$36 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Sands Regency

3 stars
View map of 345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
825 reviews
Quick Trip.

The room is very big but outdated. However, there is a small vanity next to the bathroom. I would... See full review

  • SuperSaverSF
  • Jan 21, 2015
Nice Hotel

I love Sands more then Circus Circus. The room is bigger and bed is more firmer. However, parking... See full review

  • Joey9123
  • Jan 5, 2015
Budget-friendly hotel with casino, pool, restaurants and more

Visiting gamers find both a hotel and casino at the Reno Sands Regency, located in downtown Reno, Nevada. Beyond the casino, guests find a range of modern accommodations and amenities, including a large seasonal pool, a health-club on the penthouse levels, and a Jacuzzi. The Sands Regency also has a choice of dining options on the premises with several restaurants, diners, coffee shops and bars onsite. Planning a business meeting, convention or special event? The property offers space for over 300 guests, plus a wedding chapel.

Reasons to stay
  • Within easy walking distance of downtown Reno attractions and the Truckee River
  • Casino has slots and video poker machines, table games, bingo, sports book and more
  • Wedding chapel, plus meeting and event space for up to 320 guests
  • Select rooms feature views of the mountains and city
  • Live entertainment on weekends at Third Street Bar
Sands Regency Rooms

Sands Regency claims the largest standard rooms in downtown Reno, measuring in at 375 square feet. Guests wanting even more space and amenities like hot tubs, floor-to-ceiling views and spacious living rooms, consider one of the suites. The Presidential Suite in the hotel's Empress Tower is an impressive 1,150 square-feet in size, with views of both the mountains and the city. It consists of a living area complete with two sofas, large screen TV, wet bar and refrigerator, dining table and four chairs, a king bed, Jacuzzi and shower. The Luxury Suite also features both mountain views and views of the city. Over in the Dynasty Tower, the Dynasty Suite includes two doubles or a king bed, and views of the city. The 395 square-foot King Suite comes complete with whirlpool tub and shower. There are also balcony rooms in the Empress Tower. These are 377 square feet and contain two queen beds. Guests can also step out onto large balconies to enjoy the views. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available at the Sands Regency Reno.

Things to do nearby
  • Casino at the Eldorado (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Knitting Factory (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Bowling Stadium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University of Nevada, Reno (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mt. Rose Ski Area (21.6 mi/34.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a resort fee of $4.99 USD plus tax. Resort fee includes: Wi-Fi access, health club/fitness centre/sauna access, airport shuttle, covered self-parking, safe deposit box, printing of boarding pass, local and toll-free call, access to seasonal pool, 10% discount on gift items at the gift shop, and $60 USD coupons.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Regency also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sands Regency Rooms

Tower Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.6 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.1 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.7 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Dining

Arby's/Cabana Cafe
Grab a quick snack at these outlets.
The Buffet at the Sands
Fresh New Flavors Daily. All-you-can-eat Buffet. Open daily at 4pm.
Copa Bar & Grill
Open 4-9 p.m. daily.
The Original Mel's Diner
Enjoy a Melburger, Melfries, or a delicious thick milk shake at this classic favorite. Open 24 hours daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sands has over 12,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space to fit your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (825)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
825 out of 825
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RESprink
Business
SFO
Jun 6, 2014

Sands

Dated, tired and tacky but quite clean and very reasonably priced...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Speed Racer Amy
Business
Alaska
Jun 2, 2014

Good Value. Better than I expected

The hotel was smoky, but that is to be expected with a casino. They were short staffed at the front desk, so we had to wait about 20 minutes just to check in. The room was better than I expected (I had low expectations based on the $30 price). I'd stay there again for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sun seeker from the gloom
Business
Salt lake city
May 27, 2014

Too expensive for room value

Granted, we booked last minute on Memorial Day weekend, but spending $150.00 for a night at this hotel was not worth it. I would have rather stayed somewhere else, outside Reno, for less. Guess we will learn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy on and off the freeway access

