$27 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Sands Regency

3 stars
View map of 345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
764 reviews
Family trip

The room was roomy and clean everyday. The housekeeping staff very friendly. Check-in and check-out... See full review

  • elva d.
  • Jul 28, 2015
Quick Trip.

The room is very big but outdated. However, there is a small vanity next to the bathroom. I would... See full review

  • SuperSaverSF
  • Jan 21, 2015

Visiting gamers find both a hotel and casino at the Reno Sands Regency, located in downtown Reno, Nevada. Beyond the casino, guests find a range of modern accommodations and amenities, including a large seasonal pool, a health-club on the penthouse levels, and a Jacuzzi. The Sands Regency also has a choice of dining options on the premises with several restaurants, diners, coffee shops and bars onsite. Planning a business meeting, convention or special event? The property offers space for over 300 guests, plus a wedding chapel.

Rooms

Sands Regency claims the largest standard rooms in downtown Reno, measuring in at 375 square feet. Guests wanting even more space and amenities like hot tubs, floor-to-ceiling views and spacious living rooms, consider one of the suites. The Presidential Suite in the hotel's Empress Tower is an impressive 1,150 square-feet in size, with views of both the mountains and the city. It consists of a living area complete with two sofas, large screen TV, wet bar and refrigerator, dining table and four chairs, a king bed, Jacuzzi and shower. The Luxury Suite also features both mountain views and views of the city. Over in the Dynasty Tower, the Dynasty Suite includes two doubles or a king bed, and views of the city. The 395 square-foot King Suite comes complete with whirlpool tub and shower. There are also balcony rooms in the Empress Tower. These are 377 square feet and contain two queen beds. Guests can also step out onto large balconies to enjoy the views. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available at the Sands Regency Reno.

Highlights
  • Within easy walking distance of downtown Reno attractions and the Truckee River
  • Casino has slots and video poker machines, table games, bingo, sports book and more
  • Wedding chapel, plus meeting and event space for up to 320 guests
  • Select rooms feature views of the mountains and city
  • Live entertainment on weekends at Third Street Bar
Nearby attractions
  • Casino at the Eldorado (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Knitting Factory (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Bowling Stadium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University of Nevada, Reno (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mt. Rose Ski Area (21.6 mi/34.8 km)
Policies
  • The hotel charges a resort fee of $4.99 USD plus tax. Resort fee includes: Wi-Fi access, health club/fitness centre/sauna access, airport shuttle, covered self-parking, safe deposit box, printing of boarding pass, local and toll-free call, access to seasonal pool, 10% discount on gift items at the gift shop, and $60 USD coupons.
  • Dogs are welcome at the hotel (one pet per stay, up to 50 pounds). Pet fee is $20 USD plus tax per night (above the room rate). This is inclusive of room treatment and carpet cleaning. A $50.00 refundable fee will be charged for potential damage and will be credited back at check-out after room inspection.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Regency also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sands Regency Rooms

Tower Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.6 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.1 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.7 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sands has over 12,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space to fit your needs.

Dining

Arby's/Cabana Cafe
Grab a quick snack at these outlets.
The Buffet at the Sands
Fresh New Flavors Daily. All-you-can-eat Buffet. Open daily at 4pm.
Copa Bar & Grill
Open 4-9 p.m. daily.
The Original Mel's Diner
Enjoy a Melburger, Melfries, or a delicious thick milk shake at this classic favorite. Open 24 hours daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
764 out of 764
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beaumont P
Business
San Jose, Ca
Mar 25, 2014

Entire hotel stank of cigarette smoke

1) our tv remote did not work (batteries were dead) 2) our blankets had other peoples hair on them (were they NOT washed??) 3) we had a DO NOT DISTURB CARD Outside our door, they still came in anyways. Apparently someone took it off in the middle of the night. 4) every inch of that hotel reeked of cigarette smoke. 5) we asked for a NON SMOKING room and still smelled smoke INSIDE of our bedroom. HORRIBLE HOTEL. IT WAS ABSOLUTELY ATROCIOUS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lindat
Business
oregon
Aug 17, 2011

wedding

Room had 2 full sized beds, there were 3 in our party but were only given one washcloth and 3 hand towels. Requested more washcloths but were told that they didn't have any. Could have used a frige to keep cold water in. Stained carpets, but overall clean,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jennette
Business
Denair,CA
Feb 26, 2012

HORRIBLE!!!!

