$30 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

Sands Regency

3 stars
345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
802 reviews
BSU Game

Although the carpets were worn and stained you get that at a lot of places. But the room was clean... See full review

  • LiL Debs
  • Oct 14, 2014
Fun nights in Reno

Most fun ever!! Distance to the casinos was great but the sands is a casino so even better. See full review

  • Nevada78
  • Aug 26, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel with casino, pool, restaurants and more

Visiting gamers find both a hotel and casino at the Reno Sands Regency, located in downtown Reno, Nevada. Beyond the casino, guests find a range of modern accommodations and amenities, including a large seasonal pool, a health-club on the penthouse levels, and a Jacuzzi. The Sands Regency also has a choice of dining options on the premises with several restaurants, diners, coffee shops and bars onsite. Planning a business meeting, convention or special event? The property offers space for over 300 guests, plus a wedding chapel.

Reasons to stay
  • Within easy walking distance of downtown Reno attractions and the Truckee River
  • Casino has slots and video poker machines, table games, bingo, sports book and more
  • Wedding chapel, plus meeting and event space for up to 320 guests
  • Select rooms feature views of the mountains and city
  • Live entertainment on weekends at Third Street Bar
Sands Regency Rooms

Sands Regency claims the largest standard rooms in downtown Reno, measuring in at 375 square feet. Guests wanting even more space and amenities like hot tubs, floor-to-ceiling views and spacious living rooms, consider one of the suites. The Presidential Suite in the hotel's Empress Tower is an impressive 1,150 square-feet in size, with views of both the mountains and the city. It consists of a living area complete with two sofas, large screen TV, wet bar and refrigerator, dining table and four chairs, a king bed, Jacuzzi and shower. The Luxury Suite also features both mountain views and views of the city. Over in the Dynasty Tower, the Dynasty Suite includes two doubles or a king bed, and views of the city. The 395 square-foot King Suite comes complete with whirlpool tub and shower. There are also balcony rooms in the Empress Tower. These are 377 square feet and contain two queen beds. Guests can also step out onto large balconies to enjoy the views. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available at the Sands Regency Reno.

Things to do nearby
  • Casino at the Eldorado (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Knitting Factory (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Bowling Stadium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University of Nevada, Reno (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mt. Rose Ski Area (21.6 mi/34.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a resort fee of $4.99 USD plus tax. Resort fee includes: Wi-Fi access, health club/fitness centre/sauna access, airport shuttle, covered self-parking, safe deposit box, printing of boarding pass, local and toll-free call, access to seasonal pool, 10% discount on gift items at the gift shop, and $60 USD coupons.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.5286 -119.8185
Area served
Reno, Tahoe, Carson City
Nearby airports
Nearby Airport Reno/Tahoe International - 5 miles
Area description
In the heart of downtown Reno.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Regency also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sands Regency Rooms

Tower Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.6 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.1 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.7 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sands has over 12,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space to fit your needs.

Dining

Arby's/Cabana Cafe
Grab a quick snack at these outlets.
The Buffet at the Sands
Fresh New Flavors Daily. All-you-can-eat Buffet. Open daily at 4pm.
Copa Bar & Grill
Open 4-9 p.m. daily.
The Original Mel's Diner
Enjoy a Melburger, Melfries, or a delicious thick milk shake at this classic favorite. Open 24 hours daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (802)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
802 out of 802
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salinas, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2012

A Real Good Deal

It was fun and entertaining to be in the Sands again. We love the food and gambling options. The staff are real nice. Will come back again, hopefully real soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dawood
Business
Salina, Kansas
Jan 20, 2014

Don't think about it

The hotel has 3 buildings, yet they are all dirty, smelly, not comfortable. I strongly discourage you to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beaumont P
Business
San Jose, Ca
Mar 25, 2014

Entire hotel stank of cigarette smoke

1) our tv remote did not work (batteries were dead) 2) our blankets had other peoples hair on them (were they NOT washed??) 3) we had a DO NOT DISTURB CARD Outside our door, they still came in anyways. Apparently someone took it off in the middle of the night. 4) every inch of that hotel reeked of cigarette smoke. 5) we asked for a NON SMOKING room and still smelled smoke INSIDE of our bedroom. HORRIBLE HOTEL. IT WAS ABSOLUTELY ATROCIOUS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 28, 2007

