$30 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Sands Regency

3 stars
345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
794 reviews
Reno Weekend

Nice hotel, good customer service and an excellent value See full review

  • Marvinatlarge
  • Jul 1, 2014
Good place to spend the nighttimes

Pleasant and quiet. Located close to National Bowling Stadium where I was bowling in the National... See full review

  • Paul from CT
  • May 24, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel with casino, pool, restaurants and more

Visiting gamers find both a hotel and casino at the Reno Sands Regency, located in downtown Reno, Nevada. Beyond the casino, guests find a range of modern accommodations and amenities, including a large seasonal pool, a health-club on the penthouse levels, and a Jacuzzi. The Sands Regency also has a choice of dining options on the premises with several restaurants, diners, coffee shops and bars onsite. Planning a business meeting, convention or special event? The property offers space for over 300 guests, plus a wedding chapel.

Reasons to stay
  • Within easy walking distance of downtown Reno attractions and the Truckee River
  • Casino has slots and video poker machines, table games, bingo, sports book and more
  • Wedding chapel, plus meeting and event space for up to 320 guests
  • Select rooms feature views of the mountains and city
  • Live entertainment on weekends at Third Street Bar
Sands Regency Rooms

Sands Regency claims the largest standard rooms in downtown Reno, measuring in at 375 square feet. Guests wanting even more space and amenities like hot tubs, floor-to-ceiling views and spacious living rooms, consider one of the suites. The Presidential Suite in the hotel's Empress Tower is an impressive 1,150 square-feet in size, with views of both the mountains and the city. It consists of a living area complete with two sofas, large screen TV, wet bar and refrigerator, dining table and four chairs, a king bed, Jacuzzi and shower. The Luxury Suite also features both mountain views and views of the city. Over in the Dynasty Tower, the Dynasty Suite includes two doubles or a king bed, and views of the city. The 395 square-foot King Suite comes complete with whirlpool tub and shower. There are also balcony rooms in the Empress Tower. These are 377 square feet and contain two queen beds. Guests can also step out onto large balconies to enjoy the views. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available at the Sands Regency Reno.

Things to do nearby
  • Casino at the Eldorado (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Knitting Factory (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Bowling Stadium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University of Nevada, Reno (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mt. Rose Ski Area (21.6 mi/34.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a resort fee of $4.99 USD plus tax. Resort fee includes: Wi-Fi access, health club/fitness centre/sauna access, airport shuttle, covered self-parking, safe deposit box, printing of boarding pass, local and toll-free call, access to seasonal pool, 10% discount on gift items at the gift shop, and $60 USD coupons.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.5286 -119.8185
Area served
Reno, Tahoe, Carson City
Nearby airports
Nearby Airport Reno/Tahoe International - 5 miles
Area description
In the heart of downtown Reno.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Regency also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sands Regency Rooms

Tower Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.6 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.1 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.7 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Dining

Arby's/Cabana Cafe
Grab a quick snack at these outlets.
The Buffet at the Sands
Fresh New Flavors Daily. All-you-can-eat Buffet. Open daily at 4pm.
Copa Bar & Grill
Open 4-9 p.m. daily.
The Original Mel's Diner
Enjoy a Melburger, Melfries, or a delicious thick milk shake at this classic favorite. Open 24 hours daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sands has over 12,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space to fit your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (794)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
794 out of 794
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
WPB, FL
Sep 23, 2009

Are you Kidding?

I will not return. TV Remote did not work and beds were old and stiff.Reported to front desk and no one cared. 3 days of being uncomfortable. I guess they want you in the casino as you can not be in the room resting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Orbitz first Timer
BC CANADA
Aug 10, 2009

Rock hard beds NO service

We arrived very late and was checked in by the night auditor-he didnt tell us we couldnt make local calls without a deposit- we found out when we went up to our room and wanted to let our sister know what room we were in-I couldnt do this and since it was 2am I didnt have the energy to go down and provide them with a deposit. There was a long black hair in the bed and there were exposed wire on the hanging lamp in the room. Never have I encountered such a hard bed in all my life.The night auditor seemed VERY unimpressed that I was a Orbitz consumer???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Glover
Redding, CA
Jul 1, 2009

noisey and bed hard as a rock

I would never stay here there again. The bed was rock hard with no fitted sheet on the mattress. There was a loud noise that was constant all night long at the hotel. Worst place I have ever stayed. Also, the tv remote did not work at all. The mattresses were very very old - creeped me out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
omib
Tucson
Apr 7, 2009

Very bad place

My daughter and I had a bad experience,no wonder they are going out of business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Elderado. Casino best place in Town.

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milledgeville, GA
Mar 31, 2009

Too run-down for rating

Hotel and casino were drastically overrated. The entire building was dingy and dark. The room was very noisy. With the name Regency, I expected decent accomodations. My wife was very concern about being alone in the hallways or elevators because of the atmosphere and clientle. Almost everything in the building was listed as "Terribles" (which was an appropriate label) instead of the Sands Regency. It probally was a three star hotel when it was built, but it has long since seen its better days. We visited Circus Circus (also three star) and it was far superior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clayton, CA
Oct 31, 2008

My review of Sands Regency

Very bad experience, we checked out after 2 nights inspite of having booked the hotel for 5 nights. 30 minutes after checking out, on the road my wife realized that she had forgotten her purse with all her money and credit cards in the room. So when we went back they wont let us go into the room saying that they have already been given to new guests. I tried explaining that we had just checked out and it sounds very unlikely that the rooms were cleaned out and reoccupied within 30 minutes. Eventually after threatening to call the cops they let us go to the room with security. The rooms were as we had left them, noone had cleaned the rooms and they were empty, and I found my wifes purse too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sebastopol
Aug 9, 2008

My review of Sands Regency

The Sands is old and raggedy. The curtains were torn and the carpet was worn. There was no iron or ironing board. The room was small and gloomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 9, 2008

This is an old, nasty ...

This is an old, nasty hotel. It looks like it hasn't been updated since the 70's. I couldn't wait to check out. Please don't ever stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camarillo, CA
Aug 4, 2008

stay away

i was brought here for a show put on by the hotel and the show was the worst thing i have ever seen.. It was so but they ended the show 8 days early and i am out four thousand dollars..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 4, 2008

Worst rundown hotel you could ever stay at

Myself and a other couple stay at The Sands and find that both of our rooms were both flooded, and water was leaking from the window sill into our luggage. It damaged our clothing and other items. I opened the front and spoke with the housekeeping. They told me to call the front desk to report the problem. But the housekeeping never sent anyone to check on the problem. I waited for an half hour. Before I went to the front desk and asked to speak with the hotel manager, the clerk at the front desk wouldn't allow me to talk with the manager and put us with the front desk supervisor, he made an unusual statement stating that there are few of these rooms at Sands that has the water leakege problem and the weather was so bad which made the snow melt into the rooms, which didn't solve our problem. They just gave me another room. Right before I checked out, I met with the manager on the floor of the hotel and told her about the situation. She stated to me that she never heard of my problem, said she'll write a letter back to me and that was it. I also wanted to let you know due to the weather, it snowed quite a bit there, and I fell outside of the hotel walking to my car. I feel that they should have put some de-icer on the parking lot. Due to these factors I would not ever want to stay at this place again, and I have talked to our large group of friends and we will make sure that Sands will never get a dime out of us again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search