$27 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Sands Regency

3 stars
View map of 345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
897 out of 897
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maia
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 16, 2012

Horrible

This was a very basic room and not worth the money, even at a substantial discount. The wall paper looked 30 years old, the room (well, actually the entire hotel/casino) smelled musty, there were stains on the sheets and towels, exposed drill holes in the wall, and the clothes rail was mounted at a slant. It's one of those places where you don't even want to take off your shoes to go to bed and it just screams lack of care. The walls are paper thin so you hear the drunk casino guests yelling as they return to their rooms in the middle of the night and then the cleaning crew in the morning. And the casino itself is dated and worn. Next time we'll go to the Silver Legacy, it's only a block away and the casino is much nicer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J.BAKER
Business
OHIO
Jul 14, 2012

do not stay here

It was the worse stay at a hotel I ever had.Nothing in the hotel wanted to work The elevators would only work part of the time. I had to walk down ten flights of stairs,the vending machines were not working on our floor,called front desk they told us to find one that worked.Pay more and get a better hotel. J .BAKER FROM OHIO STAY 7/82042THRU7/11/2012

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JD Willy
Business
SF, CA
Jun 11, 2012

Not good

Surly employees, old place. Bad all around. SEriously, go Harrahs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks in Harrahs

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissatisfied Hotel guest
Business
Oregon
Aug 14, 2012

Dreadful stay

Casino/hotel was run down. Desk clerk was nice. When we opened the door to our room the beds were unmade, dirty towels on the floor. Nice bellman brought us keys for a different room. At first this room seemed acceptable, but even though it was supposedly cleaned we found used soap, hair and toothpaste marks on bathroom counter. Pillows propped on bed as if someone used room after it was cleaned. Some rather unsavory characters outside of hotel. Will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sister and The Sisters
Business
San Pablo, CA
Aug 13, 2012

Just Not Here

It was awful. First they checked us into a room that someone was already staying in. Not to mention that the room only had one bed when there was three of us. When we asked to be moved we got a lot of attitude from the desk clerk. When we finally get a room the bathtub was dirty and was full of ants, the rug had large obivous stains and the room smelled so bad we went out and bought air freshener. We enjoy Reno just not that hotel. We all agreed to NEVER stay there again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Giant9er
Business
Oakland, Ca
Aug 26, 2012

for a cheap get away

The hotel is old out of date and the amenities in the room, well lets just say were lacking at best! No microwave, refrigerator, dirty carpet etc. The price was right but I guess you get what you pay for! I asked for an iron and ironing board and was brought a decent iron and a sheet! That's all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
board guy
Business
LONGVIEW WA
Nov 6, 2012

sands regency reno

this is an old building and is in need of repair at every turn . that by itself would be tolerable , however I found the staff to be generally rude and not helpfull . my vehicle was vandalized in the covered parking garage and it will cost me 1400.00 to repair it . there is no security in their parking garage and they take no responsibility for anything that happens there .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chris.c
Business
East Bay, CA
Apr 8, 2013

good enough if you're going to be out most of the time

If you just need someplace to crash between activities, the Sands is fine. The bed appeared clean (I wouldn't check it with a blacklight - likely the effects will be similar to ipecac), but the bathroom was not. There were long black hairs adhered to the shower stall and toilet lid AFTER maid service "cleaned" the room. Then again, the location is good, the minimums are low, and when you're here with the boys for a bachelor party, it kinda works. Now I'm off to get a fresh immunization panel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

cheap tables and 1.49 beers

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oma Mouse
Business
Sands Reno Nevads
May 1, 2013

Am I having a nightmare????

We had two rooms, one regular and a handicapped room, the rooms needed a lot of TLC. The carpets was worn and dirty. There was no iron, ironing board, coffee maker microwave or refrigerator in room, one chair no table.They told us we could upgrade for another $40.00 for each room, so we did. When we got to the new rooms all it had was a refrigerator 2 chairs and a table. This was not worth the upgrade.The buffet restaurant was not very appealing, it looked like a greasy spoon restaurant. Mels Diner which is a very famous restaurant in San Francisco, was a dump and the food was less than average. I could write more but I guess you get the idea that our stay was not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ryche Fan
Business
Fort Pierce, Florida
Jul 31, 2013

what a dump !

stayed there as I was in town to see a band at the Knitting Factory and wanted a cheap place within walking distant. It took them over 25 minutes to "find" my reservation as I'd done it thru this website, the room, even though it was non-smoking it stunk of cigarettes, the carpet was threadbare, they hadn't cleaned the bathroom very well, hairs in the shower, there was no ice bucket and the ice machine didn't work either, on their website they said they had wireless internet, yeah for $11.99 for a day, the place looked like it needs a major upgrade, I usually stay in reasonably priced hotels so it's not like I'm fussy. The only plus was the $1-50 beers in the casino, oh and getting propositioned by a hook er while sat at the bar didn't go down to well either, my advice pay the extra and stay elsewhere !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top