bingo, sports book and more
  • Wedding chapel, plus meeting and event space for up to 320 guests
  • Select rooms feature views of the mountains and city
  • Live entertainment on weekends at Third Street Bar
Sands Regency Rooms

Sands Regency claims the largest standard rooms in downtown Reno, measuring in at 375 square feet. Guests wanting even more space and amenities like hot tubs, floor-to-ceiling views and spacious living rooms, consider one of the suites. The Presidential Suite in the hotel's Empress Tower is an impressive 1,150 square-feet in size, with views of both the mountains and the city. It consists of a living area complete with two sofas, large screen TV, wet bar and refrigerator, dining table and four chairs, a king bed, Jacuzzi and shower. The Luxury Suite also features both mountain views and views of the city. Over in the Dynasty Tower, the Dynasty Suite includes two doubles or a king bed, and views of the city. The 395 square-foot King Suite comes complete with whirlpool tub and shower. There are also balcony rooms in the Empress Tower. These are 377 square feet and contain two queen beds. Guests can also step out onto large balconies to enjoy the views. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available at the Sands Regency Reno.

Things to do nearby
  • Casino at the Eldorado (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Knitting Factory (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Bowling Stadium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University of Nevada, Reno (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mt. Rose Ski Area (21.6 mi/34.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a resort fee of $4.99 USD plus tax. Resort fee includes: Wi-Fi access, health club/fitness centre/sauna access, airport shuttle, covered self-parking, safe deposit box, printing of boarding pass, local and toll-free call, access to seasonal pool, 10% discount on gift items at the gift shop, and $60 USD coupons.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Regency also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sands Regency Rooms

Tower Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.6 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.1 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.7 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sands has over 12,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space to fit your needs.

Dining

Arby's/Cabana Cafe
Grab a quick snack at these outlets.
The Buffet at the Sands
Fresh New Flavors Daily. All-you-can-eat Buffet. Open daily at 4pm.
Copa Bar & Grill
Open 4-9 p.m. daily.
The Original Mel's Diner
Enjoy a Melburger, Melfries, or a delicious thick milk shake at this classic favorite. Open 24 hours daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (825)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 825
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lindat
Business
oregon
Aug 17, 2011

wedding

Room had 2 full sized beds, there were 3 in our party but were only given one washcloth and 3 hand towels. Requested more washcloths but were told that they didn't have any. Could have used a frige to keep cold water in. Stained carpets, but overall clean,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JD Willy
Business
SF, CA
Jun 11, 2012

Not good

Surly employees, old place. Bad all around. SEriously, go Harrahs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks in Harrahs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissatisfied Hotel guest
Business
Oregon
Aug 14, 2012

Dreadful stay

Casino/hotel was run down. Desk clerk was nice. When we opened the door to our room the beds were unmade, dirty towels on the floor. Nice bellman brought us keys for a different room. At first this room seemed acceptable, but even though it was supposedly cleaned we found used soap, hair and toothpaste marks on bathroom counter. Pillows propped on bed as if someone used room after it was cleaned. Some rather unsavory characters outside of hotel. Will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oma Mouse
Business
Sands Reno Nevads
May 1, 2013

Am I having a nightmare????

We had two rooms, one regular and a handicapped room, the rooms needed a lot of TLC. The carpets was worn and dirty. There was no iron, ironing board, coffee maker microwave or refrigerator in room, one chair no table.They told us we could upgrade for another $40.00 for each room, so we did. When we got to the new rooms all it had was a refrigerator 2 chairs and a table. This was not worth the upgrade.The buffet restaurant was not very appealing, it looked like a greasy spoon restaurant. Mels Diner which is a very famous restaurant in San Francisco, was a dump and the food was less than average. I could write more but I guess you get the idea that our stay was not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
G-G-Ma
Business
Klamath Falls, OR
Feb 10, 2010

Price the only good thing

We could not tell from the advertising if there was an indoor pool - so did not get to swim because we were there in the winter. The price was okay, one of the reasons for staying. Bumped into a lot of transients-homeless-drunk people. Had to go from one tower down the elevator thru the lobby and up another elevator to the 18th floor to get to the fitness room. Jacuzzi was very small, couples making out. No TV schedules or no movie channels. We were not in the room that much so was not too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not expect too much

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Dakota
Oct 18, 2010

Not so deluxe

I didn't see any signs of recent renovations on our stay. The decor in our room looked like it hadn't been changed since maybe the '70s, and the non-smoking room smelled smoky. We paid to use a crib, and when they brought it, it was completely unsafe: 2 bars were loose, and the entire crib would bend over. We called to complain, and they did eventually find us another crib that was safer, but still old and missing parts. They explained the delay in receiving the replacement crib by saying they were having trouble with the elevator. Not exactly reassuring, especially when staying on the 14th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
omib
Business
Tucson
Apr 7, 2009

Very bad place

My daughter and I had a bad experience,no wonder they are going out of business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Elderado. Casino best place in Town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Dec 26, 2009

Worst customer services!

During Christmas Eve, I booked for 1 night and when showed up and got in a long line, I was told they couldn't locate my reservation so asked me to go to the internet cafe and paid for $3 to get the confirmation printouts from my personal email! Then had me waited for another 15 minutes to get the room. I stayed in this hotel a couple times in the past and everytime you stay there, they will give you the $10 off coupon for next visit and I have used it before but this time they refused to honor it! I'm not going to stay there again no matter how much you save, because of the way how they mis-treated their customers! I rather pay a little more and get the services you expect else where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chicago Jim
Business
Chicago Illinois
Jan 6, 2010

Terrible is Right

The worst, room 806 in the Regency Tower, a door in this area slams so hard it's guaranted to keep you up all night. Broken glass all over the floor in bathroom from a lamp that fell out of alight fixture. Staff/front really missmanaged this issue when informed about it. The worst

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eldorado Sunday bunch buffet is awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Glover
Business
Redding, CA
Jul 1, 2009

noisey and bed hard as a rock

I would never stay here there again. The bed was rock hard with no fitted sheet on the mattress. There was a loud noise that was constant all night long at the hotel. Worst place I have ever stayed. Also, the tv remote did not work at all. The mattresses were very very old - creeped me out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top