This hotel is in the poorest condition that I have ever visited

The hotel is dirty and in very poor condition and the cigarette smoke is absolutely overpowering. Unless the policy regarding smoking and non-smoking is changed we will not be returning to Reno any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't try to find any good resturants down town much better in the big outlying hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shizuko
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 16, 2007

Run Down

This hotel was very run down. The air conditioner did not work and the room was very warm. We had a hard time operating the shower, the carpet was stained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You are centrally located in downtown Reno so you have your choice of different casinos and it's just a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
San Francisco
Jun 10, 2010

Dog-friendy, guest-hostile

The room didn't have an iron so we called housekeeping to borrow one. This has happened to me at lots of hotels, and it's usually no big deal. The Sands, however, felt a need to hassle me about it an hour after lending me the iron to see if I was done with it. Was it the only iron in the entire hotel? The following morning, housekeeping knocked on my door before 8a! And again at 9a and 10a. Checkout wasn't until noon, and I imagine that most guests at a casino hotel sleep in on a Sunday morning. It felt like the Sands made their contempt for me very clear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Betsy
Business
Fairhope, AL
Apr 2, 2011

Terrible's Sands Regency

The name Terrible describes this hotel. I came to Reno to see if it would be a good place to retire. Yes, it is but...don't stay at this hotel. It is in a seedy, rundown neighborhood. I saw very few women outside. The people gambling in the casino were in general, dirty, stinky and unkempt. Not all were, but, most looked homeless. I was told not to walk anywhere around this area, just get in your car and go somewhere else. The room was clean but had some problems. When I arrived, the front desk couldn't find my reservation. They kept me waiting for a half hour and then told me it wasn't through [...] but was from [...]. ??? In the room, the carpet was peeling away from the floor, the metal plate on the front door jam was pried away from the wood. The picture window was so dirty that it was hard to see outside most of the time. The TV was smnall and had poor reception on some of the main channels. All in all, I would never stay here again or even go in their door. It was bad!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Red Robin restaurant in Reno was excellent, Patricia and the chef there did a fantastic job. I have allergies and they were very diligent in providing a safe and tasty meal for me. I would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lindat
Business
oregon
Aug 17, 2011

wedding

Room had 2 full sized beds, there were 3 in our party but were only given one washcloth and 3 hand towels. Requested more washcloths but were told that they didn't have any. Could have used a frige to keep cold water in. Stained carpets, but overall clean,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jennette
Business
Denair,CA
Feb 26, 2012

HORRIBLE!!!!

Upon check-in, the staff was not very friendly, and once in the room, we shortly relized that this was NOT going to be a pleasant weekend!! We had dogs barking from neighboring rooms, and the other guest were EXTREMLEY rude, and by that, i mean, they had NO repect for others that MAY be sleeping at 3 am!!! The walls were SUPER thin, i could here people in the halls, outside...and NOT to mention, we heard the elevator motor ALL night long!!! The shower was horrible, and there was NO outlets that worked in the room!! I will NEVER stay at this hotel for as long as i live, as a matter of fact, my family left after the first night, and payed $20 more to stay at the Silver Legacy, and had a WONDERFUL experience!!! I demanded our money back, but they told me that because i booked through a travel site, they couldn't help me!! Take my advice...DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Awful Awful Burger is WONDERFUL!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tired Dude
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Sands Reno

Entered room with nasty carpet, very noisy elevator noises, girls in room next door singing carrying on all night, left room to find puke on hallway carpet... not a very pleasant place.... recommend you sleep in your car...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sikeli
Business
Herriman, UT, USA
Apr 10, 2012

ACK - No what was expected!

Where to start? The non-smoking room wasn't. From the smell to the burns in the carpet, it was horrible. The stains in the carpet were nasty. The furniture was old and worn. The hot water kept getting cold. The water pressure would change from fire hose to dribble and back again. The noise from the elevator motors kept waking us up at night, as did the drunks in the halls that kept knocking on our door to find "Alejandro". It keeps going. You should not stay there. Only plus was the lightning fast room service from Mel's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top