$27 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Sands Regency

3 stars
View map of 345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
897 out of 897
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 23, 2008

Very good value

Thsi hotel is an excellent value in a good location with clean and comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All Reno Strip casinos are nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Klamath Falls
Nov 23, 2008

Rooms are nice and roomy

We had two rooms and we gathered in one room or the other for family time and the rooms are very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the casinos are within walking distance. Great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 15, 2008

Great value

This was my first stay at the Sands Regency. I had never really considered it before as it is one of Reno's slightly smaller hotel casino's, and about 1 block off the main strip. Hotel was clean and comfortable, rooms have a small make-up counter just off the bathroom complete with plug-ins for curling irons and such. This was a nice touch and one I've never seen before. Staff throughout were freindly and enthusiastic. Genuinely liked their jobs and it came across in the service.Food also was very good though nothing fancy. Cocktails when gambling were generous and included top shelf liquors when asked for. Only drawback would have been the number of people in the halls late at night. Tended to be a little loud. However all in all this will be my new 'go to place in Reno.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk away you'll find several large casino's. All these have wonderful fine dining restaraunts and huge buffets. This is Reno after all and you'll find wedding chapels everywhere. Star studded shows, gambing, and live entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fair, CA
Nov 2, 2008

You get what you pay for

Room was pretty basic, but great views out of window (mountains).Hotel was a short walk to the downtown area. Good parking access to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown is a five minute walk. There is a 24 hour Mels diner on site

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 2, 2008

OK room

The room was fine, but the casino you have to walk through to get to the elevators is extremely depressing. Old, wrinkled, smoking, addicted gamblers are everywhere, so despite the decent room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hayward, CA
Nov 2, 2008

My review of Sands Regency

Then Sands Regency in Reno was very nice. The room was large it had a separate vanity area out side the bathroon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clayton, CA
Oct 31, 2008

My review of Sands Regency

Very bad experience, we checked out after 2 nights inspite of having booked the hotel for 5 nights. 30 minutes after checking out, on the road my wife realized that she had forgotten her purse with all her money and credit cards in the room. So when we went back they wont let us go into the room saying that they have already been given to new guests. I tried explaining that we had just checked out and it sounds very unlikely that the rooms were cleaned out and reoccupied within 30 minutes. Eventually after threatening to call the cops they let us go to the room with security. The rooms were as we had left them, noone had cleaned the rooms and they were empty, and I found my wifes purse too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 26, 2008

Clean and Convenient

Was very happy with my stay. Check in took a tad long due to only one staff member working that night. Overall though the room was extremely clean. Pleasant stay and have already recommended to friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to main streets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Meridian
Oct 24, 2008

Large Room

This was my first stay at the Sand Regency and I was impressed with the overall size of the standard room. It could use a good renovation although, the queen size bed was too soft or just worn out from age, An original Mels Diner was on location and offered very good food, as well as an Arby's. The casino seemed liked a popular Locals casino for Reno. Only two blocks from the main street in Reno where the larger Casinos, Silver Legacy, Fremont and Circus-Circus are located. I would definately stay there again based on value and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Circus-Circus buffet just a short walk away and the walk back to take off all the calories you eat there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Klamath Falls
Oct 24, 2008

Great, spacious rooms

A wonderful remodel on a hotel built when rooms were very large. Lots of space to move around, in tastefully and simply furnished (sort of a rustic art deco style) rooms. Each room has its own clean heating and cooling window unit, something I consider very healthful. I do wish the thermostat could be set a couple of degrees lower than 69. Great dining options and good room service from Mel's Diner. A short walk from the main downtown street and other casinos. The TV channel selections are woeful. Main complaint: outrageous fees for connecting to the hotel's secure wireless network.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hot fudge sundae at Mel's Diner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top