$25 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Sands Regency

3 stars
345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
1,244 reviews
Reno Weekend

Nice hotel, good customer service and an excellent value See full review

  • Marvinatlarge
  • Jul 1, 2014
Good place to spend the nighttimes

Pleasant and quiet. Located close to National Bowling Stadium where I was bowling in the National... See full review

  • Paul from CT
  • May 24, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel with casino, pool, restaurants and more

Visiting gamers find both a hotel and casino at the Reno Sands Regency, located in downtown Reno, Nevada. Beyond the casino, guests find a range of modern accommodations and amenities, including a large seasonal pool, a health-club on the penthouse levels, and a Jacuzzi. The Sands Regency also has a choice of dining options on the premises with several restaurants, diners, coffee shops and bars onsite. Planning a business meeting, convention or special event? The property offers space for over 300 guests, plus a wedding chapel.

Reasons to stay
  • Within easy walking distance of downtown Reno attractions and the Truckee River
  • Casino has slots and video poker machines, table games, bingo, sports book and more
  • Wedding chapel, plus meeting and event space for up to 320 guests
  • Select rooms feature views of the mountains and city
  • Live entertainment on weekends at Third Street Bar
Sands Regency Rooms

Sands Regency claims the largest standard rooms in downtown Reno, measuring in at 375 square feet. Guests wanting even more space and amenities like hot tubs, floor-to-ceiling views and spacious living rooms, consider one of the suites. The Presidential Suite in the hotel's Empress Tower is an impressive 1,150 square-feet in size, with views of both the mountains and the city. It consists of a living area complete with two sofas, large screen TV, wet bar and refrigerator, dining table and four chairs, a king bed, Jacuzzi and shower. The Luxury Suite also features both mountain views and views of the city. Over in the Dynasty Tower, the Dynasty Suite includes two doubles or a king bed, and views of the city. The 395 square-foot King Suite comes complete with whirlpool tub and shower. There are also balcony rooms in the Empress Tower. These are 377 square feet and contain two queen beds. Guests can also step out onto large balconies to enjoy the views. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available at the Sands Regency Reno.

Things to do nearby
  • Casino at the Eldorado (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Knitting Factory (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Bowling Stadium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University of Nevada, Reno (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mt. Rose Ski Area (21.6 mi/34.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a resort fee of $4.99 USD plus tax. Resort fee includes: Wi-Fi access, health club/fitness centre/sauna access, airport shuttle, covered self-parking, safe deposit box, printing of boarding pass, local and toll-free call, access to seasonal pool, 10% discount on gift items at the gift shop, and $60 USD coupons.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sands Regency Rooms

Tower Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Regency also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.5286 -119.8185
Area served
Reno, Tahoe, Carson City
Nearby airports
Nearby Airport Reno/Tahoe International - 5 miles
Area description
In the heart of downtown Reno.

Nearby points of interest

  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.6 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.1 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.7 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sands has over 12,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space to fit your needs.

Dining

Arby's/Cabana Cafe
Grab a quick snack at these outlets.
The Buffet at the Sands
Fresh New Flavors Daily. All-you-can-eat Buffet. Open daily at 4pm.
Copa Bar & Grill
Open 4-9 p.m. daily.
The Original Mel's Diner
Enjoy a Melburger, Melfries, or a delicious thick milk shake at this classic favorite. Open 24 hours daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1244)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
1244 out of 1244
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Evildave
Boise, ID
Mar 15, 2010

The Sands

The receptionist was friendly enough. We got to the room and realized immediately this would not work for us. It was a non-smoking room that reeked of cigarettes. The beds were extremely hard and were adorned with bedspreads that may or may not have been donated by a garage sale. I've honestly stayed in better Motel 6's than this place. When we got to the room, there was a maid in there. Why? I don't know. She didn't have a cart or cleaning supplies with her. I don't know why this happened. The outside noise traveled freely into our room because of the thin door and large gap between the floor and the door. We spent about 5 minutes in the room instantly regretting our decision to choose the Sands. We called the Silver Legacy (where the concert was held) and fortunately found a room that had handicap features. We didn't care, we took it. I would not recommend the room to anyone but the most frugal and not concerned about cleanliness, appearance or sleep quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Run
San Jose, CA
Nov 1, 2010

Reno 10/30/10

Not a great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Run
San Jose, CA
Nov 1, 2010

Reno 10/30/10

Not a great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Evildave
Boise, ID
Mar 15, 2010

