$30 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Sands Regency

3 stars
345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
795 reviews
Best hotel in Reno

The staff is friendly the food is great and reasonable except for Copa and the Buffet. Mels dinner... See full review

  • dyannapri
  • Aug 19, 2014
Reno Weekend

Nice hotel, good customer service and an excellent value See full review

  • Marvinatlarge
  • Jul 1, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel with casino, pool, restaurants and more

Visiting gamers find both a hotel and casino at the Reno Sands Regency, located in downtown Reno, Nevada. Beyond the casino, guests find a range of modern accommodations and amenities, including a large seasonal pool, a health-club on the penthouse levels, and a Jacuzzi. The Sands Regency also has a choice of dining options on the premises with several restaurants, diners, coffee shops and bars onsite. Planning a business meeting, convention or special event? The property offers space for over 300 guests, plus a wedding chapel.

Reasons to stay
  • Within easy walking distance of downtown Reno attractions and the Truckee River
  • Casino has slots and video poker machines, table games, bingo, sports book and more
  • Wedding chapel, plus meeting and event space for up to 320 guests
  • Select rooms feature views of the mountains and city
  • Live entertainment on weekends at Third Street Bar
Sands Regency Rooms

Sands Regency claims the largest standard rooms in downtown Reno, measuring in at 375 square feet. Guests wanting even more space and amenities like hot tubs, floor-to-ceiling views and spacious living rooms, consider one of the suites. The Presidential Suite in the hotel's Empress Tower is an impressive 1,150 square-feet in size, with views of both the mountains and the city. It consists of a living area complete with two sofas, large screen TV, wet bar and refrigerator, dining table and four chairs, a king bed, Jacuzzi and shower. The Luxury Suite also features both mountain views and views of the city. Over in the Dynasty Tower, the Dynasty Suite includes two doubles or a king bed, and views of the city. The 395 square-foot King Suite comes complete with whirlpool tub and shower. There are also balcony rooms in the Empress Tower. These are 377 square feet and contain two queen beds. Guests can also step out onto large balconies to enjoy the views. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available at the Sands Regency Reno.

Things to do nearby
  • Casino at the Eldorado (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Knitting Factory (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Bowling Stadium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University of Nevada, Reno (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mt. Rose Ski Area (21.6 mi/34.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a resort fee of $4.99 USD plus tax. Resort fee includes: Wi-Fi access, health club/fitness centre/sauna access, airport shuttle, covered self-parking, safe deposit box, printing of boarding pass, local and toll-free call, access to seasonal pool, 10% discount on gift items at the gift shop, and $60 USD coupons.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.5286 -119.8185
Area served
Reno, Tahoe, Carson City
Nearby airports
Nearby Airport Reno/Tahoe International - 5 miles
Area description
In the heart of downtown Reno.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Regency also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sands Regency Rooms

Tower Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.6 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.1 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.7 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sands has over 12,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space to fit your needs.

Dining

Arby's/Cabana Cafe
Grab a quick snack at these outlets.
The Buffet at the Sands
Fresh New Flavors Daily. All-you-can-eat Buffet. Open daily at 4pm.
Copa Bar & Grill
Open 4-9 p.m. daily.
The Original Mel's Diner
Enjoy a Melburger, Melfries, or a delicious thick milk shake at this classic favorite. Open 24 hours daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (795)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
795 out of 795
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Susanville,Ca
Jan 28, 2010

Don't stay unless your "Packin' Heat".

I chose to stay at the Sands because there were no other rooms available at any of the casinos in Reno that weekend due to the Safari Club International Convention. I have stayed at every other casino in Reno NV, several times and never had this bad of an experience. When we arrived right away ther were quite a few transients standing around the entrance to the casinos' paking area. When we got inside I was expecting to see a newly renovated casino and hotel, however, I failed to see any major improvements. The carpet in the casino was old and filthy. The elevators were slow and tiny and one didn't even work. I was afraid I might be robbed while waitng for the elevator due to the other clientel in the casino. The staff at the check in desk were friendly and got us checked in in a timely manner. When we arrived at our room we were very disgusted at the lack of rennovations to the room. The furniture was old, the main locking mechanism for the door was not your normal dead bolt style of lock, rather a funky little button that you push in and hope that its sufficient to keep someone out. The door had a huge space underneath it aprrox. 3/4 inch which let in light and noise all night. The carpet in the room was old and dirty looking and we didn't even want to walk around without slippers on. I looked at the bathroom and the toilet seat had dried urine on it sot we had to call cleaning services immediately. We noticed the little T.V. was on a stand too short to comfortably watch T.V. in bed without sitting up completely. The blankets on the bed were old and looked like they had been aquired by donation 20 yrs. ago. When we finally layed down on the bed all we could feel were springs pushing into our backs. I've had better mattresses at places such as Motel 6 and Best Western. I pulled the sheets off the mattress only to find that it was an extremely old mattress. It literally felt like a box spring we were laying on. Within 20 minutes of laying on that mattress my back was a mess, and I had to call the desk again to get some extra blankets to lay on. I slept on top of the comforter and 3 blankets folded up to make a makeshift pad. The noise level was terrible and varied from people yelling outside the room, planes taking off and trains down the street. We had to purchase a memory foam mattress topper at Wal mart the next day because we had to stay there a second night due to the reservation cancellation policy and it was impossible to sleep on the mattress provided. We didn't even want to eat at the casino after what we had seen the first day. Furthermore my wife didn't want to go to the pool due to the other clientel that were staying there and the general lack of cleanliness of the casino and Hotel as a whole. We were in Reno for the weekend to go snowboarding and the Sands regency was not a good place to relax after a day of snowboarding. I was glad that I had scheduled massages at one of the other Casino Spas in Reno for Sunday morning. It was nice to be stepping foot into a Hotel and Casino that was clean and inviting. I will never recomend this Hotel to anyone not even my worst enemy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Glover
Redding, CA
Jul 1, 2009

noisey and bed hard as a rock

I would never stay here there again. The bed was rock hard with no fitted sheet on the mattress. There was a loud noise that was constant all night long at the hotel. Worst place I have ever stayed. Also, the tv remote did not work at all. The mattresses were very very old - creeped me out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CANNG
Dixon, CA 95620, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Over rated