Upon check-in, the staff was not very friendly, and once in the room, we shortly relized that this was NOT going to be a pleasant weekend!! We had dogs barking from neighboring rooms, and the other guest were EXTREMLEY rude, and by that, i mean, they had NO repect for others that MAY be sleeping at 3 am!!! The walls were SUPER thin, i could here people in the halls, outside...and NOT to mention, we heard the elevator motor ALL night long!!! The shower was horrible, and there was NO outlets that worked in the room!! I will NEVER stay at this hotel for as long as i live, as a matter of fact, my family left after the first night, and payed $20 more to stay at the Silver Legacy, and had a WONDERFUL experience!!! I demanded our money back, but they told me that because i booked through a travel site, they couldn't help me!! Take my advice...DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Awful Awful Burger is WONDERFUL!!!!

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tired Dude
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Sands Reno

Entered room with nasty carpet, very noisy elevator noises, girls in room next door singing carrying on all night, left room to find puke on hallway carpet... not a very pleasant place.... recommend you sleep in your car...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sikeli
Business
Herriman, UT, USA
Apr 10, 2012

ACK - No what was expected!

Where to start? The non-smoking room wasn't. From the smell to the burns in the carpet, it was horrible. The stains in the carpet were nasty. The furniture was old and worn. The hot water kept getting cold. The water pressure would change from fire hose to dribble and back again. The noise from the elevator motors kept waking us up at night, as did the drunks in the halls that kept knocking on our door to find "Alejandro". It keeps going. You should not stay there. Only plus was the lightning fast room service from Mel's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maia
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 16, 2012

Horrible

This was a very basic room and not worth the money, even at a substantial discount. The wall paper looked 30 years old, the room (well, actually the entire hotel/casino) smelled musty, there were stains on the sheets and towels, exposed drill holes in the wall, and the clothes rail was mounted at a slant. It's one of those places where you don't even want to take off your shoes to go to bed and it just screams lack of care. The walls are paper thin so you hear the drunk casino guests yelling as they return to their rooms in the middle of the night and then the cleaning crew in the morning. And the casino itself is dated and worn. Next time we'll go to the Silver Legacy, it's only a block away and the casino is much nicer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J.BAKER
Business
OHIO
Jul 14, 2012

do not stay here

It was the worse stay at a hotel I ever had.Nothing in the hotel wanted to work The elevators would only work part of the time. I had to walk down ten flights of stairs,the vending machines were not working on our floor,called front desk they told us to find one that worked.Pay more and get a better hotel. J .BAKER FROM OHIO STAY 7/82042THRU7/11/2012

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JD Willy
Business
SF, CA
Jun 11, 2012

Not good

Surly employees, old place. Bad all around. SEriously, go Harrahs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks in Harrahs

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sister and The Sisters
Business
San Pablo, CA
Aug 13, 2012

Just Not Here

It was awful. First they checked us into a room that someone was already staying in. Not to mention that the room only had one bed when there was three of us. When we asked to be moved we got a lot of attitude from the desk clerk. When we finally get a room the bathtub was dirty and was full of ants, the rug had large obivous stains and the room smelled so bad we went out and bought air freshener. We enjoy Reno just not that hotel. We all agreed to NEVER stay there again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Giant9er
Business
Oakland, Ca
Aug 26, 2012

for a cheap get away

The hotel is old out of date and the amenities in the room, well lets just say were lacking at best! No microwave, refrigerator, dirty carpet etc. The price was right but I guess you get what you pay for! I asked for an iron and ironing board and was brought a decent iron and a sheet! That's all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top