$38 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Sands Regency

3 stars
View map of 345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
826 out of 826
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Atouch2much
Business
Eaton, CO
Jun 27, 2012

Loud and rude guests

We had loud and rude guests the hole time, we had upgraded our room to a suite and at 4:00am we had guests across the hall screaming and talking about how they couldn't get room service, the girl next door was crying and yelling at someone on the phone. We called security and they only took care of the people across the hall. The girl continued on for the next 2 hours. The next night a group of guys moved in next door and the were rowdy all night whistling and yelling we called security they were supposed to give them a warning, not 5 min after they left the guests continued to whistle and yell we waited until about 2am and called security again at this point they were supposed to be asked to leave, however around 4am they were back and continued to be rowdy. I am all for a good party but this was the worst vacation I had ever taken. The "suite" was next to the elevator and the maids closet and I would have gotten more sleep if I had camped out in the casino. We will never go back and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to sleep at all. If your young and want to party for days it would be great. The Staff was not helpful nor could most of them speak English you could understand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at the Eldorado

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ms. Annabell
Business
antioch, ca
Jun 26, 2012

Short vacation

I haven't been to Reno in about 10 years, I always went on the bus but this time I decided to drive. I had never stayed in the Sands before, the room was pretty clean and the size was ok. What I don't understand is that if check out is at 12:00pm why is it that the housekeeping comes knocking at your door at 8am? And if you don't put your sign to have your room clean on the door they never even come and change the garbage, or give you fresh towels. I had to call the front desk 5 times just to get the garbage changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The only reason we stayed there was because my husband like to gamble early in the morning and the machines are right down stairs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Natron5k
Business
Elko, NV
Aug 1, 2012

Just spend a few more dollars stay a few blocks down

Limited TV stations, average diner-style food options, unenthused yet pleasant staff. Has an inexplicable icky charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk away from the boring food here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
minivan mom
Business
Layton, Utah
Aug 6, 2012

Clean room, but extremely slow staff

The room we stayed in was big and clean. We were happy with that. However, the staff was extremely slow. Check in took a really long time and there were long lines. We also ordered an extra bed that we had to call on a number of times, being transferred to the front desk then to the operator then to housekeeping who then said they needed to check with the front desk. What a run around! It was over an hour before we got the extra bed. Then we got a phone call in the middle of the night while we were all asleep saying that they were at our door with the extra bed. We already had one!!! We also got another knock on the door really early in the morning. Talk about a very un-restful nights sleep! Obviously the staff doesn't communicate well or quickly. We were also disappointed how much smoke smell was in the hotel. There were no-smoking signs in the casino right along with a man smoking right next to it. Maybe that no-smoking rule should be better enforced. I was happy with the rate we received on the room. Not happy that it was an extra $10 for the extra bed. Also, disappointed that there was not free wi-fi. I thought all hotels had it nowadays. The Sands will not get our business next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrMoscow
Business
Breckenridge, CO
Aug 9, 2012

Good for sleeping... if the guy next door isn't showering.

After a 16 hour cross country drive, this was probably not the best choice in hotels in which to spend a peaceful evening recuperating. PROS - Cheap CONS - There was a 10 minute wait in line to get key cards. - The receptionist wasn't very friendly. And asked for an additional $2 "city tax" which she took in cash, and for which she offered no receipt. Legit? Dunno. - No cups or coffee in room. - Wifi costs extra... and doesn't work in the room. - Not the cleanest, but if you arrive late, the lights aren't very bright, so you may not notice. - The place is old and in need of renovation. I'd start with the carpeting... but at this price, you're going to get the cream of the crop tenants, I suppose. - Floor 8 REEKED of marijuana. We got blasted in the elevator as someone got off there. Luckily, we were on 12. - The showers somehow make an incredibly annoying, loud high frequency pitch. If the neighbor is running his, you won't be able to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't waste time on trying to get the WIFI to work. There's a computer kiosk by the lobby registration desk where you can check into your flight, and print a boarding pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
works for me...
Business
sacramento
Aug 13, 2012

Not bad...

Last minute trip for Hot August nights so the price was decent, location was good...about a 5 minute walk to Virginia street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CDelgado
Business
Brentwood, CA
Aug 28, 2012

Not family friendly

The room was comfortable but I would not recommend this hotel to others. I did not feel safe, the staff was just as scary as the patrons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveling ma and pa
Business
vancouver,washington
Sep 23, 2012

not to great

The rooms wasnt to bad, but i ask for handycap shower. But all i got was bathtub it did have handycap bars, but they was to low to tub, couldnt get into shower for four days just spung bath. Then we wanted to go to the buffet but there was no elavator for me to go up to it, i had to go to the service elavator. And threw the kitchen and that wasnt clean looking. Thank god i heard on the news some body else bought it andgoing to fix it up. And the food was aweful. But we did havea greattime in reno. Donna bethke

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a geat time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
again
Oct 16, 2012

Unfriendly

The entire staff is unfriendly, some more than others. Two maids walked away from a question, even though they talked to us in English. The bellboy was annoyed he didn't get more money. The beds are old and bouncy,. Hardly any amenities in the room. Check in staff complained because I didn't come in the usual way, although I followed their check in signs. Reno has a new tax of $2/night on every room, in ADDITION to the other taxes. In short, stay in Sparks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ted's Trip Experience
Business
Saratoga, California
Oct 29, 2012

Cheap Room in Reno

The walls were paper thin and could hear people in room next door & hallway. Stains on carpet. Lamps were loose, faucet handle loose, and room looked like it took some abuse. Front desk, doorman and cleaning group were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from main strip (Virginia Street).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top