$29 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Sands Regency

3 stars
345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
794 reviews
Fun nights in Reno

Most fun ever!! Distance to the casinos was great but the sands is a casino so even better. See full review

  • Nevada78
  • Aug 26, 2014
Best hotel in Reno

The staff is friendly the food is great and reasonable except for Copa and the Buffet. Mels dinner... See full review

  • dyannapri
  • Aug 19, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel with casino, pool, restaurants and more

Visiting gamers find both a hotel and casino at the Reno Sands Regency, located in downtown Reno, Nevada. Beyond the casino, guests find a range of modern accommodations and amenities, including a large seasonal pool, a health-club on the penthouse levels, and a Jacuzzi. The Sands Regency also has a choice of dining options on the premises with several restaurants, diners, coffee shops and bars onsite. Planning a business meeting, convention or special event? The property offers space for over 300 guests, plus a wedding chapel.

Reasons to stay
  • Within easy walking distance of downtown Reno attractions and the Truckee River
  • Casino has slots and video poker machines, table games, bingo, sports book and more
  • Wedding chapel, plus meeting and event space for up to 320 guests
  • Select rooms feature views of the mountains and city
  • Live entertainment on weekends at Third Street Bar
Sands Regency Rooms

Sands Regency claims the largest standard rooms in downtown Reno, measuring in at 375 square feet. Guests wanting even more space and amenities like hot tubs, floor-to-ceiling views and spacious living rooms, consider one of the suites. The Presidential Suite in the hotel's Empress Tower is an impressive 1,150 square-feet in size, with views of both the mountains and the city. It consists of a living area complete with two sofas, large screen TV, wet bar and refrigerator, dining table and four chairs, a king bed, Jacuzzi and shower. The Luxury Suite also features both mountain views and views of the city. Over in the Dynasty Tower, the Dynasty Suite includes two doubles or a king bed, and views of the city. The 395 square-foot King Suite comes complete with whirlpool tub and shower. There are also balcony rooms in the Empress Tower. These are 377 square feet and contain two queen beds. Guests can also step out onto large balconies to enjoy the views. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available at the Sands Regency Reno.

Things to do nearby
  • Casino at the Eldorado (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Knitting Factory (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Bowling Stadium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University of Nevada, Reno (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mt. Rose Ski Area (21.6 mi/34.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a resort fee of $4.99 USD plus tax. Resort fee includes: Wi-Fi access, health club/fitness centre/sauna access, airport shuttle, covered self-parking, safe deposit box, printing of boarding pass, local and toll-free call, access to seasonal pool, 10% discount on gift items at the gift shop, and $60 USD coupons.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.5286 -119.8185
Area served
Reno, Tahoe, Carson City
Nearby airports
Nearby Airport Reno/Tahoe International - 5 miles
Area description
In the heart of downtown Reno.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Regency also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sands Regency Rooms

Tower Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.6 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.1 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.7 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sands has over 12,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space to fit your needs.

Dining

Arby's/Cabana Cafe
Grab a quick snack at these outlets.
The Buffet at the Sands
Fresh New Flavors Daily. All-you-can-eat Buffet. Open daily at 4pm.
Copa Bar & Grill
Open 4-9 p.m. daily.
The Original Mel's Diner
Enjoy a Melburger, Melfries, or a delicious thick milk shake at this classic favorite. Open 24 hours daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (794)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
794 out of 794
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
roberelfeo
San Diego
Oct 5, 2010

Real bad experience!!

Not the best place to stay, the whole hotel and casino are very dirty and smell bad, not going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling carpenter
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 12, 2013

Ick

This is a old, run-down hotel/casino. The staff and clients have all had hard lives and converged at this point. Only one of three elevators worked, drunks were fighting by the front entrance, and left over food from room service sat in the hallway all day. It seemed less hotel and more old European hostel. The room was clean but old. The electrical outlets in the room were so old they wouldn't keep plugs in them. Trim was missing all over the room. Sheets were clean though. THe casino is basically where Reno's destitute hang out in the cold weather. Not fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Copa restaurant attached to the hotel had great service and really good burgers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boron, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Not what I expected

I spent more tima away from the hotel than I did in it, because it was not what I expected. The pictures on the websited did not match the truth of how it really looked. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Or
Aug 10, 2010

not good...

The hotel staff didn't care about any of my needs or a friend's needs that was staying in a separate room, they wouldn't help either of us for any of the problems we were encountering. There was no fan in the bathroom, air circulation in the room was nonexistent. There was holes in the carpet in the rooms. There was a gap about half an inch below the door of the room so you could hear anybody walking by or talking at any time of the day. The shower temperature was constantly fluctuating and would change dramatically when a toilet would flush from another room (which you could hear pretty easily).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Giant9er
Oakland, Ca
Aug 26, 2012

for a cheap get away

The hotel is old out of date and the amenities in the room, well lets just say were lacking at best! No microwave, refrigerator, dirty carpet etc. The price was right but I guess you get what you pay for! I asked for an iron and ironing board and was brought a decent iron and a sheet! That's all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stanford, CA
Apr 22, 2009

so so

needs to be clianer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Langley, BC
Sep 5, 2008

Not as happy as have been

The Sands Hotel in Reno was where we stayed the week of Sept.8-14,2008. We were not happy with the ameneties/furniture in our room. There was only a small 3 drawer dresser,5 hangers,and no where else to store clothing. We always unpack, especially when we are spending a week. We called and asked for more hangers,got only 5. We enquired about getting a small dresser of drawers. Were told not possible,and giving a very bad attitude. Asked to speak to supervisor, got same response. Also, the bed was as hard as a rock. Now I realize you can't satisfy everyone but we have never had a bed this hard anywhere before. Maybe they were replaced, but might suggest going to a mid-firmness. The walk to the pool from our room was through the hotel gambling,past the check in desk,then across the parking lot where the pool is located. Can be very embarassing for some people to be walking that route while in a bathing suit. Also feel might have a covered area to direct better to pool than randomly going through the parking lot. I will say the staff were mostly courteous/helpful/friendly but I don't think I will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
again
Oct 16, 2012

Unfriendly

The entire staff is unfriendly, some more than others. Two maids walked away from a question, even though they talked to us in English. The bellboy was annoyed he didn't get more money. The beds are old and bouncy,. Hardly any amenities in the room. Check in staff complained because I didn't come in the usual way, although I followed their check in signs. Reno has a new tax of $2/night on every room, in ADDITION to the other taxes. In short, stay in Sparks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Burlington, VT
Jun 19, 2007

My review of Sands Regency

Staff did not go out of their way to help guest. They were short of staff for serving drinks at the pool and we were told not to bother calling again, they were not going to serve us. Short staffing should not be the customers problem. The steak at the buffet was not all that great. Mel's diner was slow service even at 1:00 a.m. in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelermusic
Business
usa
Sep 18, 2011

Smelled funny

the hotel smelled like coconut butter and stale water It was gross dark and depressing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search