$25 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Sands Regency

3 stars
View map of 345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
900 out of 900
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 29, 2007

Room Stink

for the value, it wasnt one.. the Room killed us, I have never had any problems with Alergys untill I got into my room. there was a smell to the room.. and I never found out what it was but my wife is still down because of it a week later. Terible head ach. Stuffy head. as soon as I left the room it went away. it might not of been so bad if you could have opened a window. and got some fresh air. but not at the sands. We will not stay at the sands on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

with in 2 miles there is great shopping. we found some great deals on school cloths.

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 24, 2007

The rooms are not very ...

The rooms are not very clean, everything looks very worn out. The hot water was barely working, almost like taking a cold shower. This is unacceptable as it was 22F outside. The heater wasn't working properly either as the room was 65F the whole time there, and I had set it to 72F. Since the room was cold, the blankets weren't sufficient so I had to wear my jacket to sleep. Bathroom was not cleaned properly, there was some pubic hair on the toilet seat when I arrived. Which really grossed me out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Casinos, Casinos, Casinos.

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Occasional vacationer
Business
wisconsinn
Sep 20, 2011

I would rather pay more to have amenities

No amenities at all, no iron, no coffee pot, no microwave, no refrig, no mini bar. Maybe this is typical of Reno? Staff was good. Budget car rental was extremely pushy to upgrade and sell additonal insurance. I had to be quite rude to get them to let me have the car I agreed to with no extras.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WPB, FL
Sep 23, 2009

Are you Kidding?

I will not return. TV Remote did not work and beds were old and stiff.Reported to front desk and no one cared. 3 days of being uncomfortable. I guess they want you in the casino as you can not be in the room resting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
danielle4831[@]
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 27, 2009

Charged Inappropriately

[...]The room was noisy from the elevators, traffic, and the kids racing up and down the halls at all hours of the night. Fuzio's, a resturant near the registration desk, has the worse food I have ever experienced. Mel's Diner is okay for a quick meal. The Steak Buffet (I did not eat the steaks but my traveling companion did) was nothing to scream about. I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cameron S.
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 1, 2010

ABSOLUTELY AWFUL

I had a knot in my stomach from the very second we pulled into the parking lot until we left this morning. We stopped in overnight at the Sands on a roadtrip to California. After camping for several nights, this night was supposed to be our "comfortable night" - hahaha. I'd take a damp tent any day. It is very nice that the sands offers free parking, however I was terrified that my non-flashy car would be broken into or stolen by all of the sketchy vagrants wandering around the open lot and at the base of the covered garage. There was absolutely no parking security and many signs that said the Sands was not responsible for any theft...Our "non-smoking" room reeked of smoke, even after changing to another "non-smoking" room. The cups in the bathroom were filthy, there was ash all over the tables. The television was grainy and the menu button didn't work. Overall, this was an extremely depressing stay and I would never ever return to this hotel (or Reno in general for that matter) It was disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Oct 7, 2010

Horrible

The Sands Hotel was a scary place. The kind of people there were not there to play the slots. I was scared to leave my room and the noise around my room was something else. I check out as soon as I got in my room. I did not even want to leave I was so uncomfortable. I have never cried over something like that! I lost my money over the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not happy with Sands [...]
Business
Oregon
Oct 14, 2010

Not good service from Sands [...]

I requested a non-smoking room when booking the room [...]. When I arrived at the Sands I was informed that that all of the non-smoking rooms were full and all they had were smoking rooms. i explained that i requested a non-smoking room [...]. The gentleman ( who was the front desk supervisor) I was talking to told me to the effect well all we have are smoking rooms that all the non-smoking rooms were taken by those who checked in before me and there were no other options. I agian explained to him my previous request of a non-smoking room he agian told me that there were none left and maybe he could change the room tomorrow. He offered no apology just a take it or leave it attitude.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The small retro-style dinner that is attached to the hotel does not have good tasting food. It is nice that it is open 24hrs but not worth eating at.

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sebastopol
Aug 9, 2008

My review of Sands Regency

The Sands is old and raggedy. The curtains were torn and the carpet was worn. There was no iron or ironing board. The room was small and gloomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Dakota
Oct 18, 2010

Not so deluxe

I didn't see any signs of recent renovations on our stay. The decor in our room looked like it hadn't been changed since maybe the '70s, and the non-smoking room smelled smoky. We paid to use a crib, and when they brought it, it was completely unsafe: 2 bars were loose, and the entire crib would bend over. We called to complain, and they did eventually find us another crib that was safer, but still old and missing parts. They explained the delay in receiving the replacement crib by saying they were having trouble with the elevator. Not exactly reassuring, especially when staying on the 14th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top