$37 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Sands Regency

3 stars
View map of 345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
826 out of 826
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, AZ
Jul 10, 2008

Would not recommend

The hotel needs a renovation. Everything is old and dirty looking from the parking garage to the entrances. Nothing classy about this place at all. If you just need any old place to stay it is alright, not very expensive, but other than that there is nothing nice about it. YOu have to walk through the dirty parking lot to get to the pool area. The casino is smoky, smelly, and out dated. The rooms were clean, but need better beds and updated televison. Overall, would not stay there again, even if it is cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of other casinos, just a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jul 10, 2008

NIce view

My view of down town Reno was very nice.The bed was very hard and not good for sleeping so I looked out the window a lot at the lights.The room was big and nice. The tub had a slant to it so I could relax and read at the same time. There was a table and chairs so I could eat in my room.The vanity was very large and held all my makeup and face stuff that ladies use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Casinos everywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 4, 2008

An Experience in Convenience.

The Hotel location is easy to find, centrally located, but out of the main conjestion of the downtown city center. While I find most casino lodgings to be filled with depressing people, the layout and decor minimised the crowds on the 1st floor. The staff were compedent, the rooms were very clean, well ordered, and not too small as is too often the case with casino rooms. The sound-proofing was good, my room was wonderfully quiet; although my bed could have been softer, I slept well. The dining was very good with one of my favorite retro restaurants inside,Mel's with its 1960's American Graffitti dining, decor, music, and menu. I will willingly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks from Reno's main drag, or the picturesque Truckee River Park and aquatic center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Very Pleasant Experience

I helped a nephew who turned 21 celebrate up in Reno. Although the rest of our party stayed at a larger hotel, we opted for the smaller - least expensive route. Although I had received great feedback from friends and associates who have stayed at the Sands previously, I wanted to experience for myself the facility. As I expected, the stay was very pleasant. The hotel was quiet and the staff were very friendly. There was a reasonable amount of parking and the fitness center equipment was in excellent (working) condition. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of hotels, casinos and the Truckee River.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Very Nice

I thought this hotel was a decent place and it was very close to the strip.. plus we saved over 20 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2008

VERY NICE STAY FOR THE BUCK YOU PAY.

WE WERE VERY SATISFIED WITH OUR STAY HERE AT SAND REGANCY HOTEL AND CASINO. FOR THE PRICE THAT WE PAYED IT WAS GREAT. WE COULDNT ASK FOR ANYMORE THEN WHAT WE GOT HERE. THEY HAD A FREE POOL PARTY WITH A LIVE BAND, VOLLEY BALL, BIG POOL & HOT TUB, GREAT FOOD, SECURITY AT THE GATE. IT WAS FUN. PLUS, WE GOT A COMPLEMENTARY BREAKFAST. OVER ALL IT WAS GREAT, AND THE PRICE FOR THE STAY WAS EVEN BETTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

THIS HOTEL HAS ITS OWN CASINO, RESTRANTS, AND POOL

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 25, 2008

Worth the money

Kids, my spouse and myself all are satisfied with the stay in this hotel. The pool was great. The casino was decent. We will come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 25, 2008

Fine place to sleep at...

But I prefer to go elsewhere for fun. The Sands was quite tacky in their decor, even for a casino! They had terrible music BLASTING from their speakers and the music videos for each song on LCD screens that were mounted on the walls all over the casino floor. The employees at the reservation desk were friendly, but there weren't enough people manning the desk. I had to wait quite a long time to get my room key, and again to turn it in. I think it felt longer than it really was because of the horrible music. The bed was fine, the room was also fine. They were nothing spectacular, and the bottom sheet on the bed was not a fitted sheet... When you toss and turn as much as I do, this can become a big problem. And it did. I also recall seeing posters talking about a pool party every Wednesday, Friday and Saturday. I couldn't find a pool anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Jun 19, 2008

My review of Sands Regency

The Sands Regency is not spectacular, but it is comfortable, conveniently located and has a smaller but cozier casino. Parking is great and you are not caught in any congestion of actual downtown or a large crowded parking garage. The neighborhood is a bit lower end but hotel lighting and security, plus easy access to the hotel and casino, make up for that. It is an easy walk to both the main downtown area and the Truckee River. I especially enjoyed the casino staff's assistance and friendliness. The Sports Book may not look like much but it offers reasonable odds and good staff. I will be sure to book another stay at this hotel/casino on my next trip to Reno.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Other casinos and dining options, Truckee River and main downtown area (banks, post office, etc.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vail
Jun 18, 2008

Our Stay

C/i was slow, room was very clean all 3 days we were there, one restaurant waitperson was new as was her supervisor when we had an order mix-up; casino personnel were great. I spent 15 years in hotel admin & would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

not in the center of downtown but 2-3 easy walking blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top