The room rate was higher than usual for the weekend we stayed due to the Street Vibrations event. Our room had a nice view of the mountains, however there was a couple of huge negatives. The first was the train tracks that run under the hotel. Luckily, we only heard the train run once during the night. The other was the loud ventilation system. We were fortunate that it wasn't too hot and we didn't need to run the AC during the night. We missed not having a coffee maker in the room. The rate was too high for the value of this room. We had a lower rate at a better hotel in Sparks the previous weekend during the Reno Air Races.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a short walk to the other major casinos and the Street Vibrations Event. There was plenty of covered parking for hotel guests.

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Pierce, Florida
Jun 11, 2010

none

nothing to add

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
G-G-Ma
Klamath Falls, OR
Feb 10, 2010

Price the only good thing

We could not tell from the advertising if there was an indoor pool - so did not get to swim because we were there in the winter. The price was okay, one of the reasons for staying. Bumped into a lot of transients-homeless-drunk people. Had to go from one tower down the elevator thru the lobby and up another elevator to the 18th floor to get to the fitness room. Jacuzzi was very small, couples making out. No TV schedules or no movie channels. We were not in the room that much so was not too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not expect too much

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cappy
Nevada, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Sands regency

Location was in a bad part of the neighborhood. Had a man threaten my friends and I. Just felt unsafe!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Cheap beer and bad service

The Sands is good if you enjoy cheap beer and bad service.You will hear the trains very loudly. There are no coffee pots in the rooms.No mini bar. The carpets need to be replaced as well as the doors. Room sevice is a joke. When it ordered, it comes like takeout and was often cold.There is no "24 hour" room service only a diner open 24. The TV has very limited channels and I had to call the front desk four times just to see what is offered on Pay for view(and there is little to be desired other than adult).The walls are thin, so you can hear everything that is said and done in the rooms on both sides of you. As for Staff it is hit or miss.There is no valet. The closet has no doors and eight hangers.The curtains have small holes in them from age and I had to fix it so I could get some sleep.My room had no "floor to ceiling window'.The casino did have a good discount card.You can bring your pet if needed but remember to bring all their needs as the hotel does not provide any thing for them.I will never book at the Sands Reno again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are much better casnio hotels in Reno for the same rates.

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Evildave
Boise, ID
Mar 15, 2010

The Sands

The receptionist was friendly enough. We got to the room and realized immediately this would not work for us. It was a non-smoking room that reeked of cigarettes. The beds were extremely hard and were adorned with bedspreads that may or may not have been donated by a garage sale. I've honestly stayed in better Motel 6's than this place. When we got to the room, there was a maid in there. Why? I don't know. She didn't have a cart or cleaning supplies with her. I don't know why this happened. The outside noise traveled freely into our room because of the thin door and large gap between the floor and the door. We spent about 5 minutes in the room instantly regretting our decision to choose the Sands. We called the Silver Legacy (where the concert was held) and fortunately found a room that had handicap features. We didn't care, we took it. I would not recommend the room to anyone but the most frugal and not concerned about cleanliness, appearance or sleep quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 4, 2008

Worst rundown hotel you could ever stay at

Myself and a other couple stay at The Sands and find that both of our rooms were both flooded, and water was leaking from the window sill into our luggage. It damaged our clothing and other items. I opened the front and spoke with the housekeeping. They told me to call the front desk to report the problem. But the housekeeping never sent anyone to check on the problem. I waited for an half hour. Before I went to the front desk and asked to speak with the hotel manager, the clerk at the front desk wouldn't allow me to talk with the manager and put us with the front desk supervisor, he made an unusual statement stating that there are few of these rooms at Sands that has the water leakege problem and the weather was so bad which made the snow melt into the rooms, which didn't solve our problem. They just gave me another room. Right before I checked out, I met with the manager on the floor of the hotel and told her about the situation. She stated to me that she never heard of my problem, said she'll write a letter back to me and that was it. I also wanted to let you know due to the weather, it snowed quite a bit there, and I fell outside of the hotel walking to my car. I feel that they should have put some de-icer on the parking lot. Due to these factors I would not ever want to stay at this place again, and I have talked to our large group of friends and we will make sure that Sands will never get a dime out of us again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 25, 2007

You get what you pay for

It's true, you get what you pay for. As a hotel GM, my expectations are a bit higher than most sometimes. However, check in was a disaster. The beds were horrible. decor old. The bathroom, atrocious. I would have had a serious talk with my housekeeping department if any of my rooms looked like that! The staff was not overly friendly. When I called the front desk it seemed like a hassle to answer my questions. Please stay away the worst dinner, worst steak we've EVER had! After a discount and a stay 1 get the 2nd free, we ended up paying $17/night. I guess you really do get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay here if you're on a budget and don't want a full casino. We got on the tables w/ no problems. Deals and pit bosses were the best. Hotel staff though, not so much.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search