$40 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Sands Regency

3 stars
View map of 345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
830 out of 830
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 25, 2008

Fine place to sleep at...

But I prefer to go elsewhere for fun. The Sands was quite tacky in their decor, even for a casino! They had terrible music BLASTING from their speakers and the music videos for each song on LCD screens that were mounted on the walls all over the casino floor. The employees at the reservation desk were friendly, but there weren't enough people manning the desk. I had to wait quite a long time to get my room key, and again to turn it in. I think it felt longer than it really was because of the horrible music. The bed was fine, the room was also fine. They were nothing spectacular, and the bottom sheet on the bed was not a fitted sheet... When you toss and turn as much as I do, this can become a big problem. And it did. I also recall seeing posters talking about a pool party every Wednesday, Friday and Saturday. I couldn't find a pool anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Jun 19, 2008

My review of Sands Regency

The Sands Regency is not spectacular, but it is comfortable, conveniently located and has a smaller but cozier casino. Parking is great and you are not caught in any congestion of actual downtown or a large crowded parking garage. The neighborhood is a bit lower end but hotel lighting and security, plus easy access to the hotel and casino, make up for that. It is an easy walk to both the main downtown area and the Truckee River. I especially enjoyed the casino staff's assistance and friendliness. The Sports Book may not look like much but it offers reasonable odds and good staff. I will be sure to book another stay at this hotel/casino on my next trip to Reno.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Other casinos and dining options, Truckee River and main downtown area (banks, post office, etc.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vail
Jun 18, 2008

Our Stay

C/i was slow, room was very clean all 3 days we were there, one restaurant waitperson was new as was her supervisor when we had an order mix-up; casino personnel were great. I spent 15 years in hotel admin & would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

not in the center of downtown but 2-3 easy walking blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Jun 17, 2008

Good value

Sands Regency in Reno was a pleasant surprise. It is centrally located, just a few minutes walk from the strip. Amazing that you could actually get such a nice room at a price like that. It even had a view of the mountains! Room was large, two queen-size beds, Tv, hairdryer etc. It had colorful interiors (not your typical boring room) and was very well kept. We were at the end of the corridor, on 15th floor, and it was very peaceful. Check in staff were very professional and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just minutes to walk to the strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 16, 2008

Casino

A great place to stay and take side trips in Reno. If you are planning on staying in the hotel and playing in the casino you will be dissapointed. The value for the room was great. I would reccomend walking a few blocks to the more exciting casinos if you plan to gamble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dunn Loring
Jun 5, 2008

Good times

Comfortable, affordable, good eats, good atmosphere, friendly staff. Grade A!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the HUGE casinos, with a wide variety of entertainment and shows.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke Rapids
May 26, 2008

Sands, Reno in May

The Sands.... I had the impression the name was associated with a big-name grand place to stay. Instead of a high-roller atmosphere, the casino is smoke-filled. The hallways and rooms are in need of updating since they have the appearance of being well-used. We returned to Reno the next week and stayed in another casino and were pleased with the surroundings and restaurants there. The Sands is downtown and near other casinos and the Nat'l Auto Museum, but that's the only advantage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to better restaurants than the ones in the Sands.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchaca
May 23, 2008

Good deal for the Bucks.

This hotel is a good place to stay for the money. The Machines are not as Las Vegas ,but neither is the Town of Reno. The Hotel staff is friendly ,but some of the bar Tenders need a lesson in Manners. All in all it was a good place to stay . Not too close to all the other casino's but with in walking distance. We only visited a couple of the other hotel casino's mainly becasue it was cold and raining most of our time there. The rooms were nice and clean and the maids there were very nice. They attended to every need I had . No problem staying here again,but I probably won't because REno is not what I thought it would be. The hotel Provides shuttle from the airport to the hotel which is nice ,but the hours are limited . On arrival we had to catch a Taxi from the airport to the hotel,but that was not the hotel's fault it was American Airlines Fault ,but that is another story which you really don't want to hear. It was a disaterous flight trying to get to Reno. If I ever go back to Reno for some crazy reason I would keep this hotel in mind.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Restaurants were not plentiful but good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 12, 2008

Relax in comfort

Big room. Extra large bed. Nice TV. No worries. Relax... you're in Reno, where everything is walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Gambling. Big honking buffets with spectacular desserts. Professional entertainers, street performers, kids playing by the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 12, 2008

Close to downtown action

The last time I stayed at the Sands Regency was before the railroad tracks through the center of town had been relocated below street level. Back then, the close proximity to the railroad was a bit annoying. However, with the railroad now well below street level, the noise of passing trains has been greatly diminished. Definately a huge improvement. The Sands Regency was already a decent place at a value price. It is even better now. It was my favorite place to stay in Reno. Now I won't even think of staying anywhere else (unless its a comp, of course).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top