$29 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Sands Regency

3 stars
345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
794 reviews
Fun nights in Reno

Most fun ever!! Distance to the casinos was great but the sands is a casino so even better. See full review

  • Nevada78
  • Aug 26, 2014
Best hotel in Reno

The staff is friendly the food is great and reasonable except for Copa and the Buffet. Mels dinner... See full review

  • dyannapri
  • Aug 19, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel with casino, pool, restaurants and more

Visiting gamers find both a hotel and casino at the Reno Sands Regency, located in downtown Reno, Nevada. Beyond the casino, guests find a range of modern accommodations and amenities, including a large seasonal pool, a health-club on the penthouse levels, and a Jacuzzi. The Sands Regency also has a choice of dining options on the premises with several restaurants, diners, coffee shops and bars onsite. Planning a business meeting, convention or special event? The property offers space for over 300 guests, plus a wedding chapel.

Reasons to stay
  • Within easy walking distance of downtown Reno attractions and the Truckee River
  • Casino has slots and video poker machines, table games, bingo, sports book and more
  • Wedding chapel, plus meeting and event space for up to 320 guests
  • Select rooms feature views of the mountains and city
  • Live entertainment on weekends at Third Street Bar
Sands Regency Rooms

Sands Regency claims the largest standard rooms in downtown Reno, measuring in at 375 square feet. Guests wanting even more space and amenities like hot tubs, floor-to-ceiling views and spacious living rooms, consider one of the suites. The Presidential Suite in the hotel's Empress Tower is an impressive 1,150 square-feet in size, with views of both the mountains and the city. It consists of a living area complete with two sofas, large screen TV, wet bar and refrigerator, dining table and four chairs, a king bed, Jacuzzi and shower. The Luxury Suite also features both mountain views and views of the city. Over in the Dynasty Tower, the Dynasty Suite includes two doubles or a king bed, and views of the city. The 395 square-foot King Suite comes complete with whirlpool tub and shower. There are also balcony rooms in the Empress Tower. These are 377 square feet and contain two queen beds. Guests can also step out onto large balconies to enjoy the views. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available at the Sands Regency Reno.

Things to do nearby
  • Casino at the Eldorado (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Knitting Factory (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Bowling Stadium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University of Nevada, Reno (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mt. Rose Ski Area (21.6 mi/34.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a resort fee of $4.99 USD plus tax. Resort fee includes: Wi-Fi access, health club/fitness centre/sauna access, airport shuttle, covered self-parking, safe deposit box, printing of boarding pass, local and toll-free call, access to seasonal pool, 10% discount on gift items at the gift shop, and $60 USD coupons.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.5286 -119.8185
Area served
Reno, Tahoe, Carson City
Nearby airports
Nearby Airport Reno/Tahoe International - 5 miles
Area description
In the heart of downtown Reno.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Regency also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sands Regency Rooms

Tower Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.6 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.1 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.7 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sands has over 12,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space to fit your needs.

Dining

Arby's/Cabana Cafe
Grab a quick snack at these outlets.
The Buffet at the Sands
Fresh New Flavors Daily. All-you-can-eat Buffet. Open daily at 4pm.
Copa Bar & Grill
Open 4-9 p.m. daily.
The Original Mel's Diner
Enjoy a Melburger, Melfries, or a delicious thick milk shake at this classic favorite. Open 24 hours daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (794)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
794 out of 794
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salinas, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2012

A Real Good Deal

It was fun and entertaining to be in the Sands again. We love the food and gambling options. The staff are real nice. Will come back again, hopefully real soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Orbitz first Timer
BC CANADA
Aug 10, 2009

Rock hard beds NO service

We arrived very late and was checked in by the night auditor-he didnt tell us we couldnt make local calls without a deposit- we found out when we went up to our room and wanted to let our sister know what room we were in-I couldnt do this and since it was 2am I didnt have the energy to go down and provide them with a deposit. There was a long black hair in the bed and there were exposed wire on the hanging lamp in the room. Never have I encountered such a hard bed in all my life.The night auditor seemed VERY unimpressed that I was a Orbitz consumer???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shmayla
Ogden, UT, USA
Sep 9, 2011

It could have been better....