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
10 min to the strip
Business
reno nv
May 25, 2014

smoking or non smoking

I request for a smoking room online I called to confirm a smoking room with a view .... when I arrived sorry no smoking rooms ... then get to the room view of the parking a lot across the way with Amtrak going by but noise level with fine ... I did notice the cover that was on top of bed was tearing beside a old tv and not a flat screen room needs a update not much just a little .... overall bed was firm shower was good but did lose its hot at times ...request for extra towels not a problem ..... order from mels diner food was good ... walking distance its 10 to 15 min walk to the strip river is not to far ..... parking to room can be tuff but drop off 1st then walk to room ..... beware when you do arrive you do need to pay $10 for gym and pool witch I didn't use so its a lose ..... just some info to help you and other ever 3rd Saturday in wine walk ask about it if its still going and ever 4th is beer walk nice beer bar on the riverwalk if you not it the beer walk .... great resturnts just 10 mins away if not just hope in car explore area if wanting a great breakfast place BJ in sparks bisket and gravy and theres a shopping mall just another 5 min away great deals on clothes sporting goods much much more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul from CT
Business
Oakdale CT
May 24, 2014

Good place to spend the nighttimes

Pleasant and quiet. Located close to National Bowling Stadium where I was bowling in the National Tournament. Shuttles back and forth from the stadium were very convenient. Shuttles back and forth from the airport were also convenient. There was nothing bad I could say about my short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at Mel's Diner within the hotel confines was very good and affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Man 2
Business
Berkeley, CA
May 21, 2014

We would not stay in st this hotel again

The first room we were given on the 5th floor was unacceptable. The carpets we filthy and the bath room have not been cleaned dirty sink and toilet. Not only that we came to find out that they allow people with dogs to stay in rooms on the 5th floor. We complained to the front desk and were given another room on the 15th floor. This room was some what cleaner however again the carpets we very stained and soiled. We would not choose to stay in at this hotel again and would not recommend to to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yvonne F.
Business
Sacramento, California
May 19, 2014

Basic

Slow check in process and barely any amenities in the room, not even an iron or coffee maker. Cheap drinks were a plus location wasn't too terrible down the street from el dorado. Overall the price is what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
8663 coast2coast travel
Business
usa
May 6, 2014

awesome value

The hotel price was amazing. The desk staff were kind helpful and truely customer focused. The location and price make it worth the stay but the staff put it over the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the buffet on asian night walk a couple blocks for much better food. The asian food was the worst asian I have had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Buttercup2
Business
Los Gatos, California
May 1, 2014

Needs Improvement

The Sands Regency has some good points as well as bad. The smoke upon entering the casino is overwhelming. I almost felt like I needed to hold my breath. Check-in was slow, although the agents were pleasant. Parking is convenient in the covered garage, but it has a feeling of isolation. I would not want to be in there alone. The room was very spacious, but outdated. The carpets were dirty and needed a good cleaning. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were clean. I do like it when the blanket is encased in a sheet-nice touch. There were plenty of towels, although they could be more generous with the shampoo. There was only one tiny, watered down tube in the room per night. Also, there are no amenities such as coffee makers or irons. The TV is really old-no flat screens here. We did eat breakfast at Mel's in the morning-nothing to brag about. Unless you want to eat in the casinos, there's not a huge choice of restaurants in the area. We ended up driving each night to restaurants in other areas of Reno. The downtown is a bit run down and inhabited with the homeless. I don't think I would feel safe walking around at night, but the daytime is okay. We chose this hotel because it had the best price, but I would not stay here again mainly due to the carpet and smoke. Also, this is a pet friendly hotel, so that might account for the soiled carpets. Still, that is no excuse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
muriel super grandma
Business
dyer, nv.
Apr 27, 2014

two day stay in Reno

We always have a good stay at the Sands but I was really impressed to see they have put air cleaning machines throughout the casino. Smoke has always been a deterrent to us staying long on the casino to play the machines. Thank them for the improvement. It helped quite a bit. Otherwise the food is always great and we always enjoy Mels with the 50's atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top