The Sands

The receptionist was friendly enough. We got to the room and realized immediately this would not work for us. It was a non-smoking room that reeked of cigarettes. The beds were extremely hard and were adorned with bedspreads that may or may not have been donated by a garage sale. I've honestly stayed in better Motel 6's than this place. When we got to the room, there was a maid in there. Why? I don't know. She didn't have a cart or cleaning supplies with her. I don't know why this happened. The outside noise traveled freely into our room because of the thin door and large gap between the floor and the door. We spent about 5 minutes in the room instantly regretting our decision to choose the Sands. We called the Silver Legacy (where the concert was held) and fortunately found a room that had handicap features. We didn't care, we took it. I would not recommend the room to anyone but the most frugal and not concerned about cleanliness, appearance or sleep quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
danielle4831[@]
Denver, CO
Oct 27, 2009

Charged Inappropriately

[...]The room was noisy from the elevators, traffic, and the kids racing up and down the halls at all hours of the night. Fuzio's, a resturant near the registration desk, has the worse food I have ever experienced. Mel's Diner is okay for a quick meal. The Steak Buffet (I did not eat the steaks but my traveling companion did) was nothing to scream about. I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clayton, CA
Oct 31, 2008

My review of Sands Regency

Very bad experience, we checked out after 2 nights inspite of having booked the hotel for 5 nights. 30 minutes after checking out, on the road my wife realized that she had forgotten her purse with all her money and credit cards in the room. So when we went back they wont let us go into the room saying that they have already been given to new guests. I tried explaining that we had just checked out and it sounds very unlikely that the rooms were cleaned out and reoccupied within 30 minutes. Eventually after threatening to call the cops they let us go to the room with security. The rooms were as we had left them, noone had cleaned the rooms and they were empty, and I found my wifes purse too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Cheap beer and bad service

The Sands is good if you enjoy cheap beer and bad service.You will hear the trains very loudly. There are no coffee pots in the rooms.No mini bar. The carpets need to be replaced as well as the doors. Room sevice is a joke. When it ordered, it comes like takeout and was often cold.There is no "24 hour" room service only a diner open 24. The TV has very limited channels and I had to call the front desk four times just to see what is offered on Pay for view(and there is little to be desired other than adult).The walls are thin, so you can hear everything that is said and done in the rooms on both sides of you. As for Staff it is hit or miss.There is no valet. The closet has no doors and eight hangers.The curtains have small holes in them from age and I had to fix it so I could get some sleep.My room had no "floor to ceiling window'.The casino did have a good discount card.You can bring your pet if needed but remember to bring all their needs as the hotel does not provide any thing for them.I will never book at the Sands Reno again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are much better casnio hotels in Reno for the same rates.

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
WPB, FL
Sep 23, 2009

Are you Kidding?

I will not return. TV Remote did not work and beds were old and stiff.Reported to front desk and no one cared. 3 days of being uncomfortable. I guess they want you in the casino as you can not be in the room resting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Dakota
Oct 18, 2010

Not so deluxe

I didn't see any signs of recent renovations on our stay. The decor in our room looked like it hadn't been changed since maybe the '70s, and the non-smoking room smelled smoky. We paid to use a crib, and when they brought it, it was completely unsafe: 2 bars were loose, and the entire crib would bend over. We called to complain, and they did eventually find us another crib that was safer, but still old and missing parts. They explained the delay in receiving the replacement crib by saying they were having trouble with the elevator. Not exactly reassuring, especially when staying on the 14th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cameron S.
Washington, DC
Oct 1, 2010

ABSOLUTELY AWFUL

I had a knot in my stomach from the very second we pulled into the parking lot until we left this morning. We stopped in overnight at the Sands on a roadtrip to California. After camping for several nights, this night was supposed to be our "comfortable night" - hahaha. I'd take a damp tent any day. It is very nice that the sands offers free parking, however I was terrified that my non-flashy car would be broken into or stolen by all of the sketchy vagrants wandering around the open lot and at the base of the covered garage. There was absolutely no parking security and many signs that said the Sands was not responsible for any theft...Our "non-smoking" room reeked of smoke, even after changing to another "non-smoking" room. The cups in the bathroom were filthy, there was ash all over the tables. The television was grainy and the menu button didn't work. Overall, this was an extremely depressing stay and I would never ever return to this hotel (or Reno in general for that matter) It was disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top