$25 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Sands Regency

3 stars
345 North Arlington Avenue, Reno, NV 89501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
807 reviews
BSU Game

Although the carpets were worn and stained you get that at a lot of places. But the room was clean... See full review

  • LiL Debs
  • Oct 14, 2014
Fun nights in Reno

Most fun ever!! Distance to the casinos was great but the sands is a casino so even better. See full review

  • Nevada78
  • Aug 26, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel with casino, pool, restaurants and more

Visiting gamers find both a hotel and casino at the Reno Sands Regency, located in downtown Reno, Nevada. Beyond the casino, guests find a range of modern accommodations and amenities, including a large seasonal pool, a health-club on the penthouse levels, and a Jacuzzi. The Sands Regency also has a choice of dining options on the premises with several restaurants, diners, coffee shops and bars onsite. Planning a business meeting, convention or special event? The property offers space for over 300 guests, plus a wedding chapel.

Reasons to stay
  • Within easy walking distance of downtown Reno attractions and the Truckee River
  • Casino has slots and video poker machines, table games, bingo, sports book and more
  • Wedding chapel, plus meeting and event space for up to 320 guests
  • Select rooms feature views of the mountains and city
  • Live entertainment on weekends at Third Street Bar
Sands Regency Rooms

Sands Regency claims the largest standard rooms in downtown Reno, measuring in at 375 square feet. Guests wanting even more space and amenities like hot tubs, floor-to-ceiling views and spacious living rooms, consider one of the suites. The Presidential Suite in the hotel's Empress Tower is an impressive 1,150 square-feet in size, with views of both the mountains and the city. It consists of a living area complete with two sofas, large screen TV, wet bar and refrigerator, dining table and four chairs, a king bed, Jacuzzi and shower. The Luxury Suite also features both mountain views and views of the city. Over in the Dynasty Tower, the Dynasty Suite includes two doubles or a king bed, and views of the city. The 395 square-foot King Suite comes complete with whirlpool tub and shower. There are also balcony rooms in the Empress Tower. These are 377 square feet and contain two queen beds. Guests can also step out onto large balconies to enjoy the views. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available at the Sands Regency Reno.

Things to do nearby
  • Casino at the Eldorado (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Knitting Factory (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Bowling Stadium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Automobile Museum (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • University of Nevada, Reno (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mt. Rose Ski Area (21.6 mi/34.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a resort fee of $4.99 USD plus tax. Resort fee includes: Wi-Fi access, health club/fitness centre/sauna access, airport shuttle, covered self-parking, safe deposit box, printing of boarding pass, local and toll-free call, access to seasonal pool, 10% discount on gift items at the gift shop, and $60 USD coupons.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Regency also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sands Regency Rooms

Tower Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.3 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.6 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.1 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.6 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 2.1 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8.1 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.7 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.9 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sands has over 12,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space to fit your needs.

Dining

Arby's/Cabana Cafe
Grab a quick snack at these outlets.
The Buffet at the Sands
Fresh New Flavors Daily. All-you-can-eat Buffet. Open daily at 4pm.
Copa Bar & Grill
Open 4-9 p.m. daily.
The Original Mel's Diner
Enjoy a Melburger, Melfries, or a delicious thick milk shake at this classic favorite. Open 24 hours daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (807)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Regency

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
807 out of 807
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tahoetrish
Business
Lake Tahoe Nevada
Aug 11, 2014

nice staff

my mom was having surgery at the hospital near the hotel and the staff let us have a late check out ...that was so nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

nice staff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BG5150
Business
Vacaville
Aug 11, 2014

Good

Best place to stay for price and go to the pool party. Not much to eat. Can't beat the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the pool party

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Non1970
Business
Utah
Aug 9, 2014

Exactly what I wanted a clean comfy room for the night.

My 17-year-old daughter and I were on our way back to Utah from California and just there for one night. We left fairly early the next day. The room was clean the beds are very comfortable and unusual for a casino, it was very quiet. As a light sleeper I really appreciated that aspect! One thing I wanted to mention, I thought it was kind of odd that the TVs were a little on the small side and not flat screen. Not a problem to me, but thought some people would want to know. Who knows perhaps they thought if the TVs were small you'd spend more time and money gambling. The reason for two stars for value was, of course no continental breakfast and unlike most places similar to this, they did not give us any type of food vouchers. The restaurant although a little expensive, was definitely good! Also, two star rating for staff does not apply to restaurant staff. They were very friendly and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
johnboy lucky
Business
san rafael, ca
Aug 9, 2014

outdated, but OK

The rooms are outdated,but large and rather clean. So not bad at this price. close to the action, the big casinos. NOTE: if your like me and stay up have the night and need to rest or want quite DO NOT get a room over looking the pool. They have music blasting each night! .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shetravels
Business
South Korea
Aug 7, 2014

A little yucky but the price is right

I stayed here for 2 nights not to gamble but because I needed a budget option while staying in Reno. The Sands fit the bill on that count. The room - and staff - were really a mixed bag. The room was pretty shabby and stained, but the bed was quite comfortable, and I had a great view out the window. Some of the staff were real sweetie pies, in particular the shuttle drivers and bell hops and one of the wait staff, but some of the other staff were cold and jaded, and one staff person in the restaurant gave me the wrong change - not mistakenly, it appeared. The housekeepers forgot to make my bed although I requested it. It was difficult to access drinking water as the machines were not accepting dollar bills. A treat this isn't. But a tolerable and cheap housing option perhaps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Optiman70
Business
morgan hill, ca
Aug 6, 2014

great value for seniors

Room was clean, quiet & comfortable. As seniors, we are looking for a good balance between cost & the product. The Sands has it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check restaurant specials

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim Baby Boomer
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 5, 2014

Adequate For The Money

Hotel was very reasonable, so I find it difficult to complain. I got what I paid for and realize it was also an older hotel, too. The room could use some freshening up....wallpaper in the bathroom area was peeling, particularly in the shower area. The television was small and older style (not a flat screen). The purpose of my trip was to visit the area for considering a permanent move. The hotel was an easy 2-3 blocks to the River Walk area where you can enjoy an array of restaurants, shops and relaxation. I would stay here again since I'm on a tight budget and the location is ideal for downtown activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to River Walk shops, restaurants and relaxation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laurbs
Business
Reno
Aug 5, 2014

Sands stay

This Hotel Was Surprisingly Clean AND Comfortable For The price. Plenty of things to do and a quick walk to anywhere downtown. And the staff was friendly and helpful. The pillows are so fluffy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Koala Bear Super Chicken
Business
San Francisco, California
Aug 4, 2014

San(d)s Luxury

This hotel was the least expensive casino lodging in Reno. The cigarette smoke did not reach the floor we stayed on but people were smoking other things on the floor. The bed was okay and it was better than the motels across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Old Granite Street Eatery was great. You have to try the butterscotch pudding. One of the best desserts I have ever had!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Regency

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Loser Poker Player
Business
California
Aug 2, 2014

Old Mainstay

I like this hotel because it's fun, near the other casinos, and less expensive than the other casinos. I don't stay here to stay in the room, but it completely serves the purpose that I am looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top