The hotel itself seemed really nice and at a great price, But when we got in to register and had to stand in line for 25 min, There were 4 employees but only 1 seemed to be trained at the computer. While the line got bigger and longer 2 other employees proceeded to stand there, with nothing to do but watch. it took us another 30 min to get a replacement key, and than to check out. with just as many employees as the first time but again only 1 trained to check in and out!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 9, 2008

This is an old, nasty ...

This is an old, nasty hotel. It looks like it hasn't been updated since the 70's. I couldn't wait to check out. Please don't ever stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 28, 2007

This hotel is in the poorest condition that I have ever visited

The hotel is dirty and in very poor condition and the cigarette smoke is absolutely overpowering. Unless the policy regarding smoking and non-smoking is changed we will not be returning to Reno any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't try to find any good resturants down town much better in the big outlying hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ryche Fan
Fort Pierce, Florida
Jul 31, 2013

what a dump !

stayed there as I was in town to see a band at the Knitting Factory and wanted a cheap place within walking distant. It took them over 25 minutes to "find" my reservation as I'd done it thru this website, the room, even though it was non-smoking it stunk of cigarettes, the carpet was threadbare, they hadn't cleaned the bathroom very well, hairs in the shower, there was no ice bucket and the ice machine didn't work either, on their website they said they had wireless internet, yeah for $11.99 for a day, the place looked like it needs a major upgrade, I usually stay in reasonably priced hotels so it's not like I'm fussy. The only plus was the $1-50 beers in the casino, oh and getting propositioned by a hook er while sat at the bar didn't go down to well either, my advice pay the extra and stay elsewhere !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camarillo, CA
Aug 4, 2008

stay away

i was brought here for a show put on by the hotel and the show was the worst thing i have ever seen.. It was so but they ended the show 8 days early and i am out four thousand dollars..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Modesto, CA
Oct 4, 2009

Not impressed!

Our experience at Sands Regency was, as the name suggests, terrible! The room was big but dirty, outdated, the toilet leaked and the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in! The pillow wasn't much better. There were no ameneties that you would expect from a "3 Star" hotel...no coffee maker, no mini fridge, no microwave. The complimentary shampoo and lotion samples were worn and crusty like they had been used and refilled over and over again. The casino in the hotel was nice, yet small and the food at the restuarants in the hotel was for the most part delicious, especially the steak buffet. Overall, our stay was not satisfactory and I would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sands is a short walk to the main drag where all the other casinos are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sister and The Sisters
San Pablo, CA
Aug 13, 2012

Just Not Here

It was awful. First they checked us into a room that someone was already staying in. Not to mention that the room only had one bed when there was three of us. When we asked to be moved we got a lot of attitude from the desk clerk. When we finally get a room the bathtub was dirty and was full of ants, the rug had large obivous stains and the room smelled so bad we went out and bought air freshener. We enjoy Reno just not that hotel. We all agreed to NEVER stay there again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jul 14, 2010

Get what you pay for

The outside of the hotel is well maintained but don't let that fool you. Once inside it is like time stopped. The inside is old dirty and smelly. So are the clientele and staff. Our room was right next to the elevator and had to listen to it all night. The bath tub was clogged, but to their credit they promptly fixed. This hotel was the cheapest of the big hotel casinos and I got what I paid for. The good things were that it is one of few places that pays 3 to 2 on black jack still and is close to other casinos/downtown. the pool area and bar by the pool is nice too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shizuko
Portland, OR
Jun 16, 2007

Run Down

This hotel was very run down. The air conditioner did not work and the room was very warm. We had a hard time operating the shower, the carpet was stained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You are centrally located in downtown Reno so you have your choice of different casinos and it's just a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search