$25 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Sands Regency

3 stars
345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
1,243 reviews
Reno Weekend

Nice hotel, good customer service and an excellent value See full review

  • Marvinatlarge
  • Jul 1, 2014
Good place to spend the nighttimes

Pleasant and quiet. Located close to National Bowling Stadium where I was bowling in the National... See full review

  • Paul from CT
  • May 24, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel with casino, pool, restaurants and more

Visiting gamers find both a hotel and casino at the Reno Sands Regency, located in downtown Reno, Nevada. Beyond the casino, guests find a range of modern accommodations and amenities, including a large seasonal pool, a health-club on the penthouse levels, and a Jacuzzi. The Sands Regency also has a choice of dining options on the premises with several restaurants, diners, coffee shops and bars onsite. Planning a business meeting, convention or special event? The property offers space for over 300 guests, plus a wedding chapel.

Reasons to stay
  • Within easy walking distance of downtown Reno attractions and the Truckee River
  • Casino has slots and video poker machines, table games, bingo, sports book and more
  • Wedding chapel, plus meeting and event space for up to 320 guests
  • Select rooms feature views of the mountains and city
  • Live entertainment on weekends at Third Street Bar
Sands Regency Rooms

Sands Regency claims the largest standard rooms in downtown Reno, measuring in at 375 square feet. Guests wanting even more space and amenities like hot tubs, floor-to-ceiling views and spacious living rooms, consider one of the suites. The Presidential Suite in the hotel's Empress Tower is an impressive 1,150 square-feet in size, with views of both the mountains and the city. It consists of a living area complete with two sofas, large screen TV, wet bar and refrigerator, dining table and four chairs, a king bed, Jacuzzi and shower. The Luxury Suite also features both mountain views and views of the city. Over in the Dynasty Tower, the Dynasty Suite includes two doubles or a king bed, and views of the city. The 395 square-foot King Suite comes complete with whirlpool tub and shower. There are also balcony rooms in the Empress Tower. These are 377 square feet and contain two queen beds. Guests can also step out onto large balconies to enjoy the views. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available at the Sands Regency Reno.

Things to do nearby
  • Casino at the Eldorado (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Knitting Factory (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Bowling Stadium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University of Nevada, Reno (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mt. Rose Ski Area (21.6 mi/34.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a resort fee of $4.99 USD plus tax. Resort fee includes: Wi-Fi access, health club/fitness centre/sauna access, airport shuttle, covered self-parking, safe deposit box, printing of boarding pass, local and toll-free call, access to seasonal pool, 10% discount on gift items at the gift shop, and $60 USD coupons.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.5286 -119.8185
Area served
Reno, Tahoe, Carson City
Nearby airports
Nearby Airport Reno/Tahoe International - 5 miles
Area description
In the heart of downtown Reno.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Regency also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sands Regency Rooms

Tower Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.6 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.1 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.7 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Dining

Arby's/Cabana Cafe
Grab a quick snack at these outlets.
The Buffet at the Sands
Fresh New Flavors Daily. All-you-can-eat Buffet. Open daily at 4pm.
Copa Bar & Grill
Open 4-9 p.m. daily.
The Original Mel's Diner
Enjoy a Melburger, Melfries, or a delicious thick milk shake at this classic favorite. Open 24 hours daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sands has over 12,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space to fit your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1243)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
1243 out of 1243
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Orbitz first Timer
BC CANADA
Aug 10, 2009

Rock hard beds NO service

We arrived very late and was checked in by the night auditor-he didnt tell us we couldnt make local calls without a deposit- we found out when we went up to our room and wanted to let our sister know what room we were in-I couldnt do this and since it was 2am I didnt have the energy to go down and provide them with a deposit. There was a long black hair in the bed and there were exposed wire on the hanging lamp in the room. Never have I encountered such a hard bed in all my life.The night auditor seemed VERY unimpressed that I was a Orbitz consumer???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shmayla
Ogden, UT, USA
Sep 9, 2011

It could have been better....

The hotel itself seemed really nice and at a great price, But when we got in to register and had to stand in line for 25 min, There were 4 employees but only 1 seemed to be trained at the computer. While the line got bigger and longer 2 other employees proceeded to stand there, with nothing to do but watch. it took us another 30 min to get a replacement key, and than to check out. with just as many employees as the first time but again only 1 trained to check in and out!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 9, 2008

This is an old, nasty ...

This is an old, nasty hotel. It looks like it hasn't been updated since the 70's. I couldn't wait to check out. Please don't ever stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sebastopol
Aug 9, 2008

My review of Sands Regency

The Sands is old and raggedy. The curtains were torn and the carpet was worn. There was no iron or ironing board. The room was small and gloomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 28, 2007

This hotel is in the poorest condition that I have ever visited

The hotel is dirty and in very poor condition and the cigarette smoke is absolutely overpowering. Unless the policy regarding smoking and non-smoking is changed we will not be returning to Reno any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't try to find any good resturants down town much better in the big outlying hotels.

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
they made it right
san jose, ca
Aug 10, 2011

they made it right

what im not saying will say it best. I have stayed here once a year for 10 years but this year it went down hill. I have never had to tell a manager how bad my stay was until now. So they didnt charge us for the room because of how bad the stay was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shmayla
Ogden, UT, USA
Sep 9, 2011

It could have been better....

The hotel itself seemed really nice and at a great price, But when we got in to register and had to stand in line for 25 min, There were 4 employees but only 1 seemed to be trained at the computer. While the line got bigger and longer 2 other employees proceeded to stand there, with nothing to do but watch. it took us another 30 min to get a replacement key, and than to check out. with just as many employees as the first time but again only 1 trained to check in and out!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ryche Fan
Fort Pierce, Florida
Jul 31, 2013

what a dump !

stayed there as I was in town to see a band at the Knitting Factory and wanted a cheap place within walking distant. It took them over 25 minutes to "find" my reservation as I'd done it thru this website, the room, even though it was non-smoking it stunk of cigarettes, the carpet was threadbare, they hadn't cleaned the bathroom very well, hairs in the shower, there was no ice bucket and the ice machine didn't work either, on their website they said they had wireless internet, yeah for $11.99 for a day, the place looked like it needs a major upgrade, I usually stay in reasonably priced hotels so it's not like I'm fussy. The only plus was the $1-50 beers in the casino, oh and getting propositioned by a hook er while sat at the bar didn't go down to well either, my advice pay the extra and stay elsewhere !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camarillo, CA
Aug 4, 2008

stay away

i was brought here for a show put on by the hotel and the show was the worst thing i have ever seen.. It was so but they ended the show 8 days early and i am out four thousand dollars..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Modesto, CA
Oct 4, 2009

Not impressed!

Our experience at Sands Regency was, as the name suggests, terrible! The room was big but dirty, outdated, the toilet leaked and the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in! The pillow wasn't much better. There were no ameneties that you would expect from a "3 Star" hotel...no coffee maker, no mini fridge, no microwave. The complimentary shampoo and lotion samples were worn and crusty like they had been used and refilled over and over again. The casino in the hotel was nice, yet small and the food at the restuarants in the hotel was for the most part delicious, especially the steak buffet. Overall, our stay was not satisfactory and I would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sands is a short walk to the main drag where all the other casinos are.

Back to menu Return to top