$40 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Sands Regency

3 stars
View map of 345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
830 out of 830
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul from CT
Business
Oakdale CT
May 24, 2014

Good place to spend the nighttimes

Pleasant and quiet. Located close to National Bowling Stadium where I was bowling in the National Tournament. Shuttles back and forth from the stadium were very convenient. Shuttles back and forth from the airport were also convenient. There was nothing bad I could say about my short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at Mel's Diner within the hotel confines was very good and affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Man 2
Business
Berkeley, CA
May 21, 2014

We would not stay in st this hotel again

The first room we were given on the 5th floor was unacceptable. The carpets we filthy and the bath room have not been cleaned dirty sink and toilet. Not only that we came to find out that they allow people with dogs to stay in rooms on the 5th floor. We complained to the front desk and were given another room on the 15th floor. This room was some what cleaner however again the carpets we very stained and soiled. We would not choose to stay in at this hotel again and would not recommend to to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yvonne F.
Business
Sacramento, California
May 19, 2014

Basic

Slow check in process and barely any amenities in the room, not even an iron or coffee maker. Cheap drinks were a plus location wasn't too terrible down the street from el dorado. Overall the price is what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
8663 coast2coast travel
Business
usa
May 6, 2014

awesome value

The hotel price was amazing. The desk staff were kind helpful and truely customer focused. The location and price make it worth the stay but the staff put it over the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the buffet on asian night walk a couple blocks for much better food. The asian food was the worst asian I have had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Buttercup2
Business
Los Gatos, California
May 1, 2014

Needs Improvement

The Sands Regency has some good points as well as bad. The smoke upon entering the casino is overwhelming. I almost felt like I needed to hold my breath. Check-in was slow, although the agents were pleasant. Parking is convenient in the covered garage, but it has a feeling of isolation. I would not want to be in there alone. The room was very spacious, but outdated. The carpets were dirty and needed a good cleaning. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were clean. I do like it when the blanket is encased in a sheet-nice touch. There were plenty of towels, although they could be more generous with the shampoo. There was only one tiny, watered down tube in the room per night. Also, there are no amenities such as coffee makers or irons. The TV is really old-no flat screens here. We did eat breakfast at Mel's in the morning-nothing to brag about. Unless you want to eat in the casinos, there's not a huge choice of restaurants in the area. We ended up driving each night to restaurants in other areas of Reno. The downtown is a bit run down and inhabited with the homeless. I don't think I would feel safe walking around at night, but the daytime is okay. We chose this hotel because it had the best price, but I would not stay here again mainly due to the carpet and smoke. Also, this is a pet friendly hotel, so that might account for the soiled carpets. Still, that is no excuse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
muriel super grandma
Business
dyer, nv.
Apr 27, 2014

two day stay in Reno

We always have a good stay at the Sands but I was really impressed to see they have put air cleaning machines throughout the casino. Smoke has always been a deterrent to us staying long on the casino to play the machines. Thank them for the improvement. It helped quite a bit. Otherwise the food is always great and we always enjoy Mels with the 50's atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimolly
Business
Harstine Island
Apr 26, 2014

Last minute stay

Can't beat it for the price and walking distance to several other major casinos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelerSpring
Business
Utah
Apr 17, 2014

Good hotel

Good place to stay. Room is clean. Price is good. Local tax is charged as check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nevada78
Business
Carson City
Apr 8, 2014

Quick overnight getaway

Quick and hassle free check in… room was clean and big…view to downtown was amazing…just no fridge or microwave in the room but a great restaurant downstairs in the casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mels Diner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Outlet man
Business
Fremont, ca
Apr 6, 2014

Great place to stay

Not far from the strip. Nice room and facilities. The staff are nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top